VOGONS


dgVoodoo 2.6.x and related WIP versions

Topic actions

Reply 61 of 275, by lowenz

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

Diablo 2 1.14d, lastest WIP

Game-2019-11-07-11-51-14-348.png

Any solution? AMD strictly related ? (no problem with a GeForce......)
It's the same issue about whitened textures in Aquamark?

Last edited by lowenz on 2019-11-08, 19:12. Edited 1 time in total.

Reply 62 of 275, by ZellSF

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
Daninthemix wrote:

Just wondering if the option for a screen-filling 4:3 borderless window has made it in yet? Or if not, is there any eta?

Thanks

There's advanced window options now that allows for borderless fullscreen with aspect ratio correction, yes.

Reply 63 of 275, by batterymandark

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Just a follow up to my rant on Need For Speed HP:2.
it doesn't seems the thread issue is related to dgvoodoo, heck dgvoodoo makes it even possible to run the game.

The problem is, it is a 80% change it crash, and sometimes it works.
And I need to start the game in windowed mode without letting the game do screen modes, because when it crash , it can crash hard, like so hard I cant see taskmanager anymore.

Using the Crosire Dx8toDx9 and dgvoodoo, makes it a little more easy, I don't need to press reboot on my computer in the worse case.

I just think the game is too unreliable on modern systems, is it as the cpu is too fast or something.. but i'm going to take of my tinfoil hat and stop sounding silly.
its just a shame this fine game just don't work as it did before. because when it finally work after 10 retries it runs like a dream with dgvoodoo.

Reply 64 of 275, by willow

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
batterymandark wrote:
Just a follow up to my rant on Need For Speed HP:2. it doesn't seems the thread issue is related to dgvoodoo, heck dgvoodoo make […]
Show full quote

Just a follow up to my rant on Need For Speed HP:2.
it doesn't seems the thread issue is related to dgvoodoo, heck dgvoodoo makes it even possible to run the game.

The problem is, it is a 80% change it crash, and sometimes it works.
And I need to start the game in windowed mode without letting the game do screen modes, because when it crash , it can crash hard, like so hard I cant see taskmanager anymore.

Using the Crosire Dx8toDx9 and dgvoodoo, makes it a little more easy, I don't need to press reboot on my computer in the worse case.

I just think the game is too unreliable on modern systems, is it as the cpu is too fast or something.. but i'm going to take of my tinfoil hat and stop sounding silly.
its just a shame this fine game just don't work as it did before. because when it finally work after 10 retries it runs like a dream with dgvoodoo.

I have nfs hp2 and no problem without dgvoodoo 2 or with dgvoodoo 2 on win10 pro.
No crash but just sometimes stuttering

Reply 65 of 275, by Dege

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
legion_pheonix wrote:

Thanks a lot! I will look forward to corrections.

I fixed it, will be included in the next release.

lowenz wrote:

Diablo 2 1.14d, lastest WIP
Any solution? AMD strictly related ? (no problem with a GeForce......)
It's the same issue about whited textures in Aquamark?

I guess it is. Diablo works for me perfectly with the latest version (nVidia). I think I'll declare dgVoodoo to be incompatible (or, at least, not recommended) with AMD hw with the next release. This problem occurs too many times. 😢
Last time I faced a driver problem causing crash (with Glide), I had to buy an HD7850 just to trace the problem.

batterymandark wrote:

The problem is, it is a 80% change it crash, and sometimes it works.And I need to start the game in windowed mode without letting the game do screen modes, because when it crash , it can crash hard, like so hard I cant see taskmanager anymore.

That's really weird. NFS HP2 just works fine for me without any issue. Didn't you install something (driver or a monitoring app or sg like that) recently that can cause this?

Reply 66 of 275, by batterymandark

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Yes it is weird when im thinking of it.
and I know msi afterburner makes it impossible to start the game, but I did disable it, or else I couldn't even play it.
I did test both the normal exe and the widescreen pathed exe which I have on my archive , but that used to work before , because I like to make thing to work before I archive things.
And msi is the only monitoring program I can think of.

the only different from many is probably that i'm running an multi-adapter system. nvidia, amd and intel, they all happily live together.
this is usefull so I can take a sanity check before I rant like an old fool about issues.
But as today, did a 20+ restarts on nfshp2, and most of the times it booted up, but maybe 10 times it ether just say'd "not responding" or it throws an "exception error" , but I did notice that running all 3 gpu display adapter at the same time "like a 3 monitor setup in windows", made the mouse horrible sluggish, like 0.5 fps slow, but when running the nvidia display only, it ran normal.
Do you have any change to trade the info from rendercaps.ini
Mine is.

[Graphics]
Fullscreen=1
LimitResolution=0
GammaScale=1.000000
MipMap=1
ScreenModeIndex=26
BDepth=32
ZDepth=24
Stencil=8
Width=2560
Height=1440
[GraphicsFE]
ScreenModeIndex=7
BDepth=32
ZDepth=24
Stencil=8
Width=800
Height=600

Reply 68 of 275, by batterymandark

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
Dege wrote:

Where can I find that file? I don't have one in the game folder.

%SystemDrive%:\Users\"YOURUSERNAME"\Documents\EA Games\Need For Speed Hot Pursuit 2

Here is a screenshoot of me trying to get any wiser when attaching a debuger
and it often triggers when doing the second race at the Hot Pursuit , named Fall Classic Knockout
https://1drv.ms/u/s!Agj8jUvjAJjzgY5xWwyFdavCURL_vg?e=xqgHvI
s!Agj8jUvjAJjzgY5xWwyFdavCURL_vg?e=xqgHvI

Reply 69 of 275, by Dege

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

Minor additions to the last WIP:

=========================
WIP67:
=========================

- Fixing minor buffering bug (Shadow Grounds)
- Changing versioning of Glide modules (TA Kingdoms Glide3 renderer)
- Fixing drawing of emulated monochrome cursors (Jane's FA-18)

http://dege.fw.hu/temp/dgVoodooWIP67.zip
http://dege.fw.hu/temp/dgVoodooWIP67_dbg.zip

Reply 70 of 275, by Dege

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
batterymandark wrote:
Do you have any change to trade the info from rendercaps.ini Mine is. […]
Show full quote

Do you have any change to trade the info from rendercaps.ini
Mine is.

[Graphics]
Fullscreen=1
LimitResolution=0
GammaScale=1.000000
MipMap=1
ScreenModeIndex=26
BDepth=32
ZDepth=24
Stencil=8
Width=2560
Height=1440
[GraphicsFE]
ScreenModeIndex=7
BDepth=32
ZDepth=24
Stencil=8
Width=800
Height=600

Mine is the following:

[Graphics]
Fullscreen=1
LimitResolution=1
GammaScale=0.996109
MipMap=1
ScreenModeIndex=7
BDepth=32
ZDepth=24
Stencil=8
Width=800
Height=600

[GraphicsFE]
ScreenModeIndex=7
BDepth=32
ZDepth=24
Stencil=8
Width=800
Height=600

Reply 72 of 275, by Arklay

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
Dege wrote:
lowenz wrote:

Any solution? AMD strictly related ? (no problem with a GeForce......)
It's the same issue about whited textures in Aquamark?

I guess it is. Diablo works for me perfectly with the latest version (nVidia). I think I'll declare dgVoodoo to be incompatible (or, at least, not recommended) with AMD hw with the next release. This problem occurs too many times. 😢
Last time I faced a driver problem causing crash (with Glide), I had to buy an HD7850 just to trace the problem.

The option "Fast Memory Access" to fix white textures doesn't help anymore, instantaneous crash for, populous 3, grim fandango (and all lucasarts games) and many others games. 😒

Reply 73 of 275, by Dege

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

@Lowenz: Aquamark 3 is free to download, so I could submit this as an example app to the AMD bugrep system (at least, I hope).
Could you give me your videocard specs, the driver version and the dgVoodoo config you run the benchmark?

Reply 74 of 275, by lowenz

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

*RX 570 4 GB
*Catalyst 19.10.2

*

;==========================================================================
; === Text based config file for dgVoodoo2
; === Use this file if you are a game modder/hacker or an experted user and
; want to modify some advanced properties not available via the CPL.
;==========================================================================

Version = 0x262

;--------------------------------------------------------------------------

[General]

; OutputAPI: "d3d11warp", "d3d11_fl10_0", "d3d11_fl10_1", "d3d11_fl11_0", "bestavailable"
; Adapters: "all", or the ordinal of the adapter (1, ...)
;FullScreenOutput: "default", or the ordinal of the output on the adapter (1, ...)
; ScalingMode: "unspecified", "centered", "stretched", "centered_ar", "stretched_ar",
; "stretched_4_3", "stretched_4_3_crt", "stretched_4_3_c64"

OutputAPI = d3d11_fl11_0
Adapters = 1
FullScreenOutput = default
FullScreenMode = true
ScalingMode = unspecified
ProgressiveScanlineOrder = false
EnumerateRefreshRates = false

Brightness = 100
Color = 100
Contrast = 100
InheritColorProfileInFullScreenMode = false

KeepWindowAspectRatio = true
CaptureMouse = true
CenterAppWindow = false

;--------------------------------------------------------------------------

[GeneralExt]

; DesktopResolution: Desktop (native) resolution can be forced for dgVoodoo's internal calculations.
; Useful for rare applications that pre-set the desktop to other than the native
; resolution before dgVoodoo gets in action. Only the compact format can be used here,
; and applies to all outputs of the desktop.
; DesktopBitDepth: You can define what screen bit depth should be reported through dgVoodoo
; (8, 16, 32)
; DeframerSize: When resolution is forced to other than the app default then
; a black frame is drawn around the output image coming from a wrapped API
; to remove scaling artifacts -
; frame thickness can be defined in pixels (max 16, 0 = disable)
; ImageScaleFactor: Integer factor for scaling the output image coming from a wrapped API
; Always done by nearest point filtering, independent on scaling mode
; (0 = max available)
; Separate factors can be defined for horizontal and vertical scaling
; by subproperties, e.g.
; ImageScaleFactor = x:3, y:2
; DisplayROI: Display region of interest
; If scaling is done by the dgVoodoo then you can define a subrect of the
; output image, coming from a wrapped API, to be displayed. The defined subrect
; is mapped to the display output according to the current scaling mode
; It can be useful for applications rendering a widescreen subimage into a 4:3
Show last 224 lines
;                         resolution; in this case you can scale up that subimage to (nearly) fill the
; whole screen on a widescreen monitor.
; DisplayROI empty value means the whole image.
; DisplayROI value can be a proportion in form of %d_%d or a pixel size (%d|%d)
; Pos subproperty is not mandatory and can be 'centered' or a pixel position (%d|%d)
; Examples: DisplayROI = 16_9, pos:centered
; DisplayROI = (320|200), pos:(10|10)
;ForceNearestPointFilter: When scaling is done by the dgVoodoo for the given scaling mode,
; you can force nearest point filtering instead of bilinear one
; FreeMouse: If true then physical mouse is free to move inside the game window
; when using emulated scaling and/or application and forced resolution
; differs; can be useful when a game relies on the physical window size
; WindowedAttributes: You can define attributes for forced windowed appearance (separated by commas):
; 'borderless' - forces the app window not have any border
; 'alwaysontop' - forces the app window into the top-most band
; 'fullscreensize' - forces the app window to be full screen size with image scaling inside
; Environment: Software environment in which dgVoodoo is running: can be left unspecified (native)
; or can be set to 'DosBox' or 'QEmu'.
; EnableGDIHooking: If enabled then dgVoodoo hooks GDI to be able to render graphical contents
; (like movie playback through the ancient Windows Multimedia AVI player library)
; rendered through GDI - experimental feature, for the time being it's implemented
; only for DX emulation

DesktopResolution =
DesktopBitDepth =
DeframerSize = 1
ImageScaleFactor = 1
DisplayROI =
ForceNearestPointFilter = false
FreeMouse = false
WindowedAttributes =
Environment =
EnableGDIHooking = false

;--------------------------------------------------------------------------

[Glide]

; VideoCard: "voodoo_graphics", "voodoo_rush", "voodoo_2", "voodoo_banshee", "other_greater"
; OnboardRAM: in MBs
; MemorySizeOfTMU: in kBs
;
; Resolution: either "unforced", "max", "max_isf", "max_fhd", "max_fhd_isf", "max_qhd", "max_qhd_isf", "%d x"
; or subproperties: h: horizontal, v: vertical
; + optional subproperty refrate: refresh rate in Hz
; e.g. Resolution = max, refrate:60
; Resolution = 2x, refrate:59
; Resolution = h:1280, v:1024, refrate:75
; or just use the compact form like "1024x768@60" or "512x384"
;
;Antialiasing: "off", "appdriven", "2x", "4x", "8x", "16x" (your GPU must support the chosen one)

VideoCard = voodoo_2
OnboardRAM = 8
MemorySizeOfTMU = 4096
NumberOfTMUs = 2
ForceBilinearFilter = false
DisableMipmapping = false
Resolution = unforced
Antialiasing = appdriven

EnableGlideGammaRamp = true
ForceVerticalSync = true
ForceEmulatingTruePCIAccess = false
16BitDepthBuffer = false
3DfxWatermark = true
3DfxSplashScreen = false
PointcastPalette = false
EnableInactiveAppState = false


;--------------------------------------------------------------------------

[GlideExt]

; DitheringEffect: "pure32bit", "dither2x2", "dither4x4"
; Dithering: "disabled", "appdriven", "forcealways"
; DitherOrderedMatrixSizeScale: integer scale value for dither matrix size
; 1 = normal, 2 = double size, etc.
; 0 = automatic (the aim is to have some retro feel&look)

DitheringEffect = pure32bit
Dithering = forcealways
DitherOrderedMatrixSizeScale = 0

;--------------------------------------------------------------------------

[DirectX]

; VideoCard: "svga", "internal3D", "geforce_ti_4800", "ati_radeon_8500",
; "matrox_parhelia-512", "geforce_fx_5700_ultra"
; VRAM: in MBs (default) or in GBs (e.g. VRAM = 2GB)
; Filtering: "appdriven", "pointsampled", "bilinear", "linearmip", "trilinear"
; or the integer value of an anisotropic filtering level (1-16)

DisableAndPassThru = false

VideoCard = internal3D
VRAM = 2048
Filtering = appdriven
DisableMipmapping = false
Resolution = unforced
Antialiasing = appdriven

AppControlledScreenMode = true
DisableAltEnterToToggleScreenMode = true

BilinearBlitStretch = false
PhongShadingWhenPossible = false
ForceVerticalSync = false
dgVoodooWatermark = false
FastVideoMemoryAccess = false

;--------------------------------------------------------------------------

[DirectXExt]

; AdapterIDType: "nvidia", "amd", "intel" or leave it undefined
; You can define what type of driver version and vendor id's the wrapper should report to
; the application; Some games rely on that information so it can be useful for them
; Can be defined only for SVGA and Internal3D card types; the others have their own wired
; information

; VendorID, DeviceID, SubsystemID, RevisionID:
; Can be defined only for SVGA and Internal3D card types
; You can overwrite these properties even if a non-default AdapterIDType is defined;
; say, you defined an nvidia id type but would like to refine the vendor id

; DefaultEnumeratedResolutions: you can define what resolutions should be enumerated to the application by default
; "all", "classics", "none"

; ExtraEnumeratedResolutions: you can add extra resolutions (separated by commas, max 16) that will get
; enumerated to the application as display adapter supported ones -
; can be useful if an app supports rendering at arbitrary resolutions
; and you have a particular favorite resolution that are not
; enumerated to the application by default
; you can either use the compact resolution format here, or
; "max", "max@refrate" meaning your desktop resolution with a potential refresh rate, or
; "max_4_3", "max_4_3@refrate", "max_16_9", "max_16_9@refrate"
; meaning the maximum resolution with the given aspect ratio calculated from
; the desktop resolution with the given refresh rate, e.g. "max_4_3@60", "max_16_9"

; EnumeratedResolutionBitdepths: you can filter what bitdepths are included in the resolution enumeration
; any subset of {"8", "16", "32"}, or "all"

; DitheringEffect: "pure32bit", "ordered2x2", "ordered4x4"
; Dithering: "disabled", "appdriven", "forceon16bit", "forcealways"
; DitherOrderedMatrixSizeScale: integer scale value for dither matrix size
; 1 = normal, 2 = double size, etc.
; 0 = automatic
; DepthBuffersBitDepth: internal bit depth of depth/stencil buffers for 3D rendering (32 bit is not recommended)
; "appdriven", "forcemin24bit", "force32bit"

; MaxVSConstRegisters: Max number of vertex shader constant registers (DX8/9 only)
; Can be defined only for SVGA and Internal3D card types
; Valid values are 256 (default), 512 or 1024

; MSD3DDeviceNames: if true then original Microsoft D3D device names are exposed
; (some applications check for them and they fail)

; RTTexturesForceScaleAndMSAA: if true then forced resolution scaling and MSAA is
; applied also to rendertarget textures
; Set it to false for games requiring pixel-precise rendering
; but be careful it can EASILY break certain things, not recommended

; SmoothedDepthSampling: if true then extra smoothing is added to depth textures
; when they are sampled

; DeferredScreenModeSwitch: If true the switching to full screen is deferred after the application initialized
; the DirectX device; can be useful for games that don't expect rendering window changes
; during initialization and crash

; PrimarySurfaceBatchedUpdate: If true then direct changes of the primary surface are batched together for presenting them
; If false then each change is instantly presented (debug-like mode)

AdapterIDType =
VendorID = 0x0
DeviceID = 0x0
SubsystemID = 0x0
RevisionID = 0x0

DefaultEnumeratedResolutions = all
ExtraEnumeratedResolutions =
EnumeratedResolutionBitdepths = all

DitheringEffect = pure32bit
Dithering = forcealways
DitherOrderedMatrixSizeScale = 0
DepthBuffersBitDepth = appdriven

MaxVSConstRegisters = 256

MSD3DDeviceNames = false
RTTexturesForceScaleAndMSAA = true
SmoothedDepthSampling = true
DeferredScreenModeSwitch = false
PrimarySurfaceBatchedUpdate = false

;--------------------------------------------------------------------------

[Debug]

; This section affects only debug/spec release builds
;
; Info, Warning, Error
; "Disable" - disables all messages and debugger break
; "Enable" - enables messages and disables debugger break
; "EnableBreak" - enables both messages and breaking into debugger
;
; MaxTraceLevel: Maximum level of tracing API calls
; 0 - Disable
; 1 - API Functions and methods
; 2 - Additional trace info for internals
;
; LogToFile: if false or debugger is detected then output goes to the debug output
; if true and no debugger detected then output goes to 'dgVoodoo.log'
; (not implemented yet, always the default debug output is used)

Info = enable
Warning = enable
Error = enable
MaxTraceLevel = 0

LogToFile = false

Remember the "B3D9.dll" hex-edit to trick the engine 😉

Reply 75 of 275, by Daninthemix

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Could anyone help me get DgVoodoo working with Jet Moto?

If anyone has any ideas how to make this work that would be amazing. The title screen works, I can select a jetski and a track, then when it goes to load the track there's a black screen that says something about loading textures...then the game closes.

Reply 76 of 275, by ZellSF

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
Daninthemix wrote:

Could anyone help me get DgVoodoo working with Jet Moto?

If anyone has any ideas how to make this work that would be amazing. The title screen works, I can select a jetski and a track, then when it goes to load the track there's a black screen that says something about loading textures...then the game closes.

It's a resolution enumeration issue. You can right click a tab in dgVoodooCpl.exe and click "Show all sections of the configuration", go to the DirectXExt tab and set Enumerated resolutions Defaults to "Classics".

Or you can just install the patch:
https://www.patches-scrolls.de/patch/2268/7/45600/download

JetMoto 2019-11-16 17-48-11-45.jpg
Filename
JetMoto 2019-11-16 17-48-11-45.jpg
File size
494.76 KiB
Views
888 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

Resolution forcing and MSAA works, game has bad UI scaling by default and is limited to 800x600.

Reply 79 of 275, by Daninthemix

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
ZellSF wrote:
It's a resolution enumeration issue. You can right click a tab in dgVoodooCpl.exe and click "Show all sections of the configurat […]
Show full quote
Daninthemix wrote:

Could anyone help me get DgVoodoo working with Jet Moto?

If anyone has any ideas how to make this work that would be amazing. The title screen works, I can select a jetski and a track, then when it goes to load the track there's a black screen that says something about loading textures...then the game closes.

It's a resolution enumeration issue. You can right click a tab in dgVoodooCpl.exe and click "Show all sections of the configuration", go to the DirectXExt tab and set Enumerated resolutions Defaults to "Classics".

Or you can just install the patch:
https://www.patches-scrolls.de/patch/2268/7/45600/download

JetMoto 2019-11-16 17-48-11-45.jpg

Resolution forcing and MSAA works, game has bad UI scaling by default and is limited to 800x600.

Awesome, thankyou so much for this!