VOGONS


How about a MR-BIOS ROM file repository?

Topic actions

Reply 180 of 269, by Sedrosken

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

The UM480 variants all seem to lock up with my GA-486VM. The variant I settled on earlier in the thread comes the closest to working completely -- it detects the CPU fine, detects the proper amount of RAM and L2, and then locks up before I can even get into setup. I'm assuming it has something to do with how my DX4 OverDrive behaves -- apparently it "helpfully" disables L2 on machines it deems not fully compatible. Whether that means it just doesn't like having 16K L1, or something else is at play, I don't know. However, I'm honestly willing to just let sleeping dogs lie at this point and use my original AMIBIOS with no L2, since in my testing with my DX2-66 having L2 enabled dramatically increased my RAM access times to the point that with it enabled, the numbers were higher in benchmarks, but with it disabled the machine felt faster and was more consistent. I got more out of setting my RAM to 0WS than I ever did from having L2 anyway.

Reply 181 of 269, by Anonymous Coward

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
mt777 wrote on 2020-09-16, 01:24:
MRVFONE wrote on 2020-08-25, 08:50:

Has anyone had issues getting into the MR BIOS menu?? Mine says to press ESC.... But nothing happnes. Tryed a diffrent keyboard.. no change. The leds blink on the keyboards when there pluged in etc.... Have to see if i can find an old DIN type plug just in case...

I had similiar problems with asus 386 when FPU was improper set via jumper

Try CTRL-ALT-ESC instead.

"Will the highways on the internets become more few?" -Gee Dubya
V'Ger XT|Upgraded AT|Ultimate 386|Super VL/EISA 486|SMP VL/EISA Pentium

Reply 182 of 269, by MrKsoft

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

For reference, wanted to document some attempts I made with a few of these BIOSes on a Diamond Flower 386/25-33-40UCE Rev A board. (Board is extremely similar to the 386/33-40UCE that has available jumper info online-- but it isn't the same board! The locations of everything are moved around ever so slightly...) The board uses the UMC UM82C481BF/UM82C482AF chipset. That lines up with the following files listed earlier in the thread:

V037B301 UMC_301 UMC WriteBack 82C48X 386 WriteBack, Rev 0 *ONLY*
V037B302 UMC_302 UMC WriteBack 82C48X 386 WriteBack, Rev A,B *ONLY* (Not REV-0 !)
V037B304 UMC_304 UMC WriteBack 82C48X 386 WriteBack, Rev A,B *ONLY* (Not REV-0 !) x037b302, for Cyrix layout with A20M and FLUSH

None of these worked 100% correctly. V037B301 just causes the speaker to emit a low tone (probably expected since it's "Rev 0 Only"). V037B302 and V037B304 boot fine but only detected memory in Bank 0. (I have eight 1MB SIMMs installed across Bank 0 and Bank 1, which are detected and functional on the original AMIBIOS). I don't expect there's really a solution to this, but I thought I'd report it as it could affect other UM82C48x boards.

Wafflenet OPL Archive - Preserving MS-DOS music in a unified format!

Reply 183 of 269, by 386_junkie

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

I have a about 6 or 7 motherboards (386) with MR BIOS ROM's... have been meaning to dump / back them up.

I recall there may be a way to do it in DOS without requiring a EPROM programmer, it that right?

Compaq Systempro; EISA Dual 386 ¦ Compaq Junkiepro; EISA Dual 386 ¦ ALR Powerpro; EISA Dual 386

EISA Graphic Cards ¦ EISA Graphic Card Benchmarks

Reply 184 of 269, by keropi

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++
386_junkie wrote on 2020-09-22, 18:27:

I have a about 6 or 7 motherboards (386) with MR BIOS ROM's... have been meaning to dump / back them up.

I recall there may be a way to do it in DOS without requiring a EPROM programmer, it that right?

programmer is the best to use, software methods are not 100%
you will get some data but it would not be the data on the eprom and thus will be unusable
we've faced this on the amstrad 486slc bios images, software grabbers like NSSI did not produce correct data

🎵 PCMIDI mpu site
🎧 Orpheus soundcard site
Action Rewind site
💻 WTB Amstrad PC7486SLC-33

Reply 185 of 269, by Am386DX-40

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Guys, I have a Seritech SER-386ADIII with ALI M1429/M1431 chipset. Every time I install an FPU it hangs and won't boot, or be very very unstable. Was thinking of trying a MR-BIOS with it, but I haven't found any for ALI chipsets. Is there anything out there?

Photo taken from another user:

7dnIS5P.jpg

Reply 186 of 269, by jesolo

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
Am386DX-40 wrote on 2020-10-03, 05:45:
Guys, I have a Seritech SER-386ADIII with ALI M1429/M1431 chipset. Every time I install an FPU it hangs and won't boot, or be ve […]
Show full quote

Guys, I have a Seritech SER-386ADIII with ALI M1429/M1431 chipset. Every time I install an FPU it hangs and won't boot, or be very very unstable. Was thinking of trying a MR-BIOS with it, but I haven't found any for ALI chipsets. Is there anything out there?

Photo taken from another user:

7dnIS5P.jpg

Firstly, desolder that barrel battery before it causes damage.

There might be a jumper on the motherboard that enables and disables the FPU. Have a look on Th99 to see if you can identify your board.

The chipset is the ALI M1429, which was quite a common chipset used by 386 motherboards from that era.

Reply 187 of 269, by Am386DX-40

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
jesolo wrote on 2020-10-03, 07:57:
Firstly, desolder that barrel battery before it causes damage. […]
Show full quote
Am386DX-40 wrote on 2020-10-03, 05:45:
Guys, I have a Seritech SER-386ADIII with ALI M1429/M1431 chipset. Every time I install an FPU it hangs and won't boot, or be ve […]
Show full quote

Guys, I have a Seritech SER-386ADIII with ALI M1429/M1431 chipset. Every time I install an FPU it hangs and won't boot, or be very very unstable. Was thinking of trying a MR-BIOS with it, but I haven't found any for ALI chipsets. Is there anything out there?

Photo taken from another user:

7dnIS5P.jpg

Firstly, desolder that barrel battery before it causes damage.

There might be a jumper on the motherboard that enables and disables the FPU. Have a look on Th99 to see if you can identify your board.

The chipset is the ALI M1429, which was quite a common chipset used by 386 motherboards from that era.

That's not my actual board, it's a picture I found here on vogons. It's exactly the same though. There's no jumper for FPU, just an option in the bios to try to detect it or not.

Reply 188 of 269, by techweenie

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

I'm desperately looking for the Acer M1209 files. These would apply to the Acer 1116sx/1120sx and Canon C-200 computers, among others probably.

V058B300 ACER300 386SX chipset, no turbo-LED
V058B304 ACER304 x058B300 with turbo-LED active Lo (TL-)
V058B305 ACER305 x058B300 with turbo-LED active Hi (TL+)

V058B301 ACER301 no turbo-LED, with fast-A20 optimization (*)
V058B306 ACER306 (TL-) with fast-A20 optimization (*)
V058B307 ACER307 (TL+) with fast-A20 optimization (*)

Reply 189 of 269, by drosse1meyer

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

Hi All

Being stuck home and all I've gotten the itch to play around with vintage hardware from my childhood. To that end I acquired a Packard Bell p166 which uses the 430vx chipset. Unfortunately the PCI video card I had laying around isnt recognized by the system but I think it's because it may be a pci v2 vs 2.3 issue. Was hoping a MRBIOS flash would address the problem...

In that vein, does anyone know where to get the correct exe tools to flash? I *think* I found the BIOS I need from the Evergreen Spectra CD (V09ab5ni.eti), but not sure how to get this loaded. The Spectra setup constantly asks me to put a floppy in A:, however I did that with a floppy made from the disk image in the same post, and it still won't proceed. Figured I may be able to take the V09ab5ni.eti file, rename to .bio and use it with standard MRFLASH tool.

Any ideas?

Thanks

P1 Build: Packard Bell - 233 MMX, Voodooo1, 64 MB, ALS100+
P2 Build: Dell Dimension R400 - 400 Mhz, GeForce2 32 MB, 128 MB
P3 Build: PIII @ 1 Ghz, 128 MB, GeForce2 GTS 64 MB
Macintosh: Performa 630CD - 6300 board @ 120 MHz, 64 MB, triple boot

Reply 190 of 269, by techweenie

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
drosse1meyer wrote on 2020-11-17, 17:51:
Hi All […]
Show full quote

Hi All

Being stuck home and all I've gotten the itch to play around with vintage hardware from my childhood. To that end I acquired a Packard Bell p166 which uses the 430vx chipset. Unfortunately the PCI video card I had laying around isnt recognized by the system but I think it's because it may be a pci v2 vs 2.3 issue. Was hoping a MRBIOS flash would address the problem...

In that vein, does anyone know where to get the correct exe tools to flash? I *think* I found the BIOS I need from the Evergreen Spectra CD (V09ab5ni.eti), but not sure how to get this loaded. The Spectra setup constantly asks me to put a floppy in A:, however I did that with a floppy made from the disk image in the same post, and it still won't proceed. Figured I may be able to take the V09ab5ni.eti file, rename to .bio and use it with standard MRFLASH tool.

Any ideas?

Thanks

Those eti files are some kind of proprietary format. You can't flash them directly. It is possible to interrupt the floppy boot process to get to a command prompt and run the flash utility manually. It may know how to decompress the rom file. Just be careful, there's often no going back unless you have a rom burner.

Reply 191 of 269, by drosse1meyer

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
techweenie wrote on 2020-11-17, 18:03:
drosse1meyer wrote on 2020-11-17, 17:51:
Hi All […]
Show full quote

Hi All

Being stuck home and all I've gotten the itch to play around with vintage hardware from my childhood. To that end I acquired a Packard Bell p166 which uses the 430vx chipset. Unfortunately the PCI video card I had laying around isnt recognized by the system but I think it's because it may be a pci v2 vs 2.3 issue. Was hoping a MRBIOS flash would address the problem...

In that vein, does anyone know where to get the correct exe tools to flash? I *think* I found the BIOS I need from the Evergreen Spectra CD (V09ab5ni.eti), but not sure how to get this loaded. The Spectra setup constantly asks me to put a floppy in A:, however I did that with a floppy made from the disk image in the same post, and it still won't proceed. Figured I may be able to take the V09ab5ni.eti file, rename to .bio and use it with standard MRFLASH tool.

Any ideas?

Thanks

Those eti files are some kind of proprietary format. You can't flash them directly. It is possible to interrupt the floppy boot process to get to a command prompt and run the flash utility manually. It may know how to decompress the rom file. Just be careful, there's often no going back unless you have a rom burner.

Wow thanks for the fast reply.

That's too bad. So I guess the only way forward is to get this Spectra app working right in win95, or acquire the official MRBIOS for a PB Orlando motherboard. Maybe someone will see this and be kind enough to post or link files as I can't seem to find much out there 🙁

P1 Build: Packard Bell - 233 MMX, Voodooo1, 64 MB, ALS100+
P2 Build: Dell Dimension R400 - 400 Mhz, GeForce2 32 MB, 128 MB
P3 Build: PIII @ 1 Ghz, 128 MB, GeForce2 GTS 64 MB
Macintosh: Performa 630CD - 6300 board @ 120 MHz, 64 MB, triple boot

Reply 192 of 269, by Anonymous Coward

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

We have the MR BIOS for the ALi 1217, but the 1209 hasn't been found yet.

"Will the highways on the internets become more few?" -Gee Dubya
V'Ger XT|Upgraded AT|Ultimate 386|Super VL/EISA 486|SMP VL/EISA Pentium

Reply 194 of 269, by douglar

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
techweenie wrote on 2020-11-19, 05:35:
Anonymous Coward wrote on 2020-11-18, 05:53:

We have the MR BIOS for the ALi 1217, but the 1209 hasn't been found yet.

I tried the 1217 MR BIOS on my 1209 and it was not happy. Oh well.

Sad to hear that. I have an old 1209 board and I'd love to put MR Bios on it.

Reply 195 of 269, by dataino.it

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

MG TK 82C480 + V037B40G - UMC WriteBack 82C48X 486

I had this motherboard to fix without bios and on the first try .. it works .....

Thank you, thank you, thank you, thank you, thank you, thank you,

PS. If anyone has the original bios it would do me a great pleasure

Attachments

Reply 196 of 269, by GigAHerZ

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

My googleing skills have not been enough... 🙁

It would be absolutely amazing, if someone would have MR BIOS for SIS 85C471 based chipsets.
Information from one of the bios packs here, in the thread: (but the bios itself was missing 🙁 )

Filename   Port      Description  SIS 85C471
-------- ------- ---------------------------------------------------------
V089B410 SIS_410 4 Mem Banks, REG_6A=FF
V089B411 SIS_411 6 Mem Banks, REG_6A=FF
V089B412 SIS_412 8 Mem Banks, REG_6A=FF

V089B413 SIS_413 4 Mem Banks, REG_6A=00
V089B414 SIS_414 6 Mem Banks, REG_6A=00
V089B415 SIS_415 8 Mem Banks, REG_6A=00

NOTE: The versions above are but a few samples of the
many ingenious multiplex schemes possible with
this chipset. (Hint: try V089B410 first).

"640K ought to be enough for anybody." - And i intend to get every last bit out of it even after loading every damn driver!

Reply 198 of 269, by Predator99

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
Robin4 wrote on 2020-12-24, 13:42:

Is there any MR bios for 286 Suntac chipset?

As written in the other thread, try
Re: How about a MR-BIOS ROM file repository?
It seems to be a generic 286 Version.

Reply 199 of 269, by dataino.it

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

I saw this picture of a motherboard and it struck me that it has both an AMI bios but also that there is a chip marked "MR BIOS" V303UT next to the keyboard connector.

what is that ?

Attachments

  • s-l1600.jpeg
    Filename
    s-l1600.jpeg
    File size
    91.72 KiB
    Views
    368 views
    File license
    Public domain