VOGONS

First post, by Vipersan

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

Please keep in mind I have little experience of DOS..
Basically ..I have a 4 x CD set of this game which I have tried to install to my GAMES hard drive on a win98se build.
Upon completion a popup expressly says ..do not run under windows.
I tried running it in a DOS window ..but of course it does not run.
I then tried resart in MS DOS mode from within 98 ..
I navigate to the 'MOON' diectory on D: where the game was installed ...and ran 'Moon'.exe
It will not run ..I assume on account I have no mouse or CD drive mounted now..
I had a think about this ..and figured ..it may run by starting from a system bootable floppy.
but although this has the option to start with CD enabled ..there still would be no mouse (ps2).
Is my logic sound ?
In short is there an image of a floppy disk out there with both CD and Mouse drivers enabled at start up ..with the needed drivers actually on the floppy ?
If not ..I guess I could make my own ..
IF I knew what I was doing.
Perhaps one of you guys actually has such a floppy ..and wouldn't mind imaging it for me ?
I'm guessing both Mouse and CD would load Hi in memory ?
any help would be appreciated.
rgds
VS

Reply 1 of 3, by Vipersan

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

Still mighty confused here..
I plugged in a serial mouse ..then located a file on CD 1
Boot.exe
Which I assumed would collect all the needed info needed and create a boot floppy..
Well ..it sort of does this ..
ie makes a system boot floppy to start the Win98 computer in DOS mood ..
Examining the floppy it does indeed contain config.sys ..and autoexec.bat
But details are missing ..
Memory is catered for ..as is the sound ..
Autoexec has blaster details in it ..
but ..
no CD info and no mouse info ..
so these are not catered for..
Thus still no mouse or disc drive.
I daresay these could be added manually ..IF I knew how..
ok ..I hold my hands up ..
I haven't a clue regarding DOS..