VOGONS


First post, by kitten.may.cry

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Such a bizarre and collectible card, honestly, but I still love it.

74ZjEp9.jpg

Pulled it from the storage, looked okay at a first glance, I had to put a surface mount capacitor back in its place, all good.

Also gave it a good soap wash, because it was kinda dirty around the caps... possible leak(s)?

It's detected in Windows 98's Multimedia tab as MIDI instrument with appropriate "latest" drivers, installed from a CD I burned, but...

Spoiler

Windows can indeed detect whether card is plugged in at XXX port.

What do you/I do with it afterwards?

I just want to make sure it's not broken or anything.

Last edited by kitten.may.cry on 2021-10-21, 20:10. Edited 1 time in total.

Reply 1 of 31, by mkarcher

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

Play a MIDI file using a media player. Windows has canyon.mid since the 3.1 days (likely since 3.0 with multi media enhancements). Try looking in c:\windows\media

Make sure the default MIDI device / the MIDI mapper configuration sends the music to the Yamaha board.

Reply 2 of 31, by kitten.may.cry

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
mkarcher wrote on 2021-10-21, 19:31:

Play a MIDI file using a media player. Windows has canyon.mid since the 3.1 days (likely since 3.0 with multi media enhancements). Try looking in c:\windows\media

Make sure the default MIDI device / the MIDI mapper configuration sends the music to the Yamaha board.

I did try to play any midi file, no dice.

Don't have any other sound cards, besides that one in the PC.

On top of that, OS usually hangs when I'm trying to.

Could this be a problem?

Reply 3 of 31, by kolderman

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

*Extremely* speed sensitive card. Anything faster than a 386 may have issues. I tested it recently and it was hit and miss on a K6-3+ slowed down. I had better luck on a MMX200 slowed down.

What CPU are you using?

Reply 4 of 31, by cyclone3d

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++

I haven't played with mine much, but there should be an initialization program that runs in DOS before Windows loads if I remember correctly. Not sure if it is required if only using in Windows.

Shouldn't matter if it is the only sound device installed in the computer though I am not sure how much if any the output is amplified. Are you using powered speakers with it?

Edit: pretty sure mine is currently in an MMX-233 system and is working fine. Maybe there are different revisions of the card?

Yamaha YMF modified setupds and drivers
Yamaha XG resource repository - updated November 27, 2018
Yamaha YMF7x4 Guide
AW744L II - YMF744 - AOpen Cobra Sound Card - Install SB-Link Header

Reply 6 of 31, by kixs

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

Use any game and configure music to General MIDI at port 300. Card doesn't need any DOS drivers.

Can't say about speed sensitivity as I've used it only up to Pentium 133.

My Amibay: SALE | BUY - Updated on 2021-07-06 | Requests also possible

Reply 7 of 31, by kitten.may.cry

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Just for sanity check, I brought yet another sound card into equation.

SB0100 this time, it works, nevertheless.

I go to Control Panel, Multimedia, MIDI, select Yamaha as Single Instrument.

When I'm trying to play midi files with Yamaha card in mind, PC hangs.

Everything else seems to work, maybe you guys need more pics of the card?

Reply 10 of 31, by kitten.may.cry

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
kixs wrote on 2021-10-21, 20:54:

Do you have any slower computer?

I can try P2 400 on my P3B-F, will need a minute to set everything up.

All my leftover boards appear to be trashed, this will take longer, but I can slow down my P3 / Celeron,

Reply 11 of 31, by Tiido

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

I actually don't remember any sort of speed sensitivity on two SW60XG I have had in my hands (I have had to repair them), I used both on a 1.4GHz Tualatin machine without any apparent problems. It comes as a surprise to me that this card is supposed to be speed sensitive...

T-04YBSC, a new YMF71x based sound card & Official VOGONS thread about it
Newly made 4MB 60ns 30pin SIMMs ~
mida sa loed ? nagunii aru ei saa 😜

Reply 12 of 31, by cyclone3d

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++

Picture of your card looks like the address is set at 300 ?

If it is going to work, efcon should definitely detect it.

The line in my autoexec.bat is the default:
C:\SW60XG\efcon /type:1 /line:100 /mic:100 /midi:100 /vcl:0

You are running efcon from pure DOS and not a Windows command prompt, right?

The system it has been in is a Pentium MMX 233 so it definitely works with a CPU that fast.

Yamaha YMF modified setupds and drivers
Yamaha XG resource repository - updated November 27, 2018
Yamaha YMF7x4 Guide
AW744L II - YMF744 - AOpen Cobra Sound Card - Install SB-Link Header

Reply 13 of 31, by kitten.may.cry

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
cyclone3d wrote on 2021-10-22, 04:37:
Picture of your card looks like the address is set at 300 ? […]
Show full quote

Picture of your card looks like the address is set at 300 ?

If it is going to work, efcon should definitely detect it.

The line in my autoexec.bat is the default:
C:\SW60XG\efcon /type:1 /line:100 /mic:100 /midi:100 /vcl:0

You are running efcon from pure DOS and not a Windows command prompt, right?

The system it has been in is a Pentium MMX 233 so it definitely works with a CPU that fast.

It is 300, yes.

I ran EFCON under WIn98's DOS mode, as I'm pretty sure it is already in the autoexec.bat, might recheck that little factoid.

Regarding the speed, I need to procure an AT style keyboard, and try Socket 7 for once.

Reply 14 of 31, by cyclone3d

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++

You can just us an adapter to go from PS/2 to AT.. or USB to PS/2 / AT for that matter though it is cheaper and easier to just get a PS/2 / AT keyboard.

Generally, the DOS mode utilities like that will not work under a Windows command prompt.

Yamaha YMF modified setupds and drivers
Yamaha XG resource repository - updated November 27, 2018
Yamaha YMF7x4 Guide
AW744L II - YMF744 - AOpen Cobra Sound Card - Install SB-Link Header

Reply 15 of 31, by kitten.may.cry

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
cyclone3d wrote on 2021-10-22, 13:26:

You can just us an adapter to go from PS/2 to AT.. or USB to PS/2 / AT for that matter though it is cheaper and easier to just get a PS/2 / AT keyboard.

Generally, the DOS mode utilities like that will not work under a Windows command prompt.

Okay then, will burn floppies or a CD to install 6.22.

Reply 16 of 31, by cyclone3d

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++

You can just hit F8 when booting to do a selective startup.

You don't need to install 6.22.

You can also make config.sys and autoexec.bat menus to be able to boot multiple configurations.

Yamaha YMF modified setupds and drivers
Yamaha XG resource repository - updated November 27, 2018
Yamaha YMF7x4 Guide
AW744L II - YMF744 - AOpen Cobra Sound Card - Install SB-Link Header

Reply 17 of 31, by kitten.may.cry

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
cyclone3d wrote on 2021-10-22, 13:47:

You can just hit F8 when booting to do a selective startup.

You don't need to install 6.22.

You can also make config.sys and autoexec.bat menus to be able to boot multiple configurations.

Funny enough, I did exactly that to do DOS stuff, like DOSMID and light gaming.

EFCON didn't detect the card.

Reply 18 of 31, by cyclone3d

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++

Not sure if it matters but it isn't a PnP card so you may need to set the BIOS to non-PnP.

Have you tried cleaning the edge connector on the card? What about making sure a different ISA card works in the motherboard?

Yamaha YMF modified setupds and drivers
Yamaha XG resource repository - updated November 27, 2018
Yamaha YMF7x4 Guide
AW744L II - YMF744 - AOpen Cobra Sound Card - Install SB-Link Header

Reply 19 of 31, by kitten.may.cry

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
cyclone3d wrote on 2021-10-22, 15:22:

Not sure if it matters but it isn't a PnP card so you may need to set the BIOS to non-PnP.

Have you tried cleaning the edge connector on the card? What about making sure a different ISA card works in the motherboard?

It's GA-6VXTE-A, creme de la creme of my collection.

It only has one ISA slot, being a 694T board.

100% functional, other soundcard seems to work absolutely fine.

Set the BIOS to non-PnP? I can try that right now!

"Plug and Play Aware O/S, is it?"

Opened my autoexec.bat just now, same line, no deviations.
"C:\SW60XG\efcon /type:1 /line:100 /mic:100 /midi:100 /vcl:0"

I even double checked the system.ini and control.ini for that matter, some line weren't complete, and corrected them.

All according to the manual, of course.