VOGONS


First post, by RobDos

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

I purchased of a local user a SB Awe 64 CT4380 and a SIMMCONN with 32MB EDO.

Every test I try I'm only getting 4MB of RAM from my AWE Card, this leads me to suspect the SIMMCONN or RAM is not functional.

I've also tested the same SIMMCONN on a CT4520 with identical results.

The memory module has the following markings
MT16D832G-6X 32MB EDO 60ns
modules : mt 4c4m4e8

The only thought I have is the SIMMCONN appears to be 'value' (I assume because the chip on the back has a V on it) and it needs to be gold?
I would expect the CT4520 to be a value card and the CT4380 to be 'gold' compatible?

I do not have any other 72 pinn memory to test with.

Can anyone confirm that I have the correct SIMMCONN firmware for the cards and to be superhelpfull link me to compatible memory on ebay? I found nothing with the listed chips from the old website but that's not really a suprise.
https://simmconn.tripod.com/manual.htm#Q3

P3 Slot 1 - 512MB PC100 - 128GB SSD - RADEON 9200 SE , SB Awe64 ISA - GOTEK MOD

Reply 1 of 14, by cyclone3d

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++

The Gold! model AWE64 cards are CT4390 and CT4540.

Value models are CT4380, CT4500, CT4520 and CT4550

My guess is that the RAM is not compatible.

Yamaha YMF modified setupds and drivers
Yamaha XG resource repository - updated November 27, 2018
Yamaha YMF7x4 Guide
AW744L II - YMF744 - AOpen Cobra Sound Card - Install SB-Link Header

Reply 3 of 14, by weedeewee

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

there's mention of jumpers in the manual, yet no mention of jumpers in OP's post.

Right to repair is fundamental. You own it, you're allowed to fix it.
How To Ask Questions The Smart Way
Do not ask Why !

Reply 5 of 14, by weedeewee

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

ASP? that's the soundcard itself right ?
I was referring to the simmconn card since you linked to the manual.

Right to repair is fundamental. You own it, you're allowed to fix it.
How To Ask Questions The Smart Way
Do not ask Why !

Reply 6 of 14, by RobDos

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Sorry, yes the SIMMCONN is set for 32MB.

I reached out to the good folks at Serda Shop and they sent me this info.

It seems the 'value' is only listing 16MB modules as successful and it's a guess on the 'standard' version of the card.

the green V is a 'Value' firmware,
CT4520 is a value version, so this should work
CT4380 is a 'standard' version, i am not 100% sure, i think it would work as well with value firmware
for the memory, i cannot find this type in the simmconn thread, so maybe it is not compatible
From my site (https://www.serdashop.com/SIMMCONN), these are modules i know that worked for users :
Known working 32mbyte memory modules :
- HYUNDAI HY5117400C J-60
- LGS GM71c17400AJ6
- SIEMENS HYB5117405BJ-60
- OKI M5117405A-60SJ
- MIT 417409DJ EDO-60
- M.tec TBE1604A2A60

P3 Slot 1 - 512MB PC100 - 128GB SSD - RADEON 9200 SE , SB Awe64 ISA - GOTEK MOD

Reply 8 of 14, by RobDos

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
maxtherabbit wrote on 2021-11-04, 14:38:

I have an AWE64 Value (don't remember the CT number) and it works perfectly with a 32MB SIMM

Are you able to provide a link to the chips you used? I can't find any 32MB modules with the supported chips. I did order a 16MB one a few moments ago but I can always use a new keychain.

P3 Slot 1 - 512MB PC100 - 128GB SSD - RADEON 9200 SE , SB Awe64 ISA - GOTEK MOD

Reply 9 of 14, by maxtherabbit

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
RobDos wrote on 2021-11-04, 14:47:
maxtherabbit wrote on 2021-11-04, 14:38:

I have an AWE64 Value (don't remember the CT number) and it works perfectly with a 32MB SIMM

Are you able to provide a link to the chips you used? I can't find any 32MB modules with the supported chips. I did order a 16MB one a few moments ago but I can always use a new keychain.

I honestly have no idea. I just pulled a random 32MB SIMM out of my stack and it worked.

If you've already purchased a 16MB stick I would recommend you test that first to make sure the SIMMCONN works at all before buying anything else

Reply 10 of 14, by weedeewee

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

was easy enough to find this one.

https://ram-co-shop.de/32-MB-EDO-RAM-non-Pari … -TMS417409DJ-60

Right to repair is fundamental. You own it, you're allowed to fix it.
How To Ask Questions The Smart Way
Do not ask Why !

Reply 11 of 14, by RobDos

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Hey all, I wanted to provide an update.

Hi, I wanted to let you know because you were so kind to respond that I’ve tested with some other EDO memory modules I found around.
It recognized a 8MB of RAM chip that I installed in the CT4380 with the value firmware.
Without it it only recognized 512K

Oddly enough setting what I understood to be a 16MB chip to 16MB on the card only recognized 2MB
Dropping it to 8MB picked up 8MB in the diagnose utility but the memory chips are not listed as supported it will be a few more weeks for that as it takes a bit for stuff to get here from China.

While the ram-co-shop.de was the modules I'm looking for, it does me no go as they don't ship to Canada. Thanks for the link weedeewee.

The CT4520 I think is defective.

Thank you for the prompt reply, it’s greatly appreciated.

P3 Slot 1 - 512MB PC100 - 128GB SSD - RADEON 9200 SE , SB Awe64 ISA - GOTEK MOD

Reply 12 of 14, by georgel

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
RobDos wrote on 2021-11-16, 01:29:
Hey all, I wanted to provide an update. […]
Show full quote

Hey all, I wanted to provide an update.

Hi, I wanted to let you know because you were so kind to respond that I’ve tested with some other EDO memory modules I found around.
It recognized a 8MB of RAM chip that I installed in the CT4380 with the value firmware.
Without it it only recognized 512K

Oddly enough setting what I understood to be a 16MB chip to 16MB on the card only recognized 2MB
Dropping it to 8MB picked up 8MB in the diagnose utility but the memory chips are not listed as supported it will be a few more weeks for that as it takes a bit for stuff to get here from China.

While the ram-co-shop.de was the modules I'm looking for, it does me no go as they don't ship to Canada. Thanks for the link weedeewee.

The CT4520 I think is defective.

Thank you for the prompt reply, it’s greatly appreciated.

If all tests pass with the DIAGNOSE.EXE utility then your card is *extremely unlikely* to be defective.

Reply 13 of 14, by RobDos

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

So I'm not having much luck here getting 28MB on this card.

I have a two different 32MB sticks, 16 and 8MB sticks I've tried.

Chip with 16x TMS417409ADJ
MT16D832G is one of the 32MB, when I configure the SIMMCONN for 32MB I get 2MB (card has 512k native)
Configure for 16MB, get 2MB
Configure for 8MB double sided, get 8MB
Configure for 8MB single sided, get 8MB

I'm losing my mind here, any ideas on what might be causing this? I just ordered another 32MB chip with 16x GD 51H0112

Is it's possible its a resource conflict?

P3 Slot 1 - 512MB PC100 - 128GB SSD - RADEON 9200 SE , SB Awe64 ISA - GOTEK MOD

Reply 14 of 14, by RobDos

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

4th's time is a charm!

Did not work:
MT16D832G-6X Micron 32 MB SIMM DDR SDRAM Memory
Chips: Chips 16x MT4C4M4E

But the latest chip, assembled in Canada no less worked and passed!
Celestica 32MB EDO
Chips: GD 51H0112

Thanks for the help all!

Attachments

  • s-l1600.jpg
    Filename
    s-l1600.jpg
    File size
    334.91 KiB
    Views
    223 views
    File license
    Public domain

P3 Slot 1 - 512MB PC100 - 128GB SSD - RADEON 9200 SE , SB Awe64 ISA - GOTEK MOD