VOGONS


SBEMU: Sound Blaster emulation on AC97

Topic actions

Reply 1041 of 1341, by dontbugster

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
thp wrote on 2023-10-24, 17:52:
dontbugster wrote on 2023-10-24, 07:28:

When SBEMU is executed (no matter of version), speakers do a pop sound.
Then, no sound, neither on PC Speaker.

Since your sound card is an HDA sound card, have you tried the "/O" switch to SBEMU? Use /O0 (that's slash, uppercase-O, followed by the digit zero if the font you see is as bad as the one I see here) for headphone, and /O1 (that's slash, uppercase-O, the digit one) for speaker.

Yes, I did. No sound either, thanks!

Reply 1043 of 1341, by wbc

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

anyone know if the SBEMU-X fork is the most recent and updated version of SBEMU? original version seems to have no updates since April, and I would like to help with testing and improving it (including code contributions, of course :).

In particular, if time constant set by DSP command 0x40 matches the closest value for 11025/22050/44100 Hz sample rate (respectively, TCs 0xA5/D2/E9), SBEMU automatically rounds the resulting sample rate to the exact 11/22/44 kHz value. Some applications (mostly MOD players/libraries), on the other hand, assume that no such rounding is done, expecting time constant value 0xE9 as 43478 Hz, which gets rounded by SBEMU to 44100 Hz, resulting in slighty pitched up sound.
As far as I know, original Creative Sound Blasters prior to SB16 do not round these time constants (albeit some clones may do), while SB16/AWE, according to this info, round A5 and D2 to 11025 and 22050 Hz, but E9 is left at 43478 Hz.

--wbcbz7

Reply 1044 of 1341, by dr.zeissler

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
thp wrote on 2023-10-24, 19:48:
Update on the AD1980 issue. Was doing some test builds and dr.zeissler tested over the last two weeks with some back-and-forth. […]
Show full quote

Update on the AD1980 issue. Was doing some test builds and dr.zeissler tested over the last two weeks with some back-and-forth.

Turns out we were quite close to the real answer to begin with, 3 bits need to be set on the MISC (0x76) register:

0x4000 - AC97NC
0x0400 - HPSEL
0x0020 - LOSEL

Pull request for upstream SBEMU: https://github.com/crazii/SBEMU/pull/35

Is that the "technical" solution for my issue on the AD1980 in Dos for SBEMU ?
How can this be achieved in that ? https://github.com/Falke3434/Amithlon

Attachments

  • KERN310_DRV090.png
    Filename
    KERN310_DRV090.png
    File size
    96.8 KiB
    Views
    2007 views
    File license
    Public domain
  • AMITHLON_E600.jpg
    Filename
    AMITHLON_E600.jpg
    File size
    1.03 MiB
    Views
    2007 views
    File license
    Public domain

Retro-Gamer 😀 ...on different machines

Reply 1045 of 1341, by tauro

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

Partial success on:

VIA EPIA TC10000
CLE266+VT8235M
VT1612A
VIA C3 1GHz

I'm loading Jemmex and starting SBEMU this way:
jload qpiemu.dll
hdpmi32i -r -x
sbemu.exe

Many games WORK

-LEMMINGS
-DUKE3D requires /k44100 to correct the high pitched FX sound
-DOOM
-QUAKE

Some games play the FM music a bit slow and with low volume, and the PCM sound sometimes is a bit saturated.

WARCRAFT II
The FM music plays a bit slow and the volume is very low, but when a PCM sound is played the volume of the music is increased briefly while the PCM sound is playing.

SHERLOCK HOLMES
Same phenomenon as in Warcraft II

Trying to change the CPU multiplier (SETMUL/CPUSPD) after loading SBEMU results in a system crash.

MORTAL KOMBAT - refuses to start
hdpmi: fatal exit 0007
Using DOS32A it says
mk: Cannot Allocate DOS memory for Sound Drivers - which is false, because I have 626K free.

PREHISTORIK 2
Music plays too fast and the game is not playable.

Are there any workarounds/things to try for the games with FM volume and speed problems?

Reply 1046 of 1341, by dr.zeissler

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

GODS does not play the samples FM is OK. After loading the TPFIX Bblows works just great. Bblows2 does work too but scrolling is broken (on MGA450).
Beside that the sierra games do all work in ADLIB (ADL.DRV) the SBLAST samples do not work (tested in SQ4/5) but there is a nice fix for the shifting issue of the image on TFT. It's a very annoying issue that textmode VGA in DOS is shifted left or right when using EGA or VGA16 color or 256color. On MGA 450 VGA-Textmode is 100% identical on VGA 256 colors that is very nice...EGA and VGA16 are shifted 5mm to the left...this can be fixed if a game (mostly the sierra titles) support MCGA 16 Colors...if using this MCGA the image 100% identical so everything is centered on TFT...very very important for me!

-DUKE3D requires /k44100 to correct the high pitched FX sound

That should be the same for the other build-engine games...have to test that on WWIIGI. THX! My solution was to choose 16khz in the soundsettings, than it was not higher pitched.

Retro-Gamer 😀 ...on different machines

Reply 1048 of 1341, by dr.zeissler

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

I use OCP that works ftp://ftp.cubic.org/pub/player/ocp260pre6.zip

Currently testing SBEMU on FSC-XS D1215 i815e AD1885... it seems that this codec is not so good supported. FM is still good, SBL is very loud even with /VOL4 so sound is dissorted and the timing fixes seems to have issues on my setup with 1400 P3 Tualatin...still needs lot's of testing.

Retro-Gamer 😀 ...on different machines

Reply 1050 of 1341, by tauro

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
Baron von Riedesel wrote on 2023-04-26, 18:22:
I have a MB with VIA VT8237R+ and volume was also too low. […]
Show full quote

I have a MB with VIA VT8237R+ and volume was also too low.

One problem is that the VIA chips - at least the VT823x ones - have 3 knobs for the volume: 2 AC97 "volumes" - for "MASTER" and "PCM" - and a VIA specific volume ( DXS or so ).
Another problem is that the "DXS" volume is supposed to be 5-bits wide, but at least for the 8235 and 8237, it's 6 bits, according to the data sheets.

I "fixed" the problem by setting the "PCM" and "DXS" volumes to 100% and only the "MASTER" is changed by the /VOL option.

I didn't experience any "distortion" issue, though.

MBH wrote on 2023-04-27, 09:58:

Do you have an already compiled binary witch this change? I want to try if it solves my problem.

+1

This may solve the PCM distortion and low FM volume on certain games such as Warcraft II. Please share a binary and submit a pull request.
This still hasn't been solved on sbemu-x either.

dr.zeissler wrote on 2023-11-12, 08:31:

GODS does not play the samples FM is OK.

I can confirm, the same happens here but only in the title screen, afterwards the FX seems to work fine.

dr.zeissler wrote on 2023-11-12, 08:31:

-DUKE3D requires /k44100 to correct the high pitched FX sound

That should be the same for the other build-engine games...have to test that on WWIIGI. THX! My solution was to choose 16khz in the soundsettings, than it was not higher pitched.

You're welcome!

Reply 1051 of 1341, by DarthSun

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
dr.zeissler wrote on 2023-11-12, 22:03:

I use OCP that works ftp://ftp.cubic.org/pub/player/ocp260pre6.zip

Currently testing SBEMU on FSC-XS D1215 i815e AD1885... it seems that this codec is not so good supported. FM is still good, SBL is very loud even with /VOL4 so sound is dissorted and the timing fixes seems to have issues on my setup with 1400 P3 Tualatin...still needs lot's of testing.

I downloaded it, I'll try it.

Reply 1052 of 1341, by DarthSun

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
krotan wrote on 2023-11-13, 18:16:
DarthSun wrote on 2023-11-12, 15:55:

The tracker programs do not work...

Impulse Tracker v2.14 and v2.15 works well for me...

I downloaded those too. Thank you both for the tip, they are older than me on the machine.

Reply 1053 of 1341, by DarthSun

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

R3800X/B450/PCIe to PCI/SB060/DOS7.1/SBEMU: the old trackers did not work, had to be updated, the recommended versions work.

OpenCP260pre6 : That's it. All tracker files are ok, midi didn't work, GUS PAT set was not found. It turned out that here it is not necessary to start with BAT, but only to copy the PAT line to the main directory. There is also a struggle with config, the loop release has been hidden even better. I don't know why loop=on is the default, anyway I found it and disabled it.

Impulse Tracker v2.14: I also had an older version of this, it didn't even see Live on the converter, this 2.14 already works fine on the madness machine.

Reply 1054 of 1341, by tauro

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

Alone in the Dark also shows the same behavior as Warcraft II and Sherlock Holmes. The FM plays fine but the volume is low, when a PCM sound is reproduced, the FM volume raises temporarily as long as the PCM sound is being played back, then returns to the low volume.
Chipset: CLE266 + VIA 8235M + VT1612A.

Reply 1055 of 1341, by crazii

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
urbanus wrote on 2023-07-18, 12:51:

He/she coule be working on things locally on their PC that we do not see.

Unfortunately not. 😁 I'm still on my long vacation although I've seen the issues/discussions here and on github.

And thanks to digger and thp for contributing to the project, I'll get the PRs later. Now things become difficult when making it compatible with more codecs/chips, and I really appreciate for your help!

Toshiba Satellite Pro 4300 - YMF744, Savage IX
Toshiba Satellite 2805-S501 - YMF754, GeForce 2Go
IBM Thinkpad A21p - CS4624, Mobility Radeon 128
main: Intel NUC11PHKi7C Phantom Canyon: i7-1165G7 RTX2060 64G 2T760PSDD

Reply 1056 of 1341, by Bruno128

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
crazii wrote on 2023-11-16, 10:47:

although I've seen the issues/discussions here and on github.

Hi the list of reports has been just updated, could you link it in OP?
SBEMU compatibility reports list | Navigation thread

Now playing: Red Faction on 2003 Acrylic build


SBEMU compatibility reports

Reply 1057 of 1341, by crazii

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

Done. Thanks very very much!
😁

Toshiba Satellite Pro 4300 - YMF744, Savage IX
Toshiba Satellite 2805-S501 - YMF754, GeForce 2Go
IBM Thinkpad A21p - CS4624, Mobility Radeon 128
main: Intel NUC11PHKi7C Phantom Canyon: i7-1165G7 RTX2060 64G 2T760PSDD

Reply 1059 of 1341, by IgorGIV

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Hi everyone!
My specs: IBM Thinkpad T23 (Pentium3 1.2Ghz, 512RAM, 128SSD, CS4299 Sound card, Windows98se/msdos7.1)
Tested in: Doom2, Duke3d, Quake1, Prince of Persia 2. Everything works perfectly! But there is very interesting thing (bug?) - i have to execute sbemu.exe twice to be able to hear any sound. If i execute it with "sbemu /220 /I7 /D1 /T6 /H5 /O0" then after that i should execute it again with "sbemu /220 /I7 /D1 /T6 /H5 /O1". And vice versa: if it was first executed with "/O1" then i have to execute it again with "/O0" option. And then i can hear sound.
P.S. Thank you very much crazii! You are awesome!