VOGONS


PowerVR Fun Thread

Topic actions

Reply 800 of 1011, by Chadti99

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
Hanamichi wrote on 2021-05-03, 16:43:

Sounds like that mwdmeyer's cool new card is doing the pin lifting mod mentioned in the guide you found Chadti..

Overclocking your FSB/PCI speed really helps all round performance as well.
I am trying to get a system stable with the PCI bus at 50MHz +, then I might test this mod in conjunction.

I may give the pin lift mod a try but do have some crystals on the way.

Curious what mobo+cpu are you running to push 50mhz PCI with the PowerVR? My Asus P3B-F has an option for ~43Mhz I think but maybe a different bios version would help me tweak that higher? But I haven’t tested 43 so def gonna give that a try.

Reply 801 of 1011, by Hanamichi

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

I guess that 43mhz is a strap when the CPU FSB is running stock at 100MHz. So you can set that and see if it is stable first.

Then see if you are able to raise the CPU FSB.
Depending on the bios the strap may "loosen" i.e. go down automatically with more FSB, however, If the strap stays the same..every FSB increase will also increase the PCI speed above that 43Mhz.

Just watch out for storage and audio corruption.

I use an AOpen AX3S Pro-U which handily can lock the straps with jumpers.

Reply 803 of 1011, by Chadti99

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

So 18.432 is just a bit too much, seeing some graphics corruption even with a make shift cooler, which admittedly isn’t the best. But damn it’s quite a bit faster!

Unreal@512x384x24=58fps, up from 49
Quake2@640x480x24=30fps , up from 24
Quake@400x300x24=71fps , up from 64

Maybe with better cooling it would resolve but thinking I should back it down to an 18.0 crystal if I can find one.

Attachments

Reply 804 of 1011, by RaVeN-05

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

MMD143AK is original detail in that card? hmm i have modded PowerVR card with heat sink and cooler that i guess from 486 pc processor.
need to look what exactly i have than.
Ist a bit risky to change original details in cards/accelerators =0

https://hexenworld.org/forum/index.php (Heretic's & HeXen's forum)
https://www.youtube.com/user/whitemagicraven
https://go.twitch.tv/whitemagicraventv

Reply 805 of 1011, by Chadti99

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
RaVeN-05 wrote on 2021-05-07, 06:26:

MMD143AK is original detail in that card? hmm i have modded PowerVR card with heat sink and cooler that i guess from 486 pc processor.
need to look what exactly i have than.
Ist a bit risky to change original details in cards/accelerators =0

Correct, the original was an MMD143AK or a A159H7, which despite info on the link I found, run at the same speed.

I was able to swap the crystal on the 2nd board I have, with the A159H7, but running stable now! I’ve got a socket7 cooler attached. Seeing the exact performance numbers as the card that had the MMD143AK with swapped crystal. Mechwarrior 2 is running super smooth.

Anyone know how to show FPS in MW2?

Reply 806 of 1011, by kodt

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Anyone else have a Lost Joker 2 card? (Voodoo 3 + PCX2). I am getting BSODs every time I shut down Windows. Also some odd behavior with the PowerVR part where a game will run extremely slow, but then disabling "PowerVR HAL" in settings will fix it and it will use the PowerVR part correctly.

Chadti99 wrote on 2021-05-08, 12:03:

Correct, the original was an MMD143AK or a A159H7, which despite info on the link I found, run at the same speed.

I was able to swap the crystal on the 2nd board I have, with the A159H7, but running stable now! I’ve got a socket7 cooler attached. Seeing the exact performance numbers as the card that had the MMD143AK with swapped crystal. Mechwarrior 2 is running super smooth.

Anyone know how to show FPS in MW2?

See this post for details on how to display FPS in MechWarrior 2: Mechwarrior 2 ATi Rage edition runs super laggy on Rage Pro?

Reply 807 of 1011, by vetz

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
kodt wrote on 2021-05-26, 20:37:

See this post for details on how to display FPS in MechWarrior 2: Mechwarrior 2 ATi Rage edition runs super laggy on Rage Pro?

That only works in some of the accelerated versions. I can't remember which ones.

3D Accelerated Games List (Proprietary APIs - No 3DFX/Direct3D)
3D Acceleration Comparison Episodes

Reply 808 of 1011, by mwdmeyer

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
kodt wrote on 2021-05-26, 20:37:

Anyone else have a Lost Joker 2 card? (Voodoo 3 + PCX2). I am getting BSODs every time I shut down Windows. Also some odd behavior with the PowerVR part where a game will run extremely slow, but then disabling "PowerVR HAL" in settings will fix it and it will use the PowerVR part correctly.

I have one coming soon, so I will let you know! How are you finding it otherwise?

Vogons Wiki - http://vogonswiki.com

Reply 809 of 1011, by kodt

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
mwdmeyer wrote on 2021-05-27, 01:01:

I have one coming soon, so I will let you know! How are you finding it otherwise?

Great so far! Performance is great. Installation went very smoothly, everything detected without issues.

Reply 810 of 1011, by anthony

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
kodt wrote on 2021-05-26, 20:37:

Anyone else have a Lost Joker 2 card? (Voodoo 3 + PCX2). I am getting BSODs every time I shut down Windows. Also some odd behavior with the PowerVR part where a game will run extremely slow, but then disabling "PowerVR HAL" in settings will fix it and it will use the PowerVR part correctly.

See this post for details on how to display FPS in MechWarrior 2: Mechwarrior 2 ATi Rage edition runs super laggy on Rage Pro?

looks like you need to change the slot occupied by the joker card. i dunno what system you have but the bx based system is highly recommended for a pcx2, not something else.

Reply 811 of 1011, by kodt

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
anthony wrote on 2021-05-28, 19:26:

looks like you need to change the slot occupied by the joker card. i dunno what system you have but the bx based system is highly recommended for a pcx2, not something else.

Yes I am using it with a 440BX board. I will test with different slots.

Reply 812 of 1011, by BitWrangler

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

I last ran a PCx2 on a 430VX with a Cyrix MII at a balls to the wall 83x3.5, ran all the demos fast and smooth but had trouble digging up anything else to play on it. Think it had a TGUI 9680 2MB for output at the time. I bought two of the Apocalypse 3Dx on a clearout deal for peanuts. They should still be around but haven't emerged out of the pile yet. It was a bit of a letdown with the demos being so great but all the non-enhanced DX5 and 6 things I tried running like crap, perhaps that's where I needed a bit more CPU.

Unicorn herding operations are proceeding, but all the totes of hens teeth and barrels of rocking horse poop give them plenty of hiding spots.

Reply 813 of 1011, by NostalgicAslinger

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

Some captured Tomb Raider 1 scenes in 1024x768 24-bit colour with Matrox m3D (Celeron 333 Mendocino Slot 1, i440LX, S3 Savage 4 Pro 32MB AGP, 3Dfx Voodoo² 12MB): https://streamable.com/6nmxfd

Reply 814 of 1011, by sirotkaslo

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

Received this bad boy yesterday:

G6OFCrq.jpg

But ofc the fan isn't working, are there any replacement fans still available for purcase today? Also is the agp mod safe? thanks

Reply 815 of 1011, by mwdmeyer

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

My PCX2 + Voodoo3 has arrived. I will be testing as soon as possible but here is a quick video.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mugr9OhXAmA

Vogons Wiki - http://vogonswiki.com

Reply 816 of 1011, by Limpem

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Can anyone test if the powerVR at 80Mhz allows Tomb Raider to run at a stable 30 FPS at 1024x768?
I would consider modding my own PCX2 if it does 😁

430HX/P1 233MMX/64MB/S3VirgeDX,Voodoo1SLI(King Shaman)/AWE32
440BX/CelTualatin1400/512MB/Banshee, PowerVR PCX2/AWE64Gold
645DX/P4Northwood 3,5Ghz(Oc)/512MB/Voodoo5500/Vortex2
875P/P4EE 3,4Ghz/1GB/GeforceFX5950/Audigy2ZS
Z97/i3-4370/16GB/GeforceGTX960/X-Fi

Reply 817 of 1011, by chrismeyer6

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
mwdmeyer wrote on 2021-06-25, 07:51:

My PCX2 + Voodoo3 has arrived. I will be testing as soon as possible but here is a quick video.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mugr9OhXAmA

I saw the notification on my phone when I woke up this morning. I can't wait to watch it later!!

Reply 818 of 1011, by mwdmeyer

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
Limpem wrote on 2021-06-25, 11:33:

Can anyone test if the powerVR at 80Mhz allows Tomb Raider to run at a stable 30 FPS at 1024x768?
I would consider modding my own PCX2 if it does 😁

Yeah I can test. Does Tomb Raider have a built in benchmark? Is there a demo I can use/download? Never really played it!

Vogons Wiki - http://vogonswiki.com

Reply 819 of 1011, by Limpem

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Thanks! 😁
Tomb Raider doesn't have a built-in benchmark, but you can display the current fps (I think with F3 but it might be F4 or F2 on the keyboard).
There is a frame-limit of 30FPS, but especially in larger area's the framerate drops to 20'ish on my system at 1024x768.
It's possible to improve performance with single-buffering (I think F9) which makes it better, but I am very curious if the higher clocks would solve this as well 😁

430HX/P1 233MMX/64MB/S3VirgeDX,Voodoo1SLI(King Shaman)/AWE32
440BX/CelTualatin1400/512MB/Banshee, PowerVR PCX2/AWE64Gold
645DX/P4Northwood 3,5Ghz(Oc)/512MB/Voodoo5500/Vortex2
875P/P4EE 3,4Ghz/1GB/GeforceFX5950/Audigy2ZS
Z97/i3-4370/16GB/GeforceGTX960/X-Fi