VOGONS


My 3DMark01 Mega Thread

Topic actions

Reply 780 of 801, by KT7AGuy

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

Benchmarking Win9x in a VM like QEMU or PCem is cheating, IMO. If you're going to do that, why limit yourself to a 7900 GTX? The rest of the system is nowhere near period-correct, so I'm curious to know the logic behind your choice of a semi-period-correct GPU like the 7900 GTX. Why not use the most powerful GPU you've got available to really juice up that score?

Reply 782 of 801, by KT7AGuy

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
SPBHM wrote on 2023-07-17, 00:57:

the correct graphics card is detected on 3dm01, isn't this some kind of pass-trough with proper drivers and usage of the videocard?
if that is the case, it's not really being emulated

If you need to use an emulator for cross-compilation and cross-debugging to get Win9x to see and use the physical hardware via a translated or interpreted layer, then yes, it's emulated.

And it's cheating.

Reply 783 of 801, by MrMateczko

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

Assuming he hasn't used any LOD cheats in 2001 SE, this puts him well ahead of the previous world record from 2016:
https://hwbot.org/submission/3228042_zafiropo … gtx_69807_marks

Though his Game 4 - Nature score is a lot higher, probably due to the LOD cheat...

I suppose scores from QEMU and Real Hardware should be treated separately...

With GPU passthrough, SoftGPU and [that project], those not interested in real hardware do have some options for going the Win9x VM route, which I think is fine, as long as there's a clear separation between VM and Real Hardware builds.

Reply 784 of 801, by Loganius

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
KT7AGuy wrote on 2023-07-16, 22:51:

Benchmarking Win9x in a VM like QEMU or PCem is cheating, IMO. If you're going to do that, why limit yourself to a 7900 GTX? The rest of the system is nowhere near period-correct, so I'm curious to know the logic behind your choice of a semi-period-correct GPU like the 7900 GTX. Why not use the most powerful GPU you've got available to really juice up that score?

Because there aren't drivers for anything better than a 7900 GTX. I've checked.
I'm not emulating a GPU using a 7900 GTX, I'm passing a 7900 GTX through to the VM.
And why? Because I doubt there is anyway to use or emulate anything faster. I mean, you can't pass through a GTX 1080 to 98 because there aren't drivers, there aren't drivers AFAIK for something like a virtio gpu, and any of the emulated cards in PCem or QEMU that are supported are (or should be based on their description) slower then a 7900 GTX.
I'd love to know if I'm wrong. It'd be very exciting for me if there is a way to harness the full horsepower of, say, an RTX 4090 in Windows 98.

KT7AGuy wrote on 2023-07-17, 01:14:

If you need to use an emulator for cross-compilation and cross-debugging to get Win9x to see and use the physical hardware via a translated or interpreted layer, then yes, it's emulated.

And it's cheating.

What do you even mean by that? I'm just using the vfio-pci device in QEMU. Truth be told, I just followed a tutorial from the Gentoo wiki. For transparency, I'll just go ahead and post my QEMU config.

MrMateczko wrote on 2023-07-18, 15:40:

Though his Game 4 - Nature score is a lot higher, probably due to the LOD cheat...

Also, what is the "LOD cheat"?
edit: Googling "LOD cheat" brought nothing useful (which is why I asked), but googling "LOD cheat 3dmark" brought me right to it. It all makes sense now.

Attachments

Reply 785 of 801, by Standard Def Steve

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
Loganius wrote on 2023-07-16, 22:14:
Might have just set the Win98SE 3DMark01 world record. Setup: VM in QEMU with: 1 core from a Ryzen 5 5600x @ 4.8GHz 16GB of RAM […]
Show full quote

Might have just set the Win98SE 3DMark01 world record.
Setup:
VM in QEMU with:
1 core from a Ryzen 5 5600x @ 4.8GHz
16GB of RAM (2GB of which is usable even with patchmem... yay)
NVIDIA 7900 GTX PCIe @ 695/875MHz (core/mem)

what I've learned from this is that 3DMark 01 is insanely CPU bottlenecked.

It's nice to see some more exotic configurations in this thread. 👍
That's a fantastic score! My gosh. As crazy CPU-limited as 3D'01 is, I'm guessing you're actually hitting the limits of the 7900 GTX there.

Just ran it on an RTX 4070/i7-8700 because I don't think I've benched this particular machine yet: 97130. So that's only 23K points more with a much faster GPU, slightly slower CPU, and no crazy VMs or GPU passthrough to potentially trim a couple thousand points off.

Edit: Also tried my 5GHz Ryzen 5900X. Surprisingly, it didn't score much higher than the 4.4GHz i7-8700. "Only" 101170. Was actually expecting a bit more, but I suspect that 3DMark01 doesn't like the dual CCD arrangement of the 5900X. A single CCD Ryzen would probably do a little better, especially one equipped with V-cache like the 5800X3D or 7800X3D.

Edit 2: Sheesh, this thread could use a clean up! Looks like most of my older pictures are either missing or have an ugly watermark over them. I still have most, if not all, on my file server, so I may try and re-up them when I get the time.

Edit 3: Actually, nope. 40 pages, and I was active on most of them. That'd just take way too much time.

94 MHz NEC VR4300 | SGI Reality CoPro | 8MB RDRAM | Each game gets its own SSD - nooice!

Reply 786 of 801, by matze79

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

P3 650 Slot1 @ 670Mhz
512Mb Reg ECC RAM
Radeon 9800 Pro

Actually i play Auquanox on it, in FullHD

p3.jpeg
Filename
p3.jpeg
File size
688.26 KiB
Views
1692 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

https://www.retrokits.de - blog, retro projects, hdd clicker, diy soundcards etc
https://www.retroianer.de - german retro computer board

Reply 787 of 801, by ciornyi

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
matze79 wrote on 2023-09-28, 20:28:
P3 650 Slot1 @ 670Mhz 512Mb Reg ECC RAM Radeon 9800 Pro […]
Show full quote

P3 650 Slot1 @ 670Mhz
512Mb Reg ECC RAM
Radeon 9800 Pro

Actually i play Auquanox on it, in FullHD

p3.jpeg

Actually it has to be shown around 18k score with proper cpu anyway its interesting combination

DOS: 166mmx/16mb/Y719/S3virge
DOS/95: PII333/128mb/AWE64/TNT2M64
Win98: P3_900/256mb/SB live/3dfx V3
Win Me: Athlon 1700+/512mb/Audigy2/Geforce 3Ti200
Win XP: E8600/4096mb/SB X-fi/HD6850

Reply 788 of 801, by Warlord

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

Asus P4P800SE
Pentium M 1.86 ghz - OC 2 ghgz
5900XT 390mhz/700mhz - OC 450mhz/800mhz
DDR400 OC 500mhz

18702

Attachments

Reply 790 of 801, by Alan Nolath

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Motherboard - Asrock P4i65G
CPU - Pentium IV Prescott 3.2Ghz HT (PGA478)
RAM - Kingston 512Mb x2 ddr (Dual Channel)
GPU - Ati Radeon x1950 Pro AGP 512mb GDDR3 (Slightly OC with ati overdrive autotune)
Windows xP Home Edition SP3 32bit
[Hello! this it's my first post in VOGONS, i will appreciate opinions about the score... i'm newbie and i guess the gpu has bottleneck or is okay]

Attachments

Reply 791 of 801, by Aebtdom

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

AMD Phenom II X4 980 stock at 3,7Ghz
2GB DDR2 pc1066
AM2NF3-VSTA AM2 mainboard.
Ati Radeon X1950Pro AGP 8x.
Windows XP

Attachments

  • 20231012_233433.jpg
    Filename
    20231012_233433.jpg
    File size
    1.76 MiB
    Views
    1414 views
    File license
    Fair use/fair dealing exception

Builds:

Xp3000+ gf3 ti200 + vd2 SLI 12MB + 768MB + SB live @ WinXP & 98 Dualboot.

P2 350mhz + Diamond Viper V550 + 3Dfx Voodoo 2 12MB + AWE64 + 128MB SDR @ msdos / win98.

Reply 792 of 801, by Imperious

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
Alan Nolath wrote on 2023-10-17, 02:21:
Motherboard - Asrock P4i65G CPU - Pentium IV Prescott 3.2Ghz HT (PGA478) RAM - Kingston 512Mb x2 ddr (Dual Channel) GPU - Ati R […]
Show full quote

Motherboard - Asrock P4i65G
CPU - Pentium IV Prescott 3.2Ghz HT (PGA478)
RAM - Kingston 512Mb x2 ddr (Dual Channel)
GPU - Ati Radeon x1950 Pro AGP 512mb GDDR3 (Slightly OC with ati overdrive autotune)
Windows xP Home Edition SP3 32bit
[Hello! this it's my first post in VOGONS, i will appreciate opinions about the score... i'm newbie and i guess the gpu has bottleneck or is okay]

It seems about right to me. That's about on par with scores I achieved with a Northwood 3.2. I have a HD3850 which only really gets higher scores due to the Nature Benchmark.

Atari 2600, TI994a, Vic20, c64, ZX Spectrum 128, Amstrad CPC464, Atari 65XE, Commodore Plus/4, Amiga 500
PC's from XT 8088, 486, Pentium MMX, K6, Athlon, P3, P4, 775, to current Ryzen 5600x.

Reply 794 of 801, by Alan Nolath

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
Imperious wrote on 2023-10-20, 00:14:
Alan Nolath wrote on 2023-10-17, 02:21:
Motherboard - Asrock P4i65G CPU - Pentium IV Prescott 3.2Ghz HT (PGA478) RAM - Kingston 512Mb x2 ddr (Dual Channel) GPU - Ati R […]
Show full quote

Motherboard - Asrock P4i65G
CPU - Pentium IV Prescott 3.2Ghz HT (PGA478)
RAM - Kingston 512Mb x2 ddr (Dual Channel)
GPU - Ati Radeon x1950 Pro AGP 512mb GDDR3 (Slightly OC with ati overdrive autotune)
Windows xP Home Edition SP3 32bit
[Hello! this it's my first post in VOGONS, i will appreciate opinions about the score... i'm newbie and i guess the gpu has bottleneck or is okay]

It seems about right to me. That's about on par with scores I achieved with a Northwood 3.2. I have a HD3850 which only really gets higher scores due to the Nature Benchmark.

Thanks for the opinion guys. I'm not expert in benchmarks

Reply 795 of 801, by Imperious

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

I did these a while back. P4 northwood OC'd to 3.6ghz, 7800 GS and HD3850

Attachments

  • 3dmark2001g.JPG
    Filename
    3dmark2001g.JPG
    File size
    321.9 KiB
    Views
    1320 views
    File license
    Public domain
  • 3dmark2001f.JPG
    Filename
    3dmark2001f.JPG
    File size
    231.94 KiB
    Views
    1320 views
    File license
    Public domain

Atari 2600, TI994a, Vic20, c64, ZX Spectrum 128, Amstrad CPC464, Atari 65XE, Commodore Plus/4, Amiga 500
PC's from XT 8088, 486, Pentium MMX, K6, Athlon, P3, P4, 775, to current Ryzen 5600x.

Reply 797 of 801, by matze79

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
ciornyi wrote on 2023-09-29, 10:30:
matze79 wrote on 2023-09-28, 20:28:
P3 650 Slot1 @ 670Mhz 512Mb Reg ECC RAM Radeon 9800 Pro […]
Show full quote

P3 650 Slot1 @ 670Mhz
512Mb Reg ECC RAM
Radeon 9800 Pro

Actually i play Auquanox on it, in FullHD

p3.jpeg

Actually it has to be shown around 18k score with proper cpu anyway its interesting combination

Yeah i switched the CPU for fastet 100Mhz Coppermine.
Now its running 1,1Ghz and 7853 3Dmark 2001's.

https://www.retrokits.de - blog, retro projects, hdd clicker, diy soundcards etc
https://www.retroianer.de - german retro computer board

Reply 798 of 801, by Shagittarius

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

Here's a 4090 with my 12900. It scored lower than the 3090 with the same CPU, im sure its just driver differences and possibly new windows code that causes the difference. At this point only the CPU really seems to matter.

4090_2001SE.jpg
Filename
4090_2001SE.jpg
File size
280.38 KiB
Views
1031 views
File license
CC-BY-4.0