VOGONS


AGP Pro and Voodoo 5 voltages

Topic actions

First post, by JayAlien

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Hi All,
I have a Pentium 3 system with a Voodoo 3 PCI, and I’m upgrading it to a Voodoo 5 AGP

I remember back when I had a V5 that there are some different voltages available on the different AGP iterations. I believe the Voodoo 5 AGP is a 3.3V card. My motherboard is an ASUS CUV4X-M branded as a Medion 2001 with an AGP-Pro slot. I have the manual, but I can’t seem to get a definitive answer on the voltage on the AGP slot. The AGP-Pro specifications, specify both 1.5V and 3.3V as options for AGP-Pro slot.

Does anyone know of this motherboard and Voodoo 5 are compatible, or am I going to fry something?
Thanks,
J

DOS: P75, SB32, Adlib, 8MB
DOS: P100, S3 Virge DX, AWE64, 32MB
98SE: P233MMX, Rage128Pro, AWE64, 128MB
98SE: P3-1Ghz, Voodoo3, SBLive, 256MB
98SE: Athlon3200+, X850pro, Audigy2ZS, 512MB
2K: P4 3.4G, 6800XT, Audigy2, 1GB
XP: i7-975, GTX570, X-Fi, 3GB

Reply 1 of 41, by igna78

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Hi, your motherboard is equipped with universal agp pro slot so it can supply 3.3V and 1.5V power

Then you can safely plug in your V5500, which by the way will need to be powered extra via molex

For more informati in about agp slot: https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Accelerated_Graphics_Port

Reply 2 of 41, by Aebtdom

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

With a quick search on the mainboard i found out on the asus website that the mainboard has an agp 4x pro slot. Thus it will handle the voodoo 5 just fine. Since agp 4x is backwards compatible with 2x and 1x. Handling 3,3V without a problem.
The pro extension is for extra power need for professional cards of that age.

Last edited by Aebtdom on 2021-04-10, 17:56. Edited 1 time in total.

AMD XP2400+, 768MB DDR 333, GA-7VRXP KT333
Diamond Viper V770 Ultra
3Dfx Voodoo 2 12MB SLI
SATA 150 TXII + 80GB WD SATA, 40GB WD IDE, Creative SB Live
Win98 SE Dx9.0c, IIyama Vision Master 1451 19"

Reply 3 of 41, by igna78

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
Aebtdom wrote on 2021-04-10, 17:39:

With a quick search on the mainboard i found out on the asus website that the mainboard has an agp 4x pro slot. Thus it will handle the voodoo 5 just fine (the agp ver. 2.0 in fact does not allow to use the V5500 also for slot coding).
The pro extension is for extra power need for professional cards of that age.

Be careful not to get confused!
The speed of the agp slot up to 4x (characteristic of the agp ver. 2.0, which has the voltage 1,5V as another characteristic) does not guarantee the support of the V5500
The support is guaranteed by the voltage provided by the slot or 3.3V (characteristic of the agp ver. 1.0 which has a max speed of 2x)

For more info see the slot indicated in my previous post

Last edited by igna78 on 2021-04-10, 17:54. Edited 1 time in total.

Reply 4 of 41, by JayAlien

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

igna78, Aebtdom,
Thank you both for your answers, I was hoping this was the case, you've put my mind at ease 😀
Thanks!

DOS: P75, SB32, Adlib, 8MB
DOS: P100, S3 Virge DX, AWE64, 32MB
98SE: P233MMX, Rage128Pro, AWE64, 128MB
98SE: P3-1Ghz, Voodoo3, SBLive, 256MB
98SE: Athlon3200+, X850pro, Audigy2ZS, 512MB
2K: P4 3.4G, 6800XT, Audigy2, 1GB
XP: i7-975, GTX570, X-Fi, 3GB

Reply 6 of 41, by Aebtdom

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

Just to make everything even more clear.

If it is not compatible it probably wont fit.
Here some pictures to prove the sceptics that it will work just fine.

Screenshot_20210410-200543_Samsung Internet.jpg
Filename
Screenshot_20210410-200543_Samsung Internet.jpg
File size
40.3 KiB
Views
651 views
File comment
Agp compatibility differences.
File license
Public domain
Screenshot_20210410-200744_Samsung Internet.jpg
Filename
Screenshot_20210410-200744_Samsung Internet.jpg
File size
103.1 KiB
Views
651 views
File comment
Agp pro slot on the mainboard in question is universal
File license
Public domain

AMD XP2400+, 768MB DDR 333, GA-7VRXP KT333
Diamond Viper V770 Ultra
3Dfx Voodoo 2 12MB SLI
SATA 150 TXII + 80GB WD SATA, 40GB WD IDE, Creative SB Live
Win98 SE Dx9.0c, IIyama Vision Master 1451 19"

Reply 7 of 41, by JayAlien

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

In my original message I stated:

'ASUS CUV4X-M branded as a Medion 2001 with an AGP-Pro slot'

Upon digging, I think I'm slightly off, I should have said:

'ASUS CUV4X-CM branded as a Medion 2001 with an AGP 4x Slot'

Looking at the diagram above, the slot appears to be an AGP Universal (non-pro).

Does this change anything being that it's still a universal slot?
Thanks,
J

DOS: P75, SB32, Adlib, 8MB
DOS: P100, S3 Virge DX, AWE64, 32MB
98SE: P233MMX, Rage128Pro, AWE64, 128MB
98SE: P3-1Ghz, Voodoo3, SBLive, 256MB
98SE: Athlon3200+, X850pro, Audigy2ZS, 512MB
2K: P4 3.4G, 6800XT, Audigy2, 1GB
XP: i7-975, GTX570, X-Fi, 3GB

Reply 8 of 41, by kolderman

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
Aebtdom wrote on 2021-04-10, 18:10:
Just to make everything even more clear. […]
Show full quote

Just to make everything even more clear.

If it is not compatible it probably wont fit.
Here some pictures to prove the sceptics that it will work just fine.
Screenshot_20210410-200543_Samsung Internet.jpg

Screenshot_20210410-200744_Samsung Internet.jpg

If it's a universal slot it will fit but still no guarantee of 3.3v. Personally I think crazy not to test with a burner card given value of Voodoo 5.

Reply 9 of 41, by igna78

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

So your card is basically an Asus CUV4X-C, the chipset is Via Apollo Pro133A, the AGP slot is universal and supports 1.5V and 3.3V up to max speed 4x (so Agp ver. 1.0 and 2.0).

Indeed, at that time, the industries to recover components that would otherwise have been lost, recycled universal agp slots even on motherboards that only supported AGP ver. 2.0 therefore with power supply voltage 1,5V and max speed 4x (for example the Abit SG-70 socket 478 motherboard, mounts a universal Agp slot, but in fact the powered is only compliant with the 2.0 standard so it is 1.5V)

Just to clarify, if you mount a V5500 in a universal slot powered only at 1.5V you will not burn anything (the V5500 in fact draws most of the power from the molex), it will just work one VSA chip, so the card will work for 2D but not for 3D or it will do very badly (the two chips on the board in fact work in sli, if one doesn't work ... I let you imagine what happens).

On the contrary, if you mount a VGA agp ver. 2.0 then to be powered only at 1.5V in a slot powered at 3.3V you burn the card (at the beginning of the coexistence of the two standards and the various slots, I remember reading about some cards with the badly coded insertion comb .. Obviously the card also ended badly).

I hope I have clarified the matter 😉

Reply 10 of 41, by JayAlien

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Totally agree with not putting the V5 at risk, kolderman, but don’t really want to risk the mobo either, not a fan of ‘Try it, and see if I fry it’. 😀
It looks like I have a number of options:
1. Know for certain if the board will handle a V5 @ 3.3V - igna78’s post confirms it is - thanks
2. Use another board on-hand –
a. I’ve got an ASUS TUSL2-C with a Tualatin 1.4 on my bench – manual states AGP universal 4x compatible with 2x, and the default jumper on the board for DRAM, chipset, AGP and PCI is set at a default of 3.4V
3. Buy a board that is known V5 compatible

Edit: hadn't seen igna78’s latest post - thanks!

DOS: P75, SB32, Adlib, 8MB
DOS: P100, S3 Virge DX, AWE64, 32MB
98SE: P233MMX, Rage128Pro, AWE64, 128MB
98SE: P3-1Ghz, Voodoo3, SBLive, 256MB
98SE: Athlon3200+, X850pro, Audigy2ZS, 512MB
2K: P4 3.4G, 6800XT, Audigy2, 1GB
XP: i7-975, GTX570, X-Fi, 3GB

Reply 11 of 41, by igna78

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

If you want to make sure your V5500 works great and is safe, use an Abit slot1 or socket370 motherboard .. they all have the agp slot powered at 3.3V (or at most 1.5V and 3.3V).
The only FUNDAMENTAL thing, make sure the capacitors are in good condition or have recently been replaced (they are capacitors that are now 20 years old or more, and at the start they weren't even great).

On the Abit cards I can give you many tips (I have a large collection and the I have used and use them for my retro builds)
😉

Reply 12 of 41, by kolderman

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
JayAlien wrote on 2021-04-10, 22:23:
Totally agree with not putting the V5 at risk, kolderman, but don’t really want to risk the mobo either, not a fan of ‘Try it, a […]
Show full quote

Totally agree with not putting the V5 at risk, kolderman, but don’t really want to risk the mobo either, not a fan of ‘Try it, and see if I fry it’. 😀
It looks like I have a number of options:
1. Know for certain if the board will handle a V5 @ 3.3V - igna78’s post confirms it is - thanks
2. Use another board on-hand –
a. I’ve got an ASUS TUSL2-C with a Tualatin 1.4 on my bench – manual states AGP universal 4x compatible with 2x, and the default jumper on the board for DRAM, chipset, AGP and PCI is set at a default of 3.4V
3. Buy a board that is known V5 compatible

Edit: hadn't seen igna78’s latest post - thanks!

I would not take random strangers advice on what boards support what. Unless they have an identical model and can vouch for it. The chipset and presence of uAGP does not guarantee it, although just about all socket 7 boards will support 3.3v. The challenging ones are socket A where it's really hit and miss.

Reply 13 of 41, by Gamecollector

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

IIRC "AGP 2.0 only MBs with the universal AGP slot" cases were a) Intel chipsets only and b) Pentium 4 chipsets only (850 and 845).

igna78 wrote on 2021-04-10, 21:39:

Just to clarify, if you mount a V5500 in a universal slot powered only at 1.5V you will not burn anything

Testing your luck can be dangerous. 😀
Theoretically all AGP 1.0 videocards must use the Vddq level as the maximum level for all output signals. You install an AGP 1.0 videocard in a AGP 2.0 only MB, the Vddq is 1.5 V, the videocard not works correctly but all outputs are within the 1.5 V boundary. And you can't burn your MB.
Practically... "Uncle Liao and C°" can use different hands.sys drivers... And a videocard can ignore the Vddq level then use Vcc 3.3 as the maximum. 3.3 V, constantly.
Most Intel 845 MBs with the universal AGP slot were fried.

Asus P4P800 SE/Pentium4 3.2E/2 Gb DDR400B,
Radeon HD3850 Agp (Sapphire), Catalyst 14.4 (XpProSp3).
Voodoo2 12 MB SLI, Win2k drivers 1.02.00 (XpProSp3).

Reply 14 of 41, by The Serpent Rider

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

AGP 2.0 only MBs with the universal AGP slot" cases were a) Intel chipsets only and b) Pentium 4 chipsets only (850 and 845).

Also late SIS and VIA motherboards for P4.

Get up, come on get down with the sickness
Open up your hate, and let it flow into me

Reply 15 of 41, by igna78

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

I read many opinions and would like to ask all of you opinion leaders:

Do you have V5500? (well I have three, one of which is a V5800 by oskar)

Do you have Asus or Abit motherboards, slot1 or socket370? (well I have boxes full of them and I know their strengths and weaknesses)

With these questions I ask you, what experience do you have on socket7 / super socket7, slot1 and socket370 systems?
.. excuse me but from certain answers I have read, you can see that you have confused ideas.

The super socket7 cards (because these were with agp slots and not the socket7 systems which only had pci slots), were compliant with the agp 1.0 standard with 3.3V supply voltage
However, it is true that despite having the right power supply voltage, often (for productive saving choices) they did not guarantee adequate power (read watts) therefore cards that required more power were poorly powered with all the resulting problems.

The system specification slot1 cards are all AGP 1.0 with 3.3V supply voltage
In these cards, especially if Asus or Abit and if the chipset is Intel and if not damaged by time or badly used, there is always an adequate power supply.
In the cheap cards or with the Via, Sis chipset, sometimes despite having 3.3V of voltage, the power is lacking - watts - so the most demanding cards could have operating problems, with the exception of those, such as power supply via molex which absorb the most part of the power needed by the molex.

Socket 370 cards generally have compatible 1.0 and 2.0 specific uAgp slots
Specifically if they have Intel chipsets will then be without Isa slots while in the case of Via chipsets they will still have Isa slots (I don't remember cards with Sis chipsets, but it is also true that at the time they did not interest me).

Finally a note on socket 478 cards
In these cards, see Abit SG-70, it is sometimes possible to find a uAgp slot and a chipset compatible with Agp 1.0 and 2.0 specifications, BUT in reality the power supplied to the slot is only 1.5V
Logical in these cases the cards that need 3.3V power supply will not work or will work badly with possible damage to the agp slot.

The Asus CUV4X-C of which news was asked, is a card for P3 coppermine, based on Via Apollo Pro133A chipset, without Isa slot (Asus prematurely eliminated the Isa slot, present instead in the first model of the CUV4X series) with uAgp slot compliant 1.0 and 2.0

Please, if we have certain news and not suppositions or theories, to correct any of my errors

Reply 16 of 41, by kolderman

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

I have only one recommendation for Voodoo5 - the KT333 mobo with SocketA. It's era comparable, high performance enough to max out the Voodoo5, and obviously supports 3.3v on most KT333 mobos. This is my setup (along with a Athlon XP 3200+ and a Vortex2). Which KT333 is the best? There are several but I like the ASUS A7v333.

Reply 17 of 41, by Aebtdom

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
kolderman wrote on 2021-04-11, 09:56:

I have only one recommendation for Voodoo5 - the KT333 mobo with SocketA. It's era comparable, high performance enough to max out the Voodoo5, and obviously supports 3.3v on most KT333 mobos. This is my setup (along with a Athlon XP 3200+ and a Vortex2). Which KT333 is the best? There are several but I like the ASUS A7v333.

What mainboard are you using?
The a7v333 only goes up to an xp3000+ and only supports a 1,5V agp card and certainly no v5 5500 agp. The slot even prevents it from being used with this card.

As for the discussion on topic...
The manual says enough does it not?

Screenshot_20210411-122646_Drive.jpg
Filename
Screenshot_20210411-122646_Drive.jpg
File size
51.92 KiB
Views
474 views
File comment
CUV4X-M manual screenshot.
File license
Public domain

AMD XP2400+, 768MB DDR 333, GA-7VRXP KT333
Diamond Viper V770 Ultra
3Dfx Voodoo 2 12MB SLI
SATA 150 TXII + 80GB WD SATA, 40GB WD IDE, Creative SB Live
Win98 SE Dx9.0c, IIyama Vision Master 1451 19"

Reply 18 of 41, by The Serpent Rider

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

The a7v333 only goes up to an xp3000+ and only supports a 1,5V agp card

Wrong. That's A7V333-X.

Get up, come on get down with the sickness
Open up your hate, and let it flow into me

Reply 19 of 41, by Aebtdom

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

Ah sorry, I see that the non X version supports also 3.3volts cards and up to xp3000+ since the xp3200+ is a 200mhz fsb cpu.

AMD XP2400+, 768MB DDR 333, GA-7VRXP KT333
Diamond Viper V770 Ultra
3Dfx Voodoo 2 12MB SLI
SATA 150 TXII + 80GB WD SATA, 40GB WD IDE, Creative SB Live
Win98 SE Dx9.0c, IIyama Vision Master 1451 19"