VOGONS


Reply 20 of 43, by misterjones

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

I have a Tyan Tiger MP (S2460) in storage. In the past I've always used it with a Geforce 2MX board running XP SP3, but that's mainly because I didn't do much in the way of gaming with it outside of a little Q3A and UT99. I'd like to think a Geforce 6-class board would probably be the best solution for it if you wanted to maintain Linux/BSD compatibility unless you went PCI instead of AGP, then you can get some pretty fast cards assuming your PSU is up to snuff.

Reply 21 of 43, by Gopher666

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
The Serpent Rider wrote on 2021-11-20, 21:54:

You're running it on blatantly unefficient driver version. 7800GS is performance is on par with 6800 Ultra.

So any suggestions for driver version then ? 😀

Reply 23 of 43, by candle_86

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
Brawndo wrote on 2021-10-24, 01:42:

The best you're going to do considering you're limited by AGP and Nvidia is a 6800 GT/Ultra. Personally I wouldn't pay the premium of an Ultra considering a GT is so close in performance. The last few 6800 GTs I saw sell on ebay went for $70-$80 USD. Not sure if that's a price you're willing to pay.

It's a shame you don't like ATI. I bought an X1950 Pro AGP for my early XP system for less than a Nvidia 6800 would have cost and it offers more performance. If you want the utmost performance for late XP era games, you should consider using a system with a more modern processor and chipset.

I wouldn't consider the 6800 Series at all for Athlon XP, I had an XP 3000 back in the day, and upgraded from a 5900XT to a 6800GT which yes it was an upgrade, but my CSS and Fear FPS was the same as my buddy with a 6600GT and an Athlon 64 3200. I'd say honestly 6600GT/9800Pro is about as fast as you want on an Athlon XP, beyond that they can't really drive the newer cards, granted you can up the details or AA/AF but the 6800 series as well as x800 series are more suited for Pentium 4 3ghz+ and Athlon 64 system

Reply 24 of 43, by Putas

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
candle_86 wrote on 2021-11-21, 22:58:
Brawndo wrote on 2021-10-24, 01:42:

The best you're going to do considering you're limited by AGP and Nvidia is a 6800 GT/Ultra. Personally I wouldn't pay the premium of an Ultra considering a GT is so close in performance. The last few 6800 GTs I saw sell on ebay went for $70-$80 USD. Not sure if that's a price you're willing to pay.

It's a shame you don't like ATI. I bought an X1950 Pro AGP for my early XP system for less than a Nvidia 6800 would have cost and it offers more performance. If you want the utmost performance for late XP era games, you should consider using a system with a more modern processor and chipset.

I wouldn't consider the 6800 Series at all for Athlon XP, I had an XP 3000 back in the day, and upgraded from a 5900XT to a 6800GT which yes it was an upgrade, but my CSS and Fear FPS was the same as my buddy with a 6600GT and an Athlon 64 3200. I'd say honestly 6600GT/9800Pro is about as fast as you want on an Athlon XP, beyond that they can't really drive the newer cards, granted you can up the details or AA/AF but the 6800 series as well as x800 series are more suited for Pentium 4 3ghz+ and Athlon 64 system

6600 GT is a slower card than 6800 GT. If you got the same FPS with a weaker CPU, it can obviously "drive" the card.

Reply 25 of 43, by candle_86

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
Putas wrote on 2021-11-22, 05:11:
candle_86 wrote on 2021-11-21, 22:58:
Brawndo wrote on 2021-10-24, 01:42:

The best you're going to do considering you're limited by AGP and Nvidia is a 6800 GT/Ultra. Personally I wouldn't pay the premium of an Ultra considering a GT is so close in performance. The last few 6800 GTs I saw sell on ebay went for $70-$80 USD. Not sure if that's a price you're willing to pay.

It's a shame you don't like ATI. I bought an X1950 Pro AGP for my early XP system for less than a Nvidia 6800 would have cost and it offers more performance. If you want the utmost performance for late XP era games, you should consider using a system with a more modern processor and chipset.

I wouldn't consider the 6800 Series at all for Athlon XP, I had an XP 3000 back in the day, and upgraded from a 5900XT to a 6800GT which yes it was an upgrade, but my CSS and Fear FPS was the same as my buddy with a 6600GT and an Athlon 64 3200. I'd say honestly 6600GT/9800Pro is about as fast as you want on an Athlon XP, beyond that they can't really drive the newer cards, granted you can up the details or AA/AF but the 6800 series as well as x800 series are more suited for Pentium 4 3ghz+ and Athlon 64 system

6600 GT is a slower card than 6800 GT. If you got the same FPS with a weaker CPU, it can obviously "drive" the card.

no if my FPS with a 6800GT and an Athlon XP3000 is the same as my buddy with an Athlon 64 and a 6600GT then it means the AXP can't drive the 6800GT, which isn't really suprising, the Athlon XP ran out of gas around mid 2003, the 2004 era cards where for A64/Pentium 4 HT which operated on a totally diffrent playing field from AthlonXP.

Reply 26 of 43, by Putas

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
candle_86 wrote on 2021-11-22, 05:51:

no if my FPS with a 6800GT and an Athlon XP3000 is the same as my buddy with an Athlon 64 and a 6600GT then it means the AXP can't drive the 6800GT, which isn't really suprising, the Athlon XP ran out of gas around mid 2003, the 2004 era cards where for A64/Pentium 4 HT which operated on a totally diffrent playing field from AthlonXP.

That seems to be an interesting lapse of reason.
Do you agree that with same graphics card framerates on the XP3000 would be smaller?

Reply 27 of 43, by cyclone3d

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++
Putas wrote on 2021-11-22, 06:11:
candle_86 wrote on 2021-11-22, 05:51:

no if my FPS with a 6800GT and an Athlon XP3000 is the same as my buddy with an Athlon 64 and a 6600GT then it means the AXP can't drive the 6800GT, which isn't really suprising, the Athlon XP ran out of gas around mid 2003, the 2004 era cards where for A64/Pentium 4 HT which operated on a totally diffrent playing field from AthlonXP.

That seems to be an interesting lapse of reason.
Do you agree that with same graphics card framerates on the XP3000 would be smaller?

You need a bit of punctuation to make that sentence readable.

Do you agree that, with same graphics card, framerates on the XP3000 would be smaller?

Yamaha YMF modified setupds and drivers
Yamaha XG resource repository - updated November 27, 2018
Yamaha YMF7x4 Guide
AW744L II - YMF744 - AOpen Cobra Sound Card - Install SB-Link Header

Reply 28 of 43, by candle_86

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
Putas wrote on 2021-11-22, 06:11:
candle_86 wrote on 2021-11-22, 05:51:

no if my FPS with a 6800GT and an Athlon XP3000 is the same as my buddy with an Athlon 64 and a 6600GT then it means the AXP can't drive the 6800GT, which isn't really suprising, the Athlon XP ran out of gas around mid 2003, the 2004 era cards where for A64/Pentium 4 HT which operated on a totally diffrent playing field from AthlonXP.

That seems to be an interesting lapse of reason.
Do you agree that with same graphics card framerates on the XP3000 would be smaller?

No what it implies is that the Athlon XP 3000 couldn't drive a 6800GT

Reply 29 of 43, by Putas

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
candle_86 wrote on 2021-11-22, 06:44:
Putas wrote on 2021-11-22, 06:11:
candle_86 wrote on 2021-11-22, 05:51:

no if my FPS with a 6800GT and an Athlon XP3000 is the same as my buddy with an Athlon 64 and a 6600GT then it means the AXP can't drive the 6800GT, which isn't really suprising, the Athlon XP ran out of gas around mid 2003, the 2004 era cards where for A64/Pentium 4 HT which operated on a totally diffrent playing field from AthlonXP.

That seems to be an interesting lapse of reason.
Do you agree that with same graphics card framerates on the XP3000 would be smaller?

No what it implies is that the Athlon XP 3000 couldn't drive a 6800GT

Since you benefitted from the 6800GT the implication is the opposite.

Reply 30 of 43, by candle_86

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
Putas wrote on 2021-11-22, 11:14:
candle_86 wrote on 2021-11-22, 06:44:
Putas wrote on 2021-11-22, 06:11:

That seems to be an interesting lapse of reason.
Do you agree that with same graphics card framerates on the XP3000 would be smaller?

No what it implies is that the Athlon XP 3000 couldn't drive a 6800GT

Since you benefitted from the 6800GT the implication is the opposite.

No its really not, I'm not sure what your missing here, my 6800GT preformed no better than a 6600GT, if i wanted it faster I would have needed a faster cpu

Reply 31 of 43, by Gopher666

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Hmm I give a shot to: 93.71_forceware_winxp2k_international_whql.exe

Its pretty much the same results, 3dmark crashes, fps in games not improved and even worse some games like Cod2 now randomly crash.
I not just uninstalled the old driver and reinstalled the new driver btw. I restored the system from pre-driver state with partimage.

Reply 32 of 43, by Putas

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
candle_86 wrote on 2021-11-22, 13:45:
Putas wrote on 2021-11-22, 11:14:
candle_86 wrote on 2021-11-22, 06:44:

No what it implies is that the Athlon XP 3000 couldn't drive a 6800GT

Since you benefitted from the 6800GT the implication is the opposite.

No its really not, I'm not sure what your missing here, my 6800GT preformed no better than a 6600GT, if i wanted it faster I would have needed a faster cpu

Oh, I see. Your CPU can "drive it", just not fast enough to outperform the other system.
If the other system was in other ways equal to yours, you might have a point. But it is not.

Reply 33 of 43, by candle_86

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
Putas wrote on 2021-11-22, 15:37:
candle_86 wrote on 2021-11-22, 13:45:
Putas wrote on 2021-11-22, 11:14:

Since you benefitted from the 6800GT the implication is the opposite.

No its really not, I'm not sure what your missing here, my 6800GT preformed no better than a 6600GT, if i wanted it faster I would have needed a faster cpu

Oh, I see. Your CPU can "drive it", just not fast enough to outperform the other system.
If the other system was in other ways equal to yours, you might have a point. But it is not.

No the other system had a much better CPU, the Athlon 64 is much faster than the Athlon XP, it shows the bottleneck exists, and the only way to truely put the 6800GT to work I'd have needed something better than an XP 3000

Reply 34 of 43, by agent_x007

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
Doom 3.png
Filename
Doom 3.png
File size
25.41 KiB
Views
388 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

NV driver : 93.71
ATI driver : 9.1 (DX9-class) + 10.2 (DX10-class)

3DMark 03.png
Filename
3DMark 03.png
File size
29.67 KiB
Views
385 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

vs.

3DMark 03.PNG
Filename
3DMark 03.PNG
File size
1.04 MiB
Views
385 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

Athlon XP is fine... if you REALLY push it, but that's not really an option on most boards.
Socket A platform :

cachemem.png
Filename
cachemem.png
File size
129.06 KiB
Views
382 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

157143230295.png

Reply 35 of 43, by Gopher666

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

cpuid.png
cachemem.png

Why is this crap saying that the cpus are like 800Mhz?
Also with this board a lot of readouts in aida are weird like it says somewhere that the second cpu is intel 😁
Either way with this board there is no way to do any overclocking in the bios unfortunately.

Reply 36 of 43, by matze79

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

i played Morrowind on Pentium 3..
your System is a lot better.
There is something really miss configured.

https://dosreloaded.de - The German Retro DOS PC Community
https://www.retroianer.de - under constructing since ever

Co2 - for a endless Summer

Reply 37 of 43, by havli

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
Gopher666 wrote on 2021-11-22, 19:29:

Why is this crap saying that the cpus are like 800Mhz?
Also with this board a lot of readouts in aida are weird like it says somewhere that the second cpu is intel 😁
Either way with this board there is no way to do any overclocking in the bios unfortunately.

While this board (and chipset) is one of the slowest ones for S462, it should still run much better. Perhaps running Bartons on this board is not the best idea. Something is wrong there, most likely the board doesn't set the multiplier correctly. You need to either figure out how to set the correct one. Or try Palomino Athlons, that is safe bet compatibility wise.

HW museum.cz - my collection of PC hardware

Reply 38 of 43, by cyclone3d

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++
havli wrote on 2021-11-22, 20:09:
Gopher666 wrote on 2021-11-22, 19:29:

Why is this crap saying that the cpus are like 800Mhz?
Also with this board a lot of readouts in aida are weird like it says somewhere that the second cpu is intel 😁
Either way with this board there is no way to do any overclocking in the bios unfortunately.

While this board (and chipset) is one of the slowest ones for S462, it should still run much better. Perhaps running Bartons on this board is not the best idea. Something is wrong there, most likely the board doesn't set the multiplier correctly. You need to either figure out how to set the correct one. Or try Palomino Athlons, that is safe bet compatibility wise.

That would make sense... You may be able to do a socket wire mod to enable the higher multipliers... Easy as putting a single strand of wire in one or two places in the socket.

Yamaha YMF modified setupds and drivers
Yamaha XG resource repository - updated November 27, 2018
Yamaha YMF7x4 Guide
AW744L II - YMF744 - AOpen Cobra Sound Card - Install SB-Link Header

Reply 39 of 43, by Gopher666

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

So you say that these CPUs are actually running on 800Mhz for real? 😦
Can you please share that wire hack if I kill the cpus then I try that Palomino version I don't really want to buy additional hardware for this box but I'm all open for ideas.