VOGONS

First post, by CoolDoomer

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank

Good evening!
I am a bit of a noob when it comes to old hardware. I have a Socket 7 computer, with Jetway 530BF motherboard that doesn't have AGP ports, and I was thinking what PCI video card would be the best to buy.
I would like to hear some opinions on what would be good cards to buy?

I found in my location these video cards:

• Matrox MGA-2164W (Millennium II), it doesn't have memory expansion on it
  • Matrox 844-00 REV.A PCI, 8mb, cant find too much information about it
  • matrox 590-02 REV.B PCI, 4mb
  • Diamond Stealth 64 + Diamond MVP 2000, dont know the video memory size
  • S3 Virge DX 4MB
  • nVidia TNT2 M64 16MB PCI - the most expensive one, at around $100

I would like to be a at least a good video card for 2D games like Megaman X4 and have decent colours. I am thinking of using it with Early Windows 9x + DOS games. Not too keen on 3dfx for now.

Reply 1 of 5, by Shponglefan

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

As a good resource, there is a list of cards (AGP and PCI) and DOS compatibility here: https://gona.mactar.hu/DOS_TESTS/

This can provide some guidance in terms of what to expect with different cards and DOS compatibility with specific games.

Insofar as recommendations, it depends on what games you want to play. If you plan any sort of 3D accelerated games, then a TNT or TNT2 based card would be my recommendation. They still will have good 2D performance and generally good DOS compatibility.

If all you care about is 2D performance and compatibility then an S3 based card should suffice. I use an S3 Trio64V+ in my Socket 7 Pentium 133 build and it works just fine under DOS. Though I admittedly do not use this system with Windows.

Pentium 4 Multi-OS Build
486 DX4-100 with 6 sound cards
486 DX-33 with 5 sound cards

Reply 2 of 5, by Gmlb256

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

Hello!

There are only two cards that meets your needs: