ABC Sports IndyCar not working on Win7 x64

Getting old Windows games working.

ABC Sports IndyCar not working on Win7 x64

Postby filipetolhuizen » 2019-5-12 @ 00:51

Anyone here got this game to work? Don't know if it's a driver issue, but I'm using the lastest drivers that support my card (GTX460 - 391.35). Using the recommended compatibility mode (Win98 + 640x480x16) that is said to work on Win10 doesn't work for me. It just crashes with the error message that it stopped working right upon launch. The game's installer is 16-bit, but is Installshield, which works fine. IIRC it was working fine on Win7 x86 on the same machine. Rest of the hardware includes 16GB RAM, SB X-Fi Fatal1ty. I even tried using dgvoodoo2, but it didn't make a difference. Anything else I should try?
User avatar
filipetolhuizen
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1192
Joined: 2006-10-24 @ 02:25
Location: Curitiba, Brazil

Re: ABC Sports IndyCar not working on Win7 x64

Postby VirtuaIceMan » 2019-5-26 @ 19:15

I've got it working on Win10 64bit but it's a bit of a pain. I'll check out my settings in a bit.
My PC spec: Win10 64bit, i7-4970K (not overclocked) MSI Nvidia GeForce GTX 980, Creative Soundblaster ZXr, 16GB RAM, Asus Z97-A motherboard, NZXT 410 case, ROG Swift GSYNC monitor
User avatar
VirtuaIceMan
Oldbie
 
Posts: 926
Joined: 2003-12-22 @ 00:57

Re: ABC Sports IndyCar not working on Win7 x64

Postby VirtuaIceMan » 2019-5-26 @ 21:50

I'm running it with compatibility mode Reduced colour mode: 16-bit. I'm using dgVoodoo2 against it (2.54 but probably works on later ones). I do have d3drm.dll in the game folder too, it might use that.
My PC spec: Win10 64bit, i7-4970K (not overclocked) MSI Nvidia GeForce GTX 980, Creative Soundblaster ZXr, 16GB RAM, Asus Z97-A motherboard, NZXT 410 case, ROG Swift GSYNC monitor
User avatar
VirtuaIceMan
Oldbie
 
Posts: 926
Joined: 2003-12-22 @ 00:57

Re: ABC Sports IndyCar not working on Win7 x64

Postby filipetolhuizen » 2019-6-15 @ 14:50

VirtuaIceMan wrote:I'm running it with compatibility mode Reduced colour mode: 16-bit. I'm using dgVoodoo2 against it (2.54 but probably works on later ones). I do have d3drm.dll in the game folder too, it might use that.

I was already using all of it together but the game still refuses to run.
User avatar
filipetolhuizen
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1192
Joined: 2006-10-24 @ 02:25
Location: Curitiba, Brazil

Re: ABC Sports IndyCar not working on Win7 x64

Postby filipetolhuizen » 2019-10-06 @ 17:29

Anything else I should try?
User avatar
filipetolhuizen
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1192
Joined: 2006-10-24 @ 02:25
Location: Curitiba, Brazil

Re: ABC Sports IndyCar not working on Win7 x64

Postby mrpenguinb » 2019-10-07 @ 10:32

filipetolhuizen wrote:Anything else I should try?

I had to set my display resolution in Windows 7 (64-bit btw) to 16-bit High Colour. It is a nusiance to do so manually each time you want to play the game.
I also had to install the d3drm.dll from PCGamingWiki (Direct3D Retained Mode).
mrpenguinb
Newbie
 
Posts: 47
Joined: 2018-10-29 @ 08:11

Re: ABC Sports IndyCar not working on Win7 x64

Postby filipetolhuizen » 2019-10-07 @ 18:45

mrpenguinb wrote:
filipetolhuizen wrote:Anything else I should try?

I had to set my display resolution in Windows 7 (64-bit btw) to 16-bit High Colour. It is a nusiance to do so manually each time you want to play the game.
I also had to install the d3drm.dll from PCGamingWiki (Direct3D Retained Mode).

This is exactly what I'm doing right now, but the game still refuses to run.
This is all I get when I try to run it:
abc.png
User avatar
filipetolhuizen
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1192
Joined: 2006-10-24 @ 02:25
Location: Curitiba, Brazil

Re: ABC Sports IndyCar not working on Win7 x64

Postby mrpenguinb » 2019-10-07 @ 23:12

Have you modified any system files in SysWOW64 or System32? If you haven't, then get a new copy of the game somehow. Also run a System File Check and see if it comes up with any components missing, if it does then that is your answer.
mrpenguinb
Newbie
 
Posts: 47
Joined: 2018-10-29 @ 08:11

Re: ABC Sports IndyCar not working on Win7 x64

Postby filipetolhuizen » 2019-10-08 @ 00:53

Haven't replaced anything in those folders. The 2 copies I own give the same error. I'll run a system check to see if anything's missing, but up to now it's the only game that has been installed properly and is not working at all. I'm suspecting it's a video codec that might be causing this, since there's an intro video that relies on Indeo 4.0.
User avatar
filipetolhuizen
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1192
Joined: 2006-10-24 @ 02:25
Location: Curitiba, Brazil

Re: ABC Sports IndyCar not working on Win7 x64

Postby mrpenguinb » 2019-10-08 @ 07:27

filipetolhuizen wrote:Haven't replaced anything in those folders. The 2 copies I own give the same error. I'll run a system check to see if anything's missing, but up to now it's the only game that has been installed properly and is not working at all. I'm suspecting it's a video codec that might be causing this, since there's an intro video that relies on Indeo 4.0.

Ah, Indeo 4.0 may not be installed (it could be corrupt). Did the install process for the ActiveMovie setup error out and crash at all? It crashed for me, not sure if that contributed to anything.
I have installed the full K-Lite Codec pack, which is compensating for some missing codecs. I recommend you install K-Lite as well. If you don't want to install K-Lite, it will take longer to figure out what codec is missing/failing.
mrpenguinb
Newbie
 
Posts: 47
Joined: 2018-10-29 @ 08:11

Re: ABC Sports IndyCar not working on Win7 x64

Postby filipetolhuizen » 2019-10-08 @ 14:21

I'm sure I have a few codec packs installed (though I haven't installed all bundled codecs) MPC-HC recognizes Indeo 4.0 and is able to play Indycar's videos. I'll try fiddling with theirs installers again.
BTW: People with ABC Indycard working under Win7 64-bits, please post your config and drivers versions.
User avatar
filipetolhuizen
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1192
Joined: 2006-10-24 @ 02:25
Location: Curitiba, Brazil

Re: ABC Sports IndyCar not working on Win7 x64

Postby filipetolhuizen » 2019-10-08 @ 20:07

Just removed a custom fix I created in MS ACT and gave it a shot, and it ran out of the box. Guess I'll have to create another fix for it to help the frequent in-game-crashing.
User avatar
filipetolhuizen
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1192
Joined: 2006-10-24 @ 02:25
Location: Curitiba, Brazil

Re: ABC Sports IndyCar not working on Win7 x64

Postby filipetolhuizen » 2019-10-10 @ 19:45

This fix I created removes the nuisance of switching to 16-bit colour everytime (you'll have to play it in Windowed 640x480 to avoid garbled menu) but since it's forcing 640x480x16, it will seem to be running in full screen at full time already. It also fixes the low disk space message. Still needs some further testings for random crashes.
Attachments
indy.rar
ABC Indy fix
(603 Bytes) Downloaded 2 times
User avatar
filipetolhuizen
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1192
Joined: 2006-10-24 @ 02:25
Location: Curitiba, Brazil


Return to Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests