VOGONS

Common searches


Far Cry

Topic actions

Reply 360 of 367, by Kappa971

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

With this new build of DSOAL, Far Cry 32 bit appears to be using DirectSound3D/EAX3.0.

Attachments

  • Filename
    dsoal_07-02-2022.7z
    File size
    123.58 KiB
    Downloads
    25 downloads
    File license
    Public domain

Reply 361 of 367, by lowenz

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
Kappa971 wrote on 2022-02-07, 16:02:

With this new build of DSOAL, Far Cry 32 bit appears to be using DirectSound3D/EAX3.0.

EAX 3? Based on what? 😐 Where you see it?

Re-build my own binary (from the master) and I can't hear any reverb in the first level bunker.

Reply 362 of 367, by Kappa971

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

From the log file. Often reverb with DSOAL is inaudible, ALchemy seems to be the equivalent of "boost = +12" in DSOAL/OpenAL Soft.
Also in this game EAX is poorly designed but still DirectSound3D should work now.

EDIT
This is what solved the problem: https://github.com/kcat/dsoal/commit/e7a82d4f … 207199917d94167

Attachments

  • Filename
    dsoal_log.7z
    File size
    56.25 KiB
    Downloads
    12 downloads
    File license
    Public domain

Reply 363 of 367, by Kappa971

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

This is the Far Cry 64 bit log file. EAX is working??
I tried Level 2 Carrier with OpenAL Soft's reverb set to "boost =+12" (to be sure I hear it) and the reverb is there! So is EAX actually working with Far Cry 64 bit?? From my ears it would seem so (I also think the log file confirms this).

Attachments

  • Filename
    dsoal_log.zip
    File size
    104.82 KiB
    Downloads
    13 downloads
    File license
    Public domain

Reply 364 of 367, by Rubixzy

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
jonpol wrote on 2021-12-27, 16:42:
I have a theory after reading some of those posts you linked hehe. Some people say that they could run Far Cry once after reboot […]
Show full quote
mirh wrote on 2021-12-27, 15:55:

There was also much more going on, but I just wanted to point out that reverb must be there somewhere.

I don't really know how they possibly solved it in ALchemy once (it doesn't seem to be through the usual simple game profiles), but something can definitively be done for as much as it might be complex.

I have a theory after reading some of those posts you linked hehe. Some people say that they could run Far Cry once after rebooting, but then running it any subsequent times would result in missing sounds. I discovered back in the day that it's actually pretty easy to get my SoundBlaster into a state where EAX is enabled in some configuration and then stays that way until the machine is rebooted. For my own amusement I was able to run my own code, set it to something really echoey, and then run a real game (I was using Oblivion at the time) and hear the real game be really echoey. I don't remember now exactly how I did this, but it did have something to do with not cleaning up EAX stuff before exiting the process.
So, we know that it's possible to get at least some SoundBlaster cards with at least some Creative drivers to get in a state where the EAX settings are stuck and can't be changed without a reboot. We also know that Far Cry is setting EAX values, even though they aren't particularly good ones, and that they are turning the volume off on everything EAX in the menus. My theory, then, is that maybe they aren't cleaning something up in some cases when exiting, leading to the menu (or loading screen) settings getting stuck permanently until reboot.

Regardless, I still haven't seen any evidence that this is something to be solved by a wrapper. From the evidence I've seen (admittedly limited to just one sample each from the two opening levels) the game itself shouldn't have any audible reverb. If someone knows of a place in the game pre-Vista that clearly has reverb audible (i.e. there's a difference with EAX on and off) and can provide me a save game then I can look and see what the game is actually doing, but otherwise my working conclusion is that Far Cry doesn't have audible EAX reverb.

Hey, I am wondering if you have the Trip Planner set of CD's , that were a pre-order exclusive for the game, if so, can you please write me back and let me know ?
Thanks in advance !

Reply 365 of 367, by jonpol

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
Rubixzy wrote on 2022-03-20, 23:24:

Hey, I am wondering if you have the Trip Planner set of CD's , that were a pre-order exclusive for the game, if so, can you please write me back and let me know ?
Thanks in advance !

Hi, sorry, I just have some CDs that were bonus packaged with some graphics card I bought back in the day (if I remember right there is some NVIDIA branding on them), and so I don't think I even have a manual. I definitely didn't pre-order, and none of the discs appeared to be any special extra features besides the game itself.

Reply 366 of 367, by Rubixzy

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
jonpol wrote on 2022-03-25, 23:09:
Rubixzy wrote on 2022-03-20, 23:24:

Hey, I am wondering if you have the Trip Planner set of CD's , that were a pre-order exclusive for the game, if so, can you please write me back and let me know ?
Thanks in advance !

Hi, sorry, I just have some CDs that were bonus packaged with some graphics card I bought back in the day (if I remember right there is some NVIDIA branding on them), and so I don't think I even have a manual. I definitely didn't pre-order, and none of the discs appeared to be any special extra features besides the game itself.

Well that's unfortunate, the pre order CD is very rare so yeah, half expected you don't poses it, anyway, thanks for letting me know.

Reply 367 of 367, by Bohemond1099

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
PhilsComputerLab wrote on 2014-09-28, 23:17:
Tried out Far Cry on my Socket 478 Pentium 4 3.2 GHz machine with 2 GB DDR and an AGP 6600GT with Windows XP SP2. It's the GOG.c […]
Show full quote

Tried out Far Cry on my Socket 478 Pentium 4 3.2 GHz machine with 2 GB DDR and an AGP 6600GT with Windows XP SP2. It's the GOG.com version because I find it the easiest to get going without connecting online.

I noticed a few things:

- Under Vista and later operating systems, mountains do not reflect properly in the water. This works fine in XP.
- I've heard of loading issues with certain detail level but had no such issues.
- EAX and surround over headphones works very well on an X-Fi PCI card
- The latest XP driver (2013) for the 6600GT is 307.83 and causes severe graphics bugs (missing objects)
- 175.19 (2008) works fine, no issues to report

I know this is an older post; but still not addressed in 2022; additionally for my 7900 GTX, besides Far Cry, TES IV: Oblivion (Vanilla no mods) does not populate grass; but with 175.19 driver the game displays as it should.

I also found an interesting issue where the latest driver for the HD 3870 512mb performed far worse than older driver in several games; and the difference was going fron unplayable on new driver to playable on older driver.

This is on a QX6700@3.2Ghz with 2x2GB RAM @1066Mhz.

Attachments

  • 20220616_211310.jpg
    Filename
    20220616_211310.jpg
    File size
    1.9 MiB
    Views
    66 views
    File comment
    HD 3870 Driver Analysis
    File license
    Fair use/fair dealing exception
  • 20220616_210201.jpg
    Filename
    20220616_210201.jpg
    File size
    218.01 KiB
    Views
    71 views
    File comment
    175.19 TES IV
    File license
    Fair use/fair dealing exception
  • received_585080976289789.jpeg
    Filename
    received_585080976289789.jpeg
    File size
    162.75 KiB
    Views
    71 views
    File comment
    307.83 TES IV
    File license
    Fair use/fair dealing exception