VOGONS


First post, by APOPAP

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Hello,
I recently got a ISA sound card (SB pro compatible).
I installed the drivers and tried to play some DOS games.But sound effects (shooting, door opening in doom,etc) are too loud.On the other hand, I can barely hear the music playing in the background.

I tried to change wave and fm settings from the configuration menu but that not helped.

What should I do?

Attachments

  • 20240709_221245.jpg
    Filename
    20240709_221245.jpg
    File size
    1.2 MiB
    Views
    444 views
    File license
    Fair use/fair dealing exception
  • 20240709_221231.jpg
    Filename
    20240709_221231.jpg
    File size
    1.48 MiB
    Views
    444 views
    File license
    Fair use/fair dealing exception

Reply 2 of 16, by zwrr

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Have you tried tweaking your SFX Volume and MUSIC Volume in a game like DOOM?

486DLC-40, 386-VC-H, 16MB, GD5429, ES1868F


X5-133, V4P895SMT, 32MB, Trio64V+ VLB, ES1868F


POD 83, SYL8884, 32MB, Riva 128, ES1868F


Pentium MMX-233, T2P4, 128MB, TNT2, SB16


Tualatin-1.4G, 694X, 512MB, G400, Voodoo2, SB AWE32

Reply 4 of 16, by badmojo

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
APOPAP wrote on 2024-07-09, 20:11:

I tried to change wave and fm settings from the configuration menu but that not helped.

This should have helped - maybe you have the wrong mixer software or version of it. What's the sound card? Can you provide a picture of it?

Life? Don't talk to me about life.

Reply 5 of 16, by APOPAP

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Sure.It's a boca sound expression se1440 multi-card

It's exactly like this card: https://www.kleinanzeigen.de/s-anzeige/boca-s … 575879-225-9668

Attachments

  • Filename
    SE14INF(7).ZIP
    File size
    288.15 KiB
    Downloads
    4 downloads
    File comment
    Sound Card drivers
    File license
    Fair use/fair dealing exception

Reply 6 of 16, by zwrr

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

From the driver file analysis, your sound card is a combination of OPTI 929 and CS4231, maybe you can try to use the same chip driver from other manufacturers? For example, the Acer Magic S20 or MAD16 Pro.

486DLC-40, 386-VC-H, 16MB, GD5429, ES1868F


X5-133, V4P895SMT, 32MB, Trio64V+ VLB, ES1868F


POD 83, SYL8884, 32MB, Riva 128, ES1868F


Pentium MMX-233, T2P4, 128MB, TNT2, SB16


Tualatin-1.4G, 694X, 512MB, G400, Voodoo2, SB AWE32

Reply 9 of 16, by zwrr

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
APOPAP wrote on 2024-07-10, 08:44:

I ve tried the Mad 16 Pro drivers.Doesn't work
I will try the Acer Magic drivers
http://vogonsdrivers.com/getfile.php?fileid=1966&menustate=0

It may be noted that many OPTI929 drivers correspond to the specified CODEC chip, and some drivers require you to select the correct CODEC model during the installation process, such as CS4231 and AD1845.

486DLC-40, 386-VC-H, 16MB, GD5429, ES1868F


X5-133, V4P895SMT, 32MB, Trio64V+ VLB, ES1868F


POD 83, SYL8884, 32MB, Riva 128, ES1868F


Pentium MMX-233, T2P4, 128MB, TNT2, SB16


Tualatin-1.4G, 694X, 512MB, G400, Voodoo2, SB AWE32

Reply 10 of 16, by APOPAP

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
ux-3 wrote on 2024-07-10, 08:49:

Your mixer picture shows a mixer set up to do exactly what you observe: Loud effects! Turn wave down, turn FM (or CD) up.

Well,I changed that but now only works in real-mode dos...no dos box

Reply 11 of 16, by ux-3

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
APOPAP wrote on 2024-07-10, 09:17:

Well,I changed that but now only works in real-mode dos...no dos box

I wonder if DOS box would even assume you have an OPL3 present. It might just output 16 bit generated audio to wave-out as default maybe.

Retro PC warning: The things you own end up owning you.

Reply 12 of 16, by APOPAP

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
ux-3 wrote on 2024-07-10, 12:48:
APOPAP wrote on 2024-07-10, 09:17:

Well,I changed that but now only works in real-mode dos...no dos box

I wonder if DOS box would even assume you have an OPL3 present. It might just output 16 bit generated audio to wave-out as default maybe.

I see what's wrong.The driver has a file named CSACMOD1.EXE .It is loaded at the config.sys as a device= but that does not appear to work.Only when I start the computer as "command prompt only" seems to load the driver.For "restart in msdos mode" I edited DOSSTART.BAT and added c:\se1440\csacmod1 (device driver path).But now what about dos window?I added the same in Autoexec but not helped.I tried to run the program manually from dos box(CSACMOD1)-but says cannot be run in windows box.

I see there is an option to configure opl3 yamaha synth from control panrel.(I am uploading a photo simillar to that I have(I can't take a photo right now))

Attachments

  • adg1.jpg
    Filename
    adg1.jpg
    File size
    480.89 KiB
    Views
    170 views
    File comment
    OPL synth control
    File license
    Fair use/fair dealing exception

Reply 13 of 16, by wbahnassi

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

For Win 3.x, typically there is a mixer application for Windows. But perhaps running the mixer in a DOS box will work too.

For Win9x, the mixer is just right there on the right-bottom corner of the task bar, and it should allow individual control of Wave/Midi/CD/Line...etc. Those apply to games run in a DOS box.

Reply 14 of 16, by APOPAP

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

I tried to change the mixer's setting but that unfortunately didn't help.The driver (CSACMOD1.EXE) is present in config.sys (device=C:\SE1440\CSACMOD1.EXE) but the driver seems not to be loaded for a Dox Box(as the real mode dos) .As a result sound effects are too loud and music can barely be heard.I can even hear a little music distortion, something that there isn't when I run a game in Real Dos.

Reply 15 of 16, by ux-3

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

I would think that the cause is this:
in real DOS, the sound card is used for wave and FM to generate sound.
If you are using DOSbox (the emulator), the sound card only used the wave part to generate all sound. So in DOS, you need a different mixer setting than in Windows/DOSbox. When using a dos window, a third setting may apply, depending on how you boot into windows.

Retro PC warning: The things you own end up owning you.

Reply 16 of 16, by APOPAP

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
ux-3 wrote on 2024-07-11, 09:49:

I would think that the cause is this:
in real DOS, the sound card is used for wave and FM to generate sound.
If you are using DOSbox (the emulator), the sound card only used the wave part to generate all sound. So in DOS, you need a different mixer setting than in Windows/DOSbox. When using a dos window, a third setting may apply, depending on how you boot into windows.

Yes.Maybe the problem is something like that.

Now,on Real Mode dos the music and sound work great.(After I loaded the driver in Config.sys and dosstart.bat)

In Windows the "Windows sound system" works too.

But,in the dos window (No DosBox emulator) the sound keeps to be too loud and music too silent.

Is there I mixer I must configure or is a driver problem?