VOGONS

Common searches


First post, by Ok-Alex

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Please help me.
I'am using Borland Pascal in Vista x64 via DoxBox 0.72.
Everything working good, but I have one problem with keyboard.
Some keys don't work in Pascal, some show me wrong symbol.
For example :
When I'am trying to input ' nothing happens.
When I'am tring to input \ wrong symbol appeard [
When I press [ nothing happens..

Sorry for my bad english.I hope you'll help me 😀

P.S.: My config in signature..

HP dv4t :
Core 2 Duo P8400 2.26 Ghz
Nvidia GeForce 9200M GS 256mb
2x2048gb RAM 533 Mhz
Display resolutin 1280x800
Windows Vista x64 Ultimate.

Reply 2 of 20, by Ok-Alex

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Sorry I dno't understand.
I tried to swith keyboard layot to US,USA,UK,SP,SV,RU but it's didn't helped me.
Maybe I'am doing something wrong???

HP dv4t :
Core 2 Duo P8400 2.26 Ghz
Nvidia GeForce 9200M GS 256mb
2x2048gb RAM 533 Mhz
Display resolutin 1280x800
Windows Vista x64 Ultimate.

Reply 3 of 20, by wd

User metadata
Rank DOSBox Author
Rank
DOSBox Author

Well don't know what you expect exactly, by default the keyboard layout
is us (english) as that's how every pc works. Usually the backslash \ is
on one of the keys left to the return key, can you find that?

Reply 4 of 20, by Ok-Alex

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Vv1dUS2Pye.jpg
Here is my keyboard.Any suggestions?

HP dv4t :
Core 2 Duo P8400 2.26 Ghz
Nvidia GeForce 9200M GS 256mb
2x2048gb RAM 533 Mhz
Display resolutin 1280x800
Windows Vista x64 Ultimate.

Reply 5 of 20, by wd

User metadata
Rank DOSBox Author
Rank
DOSBox Author

Any suggestions?

Start up dosbox and hit those keys left of the return key, if none of them
produces the \ key try some others. If you can't produce the \ at all something
general is wrong.
If you can produce it somehow, you'll just need to deal with the layouts.

Reply 6 of 20, by Ok-Alex

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

In registry I found that my default system layot is 866.
How to setup it in DoxBox?

HP dv4t :
Core 2 Duo P8400 2.26 Ghz
Nvidia GeForce 9200M GS 256mb
2x2048gb RAM 533 Mhz
Display resolutin 1280x800
Windows Vista x64 Ultimate.

Reply 7 of 20, by Ok-Alex

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

In readme there is the link projects.freedos.net/keyb/ is dead.
I don't know what to do else.
When I press backslash it's return me ]
When I press ] it's return me [
When I press = it's return me nothing
When I press ' its return me nothing

HP dv4t :
Core 2 Duo P8400 2.26 Ghz
Nvidia GeForce 9200M GS 256mb
2x2048gb RAM 533 Mhz
Display resolutin 1280x800
Windows Vista x64 Ultimate.

Reply 8 of 20, by wd

User metadata
Rank DOSBox Author
Rank
DOSBox Author

As already noted a few times, you FIRST have to get the ENGLISH layout
to work at all. IF it works, then you can switch the layout to fit what is
printed on your physical keys. If you don't get the english layout to work,
the layout switching won't work at all, this is also true for freedos keyb
so don't bother with that yet.

Make sure that you can edit the dosbox.conf file (re-open it after you changed
it so you see that the values actually were saved) and set usescancodes=false
(it's true by default).

Reply 9 of 20, by Ok-Alex

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

I pressed every button of my keyboard.I can't produce \ .

HP dv4t :
Core 2 Duo P8400 2.26 Ghz
Nvidia GeForce 9200M GS 256mb
2x2048gb RAM 533 Mhz
Display resolutin 1280x800
Windows Vista x64 Ultimate.

Reply 10 of 20, by Ok-Alex

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Maybe it's not work because of MULTIMEDIA KEYS?

HP dv4t :
Core 2 Duo P8400 2.26 Ghz
Nvidia GeForce 9200M GS 256mb
2x2048gb RAM 533 Mhz
Display resolutin 1280x800
Windows Vista x64 Ultimate.

Reply 12 of 20, by Ok-Alex

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Yes.
Here is a part of my conf

fullscreen=false
fulldouble=false
fullresolution=640x480
windowresolution=800x600
output=surface
autolock=true
sensitivity=100
waitonerror=true
priority=higher,normal
mapperfile=mapper.txt
usescancodes=false

HP dv4t :
Core 2 Duo P8400 2.26 Ghz
Nvidia GeForce 9200M GS 256mb
2x2048gb RAM 533 Mhz
Display resolutin 1280x800
Windows Vista x64 Ultimate.

Reply 14 of 20, by Ok-Alex

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

x:\downloads\tp\bin>usescancodes
false

HP dv4t :
Core 2 Duo P8400 2.26 Ghz
Nvidia GeForce 9200M GS 256mb
2x2048gb RAM 533 Mhz
Display resolutin 1280x800
Windows Vista x64 Ultimate.

Reply 15 of 20, by Ok-Alex

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Any more suggestions?

HP dv4t :
Core 2 Duo P8400 2.26 Ghz
Nvidia GeForce 9200M GS 256mb
2x2048gb RAM 533 Mhz
Display resolutin 1280x800
Windows Vista x64 Ultimate.

Reply 16 of 20, by wd

User metadata
Rank DOSBox Author
Rank
DOSBox Author

Nope, because i don't have anything to test weird keyboards with.
Updating graphics drivers/directx might or might not help, same for windib
sdl interface (search the forum for that one) and similar stuff.

Reply 19 of 20, by odie4bre

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

I am running Vista and have found the solution.

Here is where I found it.... www.dosbox.com/wiki/FAQ

Q. My backslash key is mapped to ']' with DOSBox in Vista. Is there a workaround?

A. Press CTRL-F1 to enter the keymapper and select the backslash with your mouse. Press the DELETE button that will show up on your screen. Then press ADD to bind backslash to another key. Simply press an unused key to bind it to this. Press SAVE and then EXIT to return to the main screen.