Crop window?

General information and assistance with DOSBox.

Crop window?

Postby ezzetabi2 » 2012-3-11 @ 08:26

Me and a friend of mine are playing again old adventures.

Now it is time for Zork Nemesis; it works fine in dosbos.

But the game was made with a 16:10 aspect ratio. To compensate there is a black border under and over the game area.

Now I do have a 16:10 monitor and it a pity to have four black borders all around the game area.

So I was wondering, is there a way to tell dosbox to crop the output video area? I can mess with the source if needed.

Thanks
Last edited by ezzetabi2 on 2012-3-11 @ 10:21, edited 1 time in total.
ezzetabi2
Newbie
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 2010-9-01 @ 19:05

Re: Crop window?

Postby Mau1wurf1977 » 2012-3-11 @ 10:09

It's a 1996 game and I doubt it's made for 16:10.
User avatar
Mau1wurf1977
l33t++
 
Posts: 7124
Joined: 2010-8-27 @ 04:15
Location: Australia

Re: Crop window?

Postby ezzetabi2 » 2012-3-11 @ 10:20

Did you read the question?

``
Is there a way to tell dosbox to crop the output video area? I can mess with the source if needed.
''
ezzetabi2
Newbie
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 2010-9-01 @ 19:05

Re: Crop window?

Postby Dominus » 2012-3-11 @ 12:59

Did you read the conf?
User avatar
Dominus
DOSBox Moderator
 
Posts: 5597
Joined: 2002-10-03 @ 09:54
Location: Vienna

Re: Crop window?

Postby ezzetabi2 » 2012-3-11 @ 14:17

Yes, I did. So I have to assume there is no easy way?

Any idea where I should check in the source then?
ezzetabi2
Newbie
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 2010-9-01 @ 19:05

Re: Crop window?

Postby ripsaw8080 » 2012-3-11 @ 15:12

I would guess sdlmain.cpp, where the various types of drawing surfaces are created. Maybe look at SDL docs for what is possible. You may also want to limit the mouse range to be inside the viewable region, or you could lose sight of where the pointer is in the cropped-off border area.
User avatar
ripsaw8080
DOSBox Author
 
Posts: 3281
Joined: 2006-4-25 @ 23:24

Re: Crop window?

Postby kolano » 2012-3-11 @ 20:01

Mau1wurf1977 wrote:It's a 1996 game and I doubt it's made for 16:10.


The game is actually limited to a ~16:10 window (512x320 within 640x480). Refer
http://www.mobygames.com/game/windows/zork-nemesis-the-forbidden-lands/screenshots

Also, here's a prior post concerned with the black bars in the game...
http://www.vogons.org/viewtopic.php?t=23309

My guess would be that such was due to the game using a good amount of video and something akin to Quicktime VR (i.e. 360 degree images), and needing to squeeze it down to fit on 3 CDs. It also uses scan-lines in this video.

Regarding a means to resize the image, I'd guess that it may be easier to work out a shader to scale things up with one of the DOSBox revisions that have Direct3d/shader support.

On this subject, I find the 2xSaLAA, 4xSaL shaders do a good job of cleaning up FMV games that use alternate row scan-lines (though I'm having trouble locating my source for them). Still hoping for a shader that would clean up triple row scanline things (i.e. typically rgb scanlines used to simulate higher bit color ranges with 8b)
User avatar
kolano
Member
 
Posts: 341
Joined: 2010-12-26 @ 21:03


Return to DOSBox General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest