Have you opened your SC-55 to check the battery inside?

Discussion about old sound cards, MIDI devices and sound related accessories.

Re: Have you opened your SC-55 to check the battery inside?

Postby archsan » 2014-6-14 @ 17:45

Hmm, will check my MkII :)

Btw, is Energizer the best brand to get? I'm not so sure about Maxell, and there's some chance of getting counterfeit "Sony"-branded coin batteries here, or counterfeit "Energizer" for that matter :/
"Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic."—Arthur C. Clarke
"No way. Installing the drivers on these things always gives me a headache."—Guybrush Threepwood (on cutting-edge voodoo technology)
User avatar
archsan
Oldbie
 
Posts: 985
Joined: 2009-6-28 @ 15:30

Re: Have you opened your SC-55 to check the battery inside?

Postby keropi » 2014-7-16 @ 07:46

just checked my newly arrived MK2:

Image

the battery started leaking from one point and there was some acid residue on the plastic holder under said point... needless to say I cleaned the area and just removed the battery all together, I don't need any settings saving :)
User avatar
keropi
l33t++
 
Posts: 6597
Joined: 2003-9-08 @ 06:45
Location: Greece


Re: Have you opened your SC-55 to check the battery inside?

Postby Kahenraz » 2014-7-17 @ 02:49

Wow, I'm glad I found this thread. I'd never heard of a watch battery leaking before.

Will have to check all of my midi modules as well.
User avatar
Kahenraz
Oldbie
 
Posts: 524
Joined: 2004-1-22 @ 04:57

Re: Have you opened your SC-55 to check the battery inside?

Postby schlang » 2015-5-27 @ 13:57

thx for this thread, I just pulled this sucker from my SC-55:

Image

the one in my SC-55mkii was fine, so was the soldered one in my MU-50
PC#1: K6-III+ 400 | 512MB | Geforce4 | Voodoo1 | SB Live | AWE64 | GUS PNP Pro
PC#2: 486DX2-66 | 64MB | Riva128 | AWE64 | GUS PNP | PAS16
PC#3: 386DX-40 | 32MB | CL-GD5434 | SB Pro | GUS MAX | PAS16

Think you know your games music? Show us: viewtopic.php?f=5&t=37532
User avatar
schlang
Oldbie
 
Posts: 514
Joined: 2009-1-05 @ 04:57
Location: Medellín, Colombia

Re: Have you opened your SC-55 to check the battery inside?

Postby keropi » 2015-5-27 @ 15:00

great catch there schlang :)
User avatar
keropi
l33t++
 
Posts: 6597
Joined: 2003-9-08 @ 06:45
Location: Greece

Re: Have you opened your SC-55 to check the battery inside?

Postby ReeseRiverson » 2015-5-27 @ 15:49

Hmm, I ought to go open my SC-88 up and take care of its battery, now I am reminded of it. :lol:
User avatar
ReeseRiverson
Member
 
Posts: 290
Joined: 2013-12-31 @ 05:30

Re: Have you opened your SC-55 to check the battery inside?

Postby TELVM » 2015-5-27 @ 15:50

sliderider wrote:... CR-2032 batteries ... There are Chinese sellers who have them in bulk packs on ebay for only pennies per battery. A 100 pack would probably be a good investment for almost anyone who has a lot of old hardware lying around that needs at least one of these.


Beware that much of that cheap stuff from ebay is just junk lacking even half the ~225 mAh capacity of a real CR2032 (= wil last far less).

They also love faking capacitors:

Image

HDDs:

Image

SSDs:

Image

and whatever can be faked.

badmojo wrote:... What do you guys do with old batteries? I've been vaguely aware that they shouldn't be thrown into the bin, but that's exactly where I've put them all my life. I've done a bit of research and discovered that there are numerous places near where I live which accept dead batteries to be recycled, who knew?


Whatever you do, EXTREME CAUTION when there are little children around. A button battery looks like candy to them, so they swallow it, then they die.

Image


A tip regarding computer CMOS/RTC lithium batteries: If the system is going to spend time unplugged from the wall (and/or PSU switched off), say several months or longer, better write down/save the BIOS settings and pull out the CR2032. This will prolong battery life and prevent battery spills on the mobo.
Let the air flow!
User avatar
TELVM
Oldbie
 
Posts: 868
Joined: 2012-2-26 @ 14:51
Location: Spain

Re: Have you opened your SC-55 to check the battery inside?

Postby badmojo » 2015-5-27 @ 23:07

Geez TELVM, I'm a nervous wreck after reading that lot :#
If it's broke, then fix it!
User avatar
badmojo
l33t
 
Posts: 2942
Joined: 2011-10-11 @ 04:14
Location: Australia

Re: Have you opened your SC-55 to check the battery inside?

Postby TELVM » 2015-5-28 @ 00:08

:lol: My apologies man, just the harsh realities of life.
Let the air flow!
User avatar
TELVM
Oldbie
 
Posts: 868
Joined: 2012-2-26 @ 14:51
Location: Spain

Re: Have you opened your SC-55 to check the battery inside?

Postby Silanda » 2016-1-24 @ 14:32

Saw this thread yesterday and decided to check out my SC-155. Sure enough, the battery had started to leak slightly so I replaced it with a spare. No sign of corrosion that I can see on the holder.

To be honest, I wasn't even aware that CR-2032s did leak. It's a blessed relief that Roland, unlike Yamaha I believe, installed their batteries in a holder rather than using solder tabbed ones. That helps to protect the board and makes them a damn sight easier to change.
Silanda
Member
 
Posts: 157
Joined: 2005-9-08 @ 01:24

Re: Have you opened your SC-55 to check the battery inside?

Postby dogchainx » 2016-2-08 @ 03:40

Checked mine. No corrosion at all, kept the battery in there just for the hell of it.
386DX-40MHz-8MB-540MB+428MB+Speedstar64@2MB+SoundBlaster Pro+MT-32/MKII
486DX2-66Mhz-16MB-4.3GB+SpeedStar64 VLB DRAM 2MB+AWE32/SB16+SCB-55
MY BLOG RETRO PC BLOG: https://bitbyted.wordpress.com/
User avatar
dogchainx
Member
 
Posts: 397
Joined: 2012-11-28 @ 19:21
Location: UTAH, United States

Re: Have you opened your SC-55 to check the battery inside?

Postby PeterLI » 2016-2-10 @ 03:30

Good thing I check a SC-55 I got in yesterday.
PeterLI
l33t
 
Posts: 2392
Joined: 2013-10-18 @ 02:30

Re: Have you opened your SC-55 to check the battery inside?

Postby gdjacobs » 2016-2-10 @ 03:54

Caught it just in the nick of time.
User avatar
gdjacobs
l33t++
 
Posts: 5601
Joined: 2015-11-03 @ 05:51
Location: The Great White North

Re: Have you opened your SC-55 to check the battery inside?

Postby badmojo » 2016-2-11 @ 05:07

PeterLI wrote:Good thing I check a SC-55 I got in yesterday.


Oi mate I thought you were 'retiring from the hobby'? :lol:
If it's broke, then fix it!
User avatar
badmojo
l33t
 
Posts: 2942
Joined: 2011-10-11 @ 04:14
Location: Australia

Re: Have you opened your SC-55 to check the battery inside?

Postby gdjacobs » 2016-2-11 @ 06:40

badmojo wrote:
PeterLI wrote:Good thing I check a SC-55 I got in yesterday.


Oi mate I thought you were 'retiring from the hobby'? :lol:

When you can't quit, isn't it known as an addiction?
User avatar
gdjacobs
l33t++
 
Posts: 5601
Joined: 2015-11-03 @ 05:51
Location: The Great White North

Re: Have you opened your SC-55 to check the battery inside?

Postby PeterLI » 2016-2-12 @ 00:13

Hard to resist a SC-55 for $45 including shipping. More reverb than a SC-7 but same samples. At least to my ears. :lol:
PeterLI
l33t
 
Posts: 2392
Joined: 2013-10-18 @ 02:30

Re: Have you opened your SC-55 to check the battery inside?

Postby loktar » 2016-2-17 @ 02:26

bat.jpg


Thanks to this thread I just checked one I got over the weekend as well. No damage done fortunately.
User avatar
loktar
Newbie
 
Posts: 28
Joined: 2013-6-23 @ 08:29

Re: Have you opened your SC-55 to check the battery inside?

Postby keropi » 2016-2-17 @ 07:39

excellent, this one seems pretty bad - glad you caught it on time
User avatar
keropi
l33t++
 
Posts: 6597
Joined: 2003-9-08 @ 06:45
Location: Greece

Re: Have you opened your SC-55 to check the battery inside?

Postby Skyscraper » 2016-2-17 @ 14:52

I know Phil has already mentioned that the Roland SC-55st dosnt have an internal battery. I thought that it would be a good idea to post an image of the inside of the SC-55st in case someone needs to see for them selves to be convinced. :)



This is how my bargain £16 ST-55st from Ebay looks inside, it looks alot more bullet proof than the models with displays, buttons and other fancy features! :)
Roland SC-55st.JPG
Main PC: Dual Xeon X5690@4.6ghz, Evga - SR-2, 48gb memory, Intel X25-M g2 SSD and a Nvidia GTX 980 ti.
Retro PC #3: K6-2 450@500mhz, PC-Chips m577, 256mb sdram, AWE64 and a Voodoo Banshee.
Skyscraper
l33t
 
Posts: 3353
Joined: 2013-9-18 @ 15:36
Location: Sweden

PreviousNext

Return to Sound

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baoran and 4 guests