The Systempro Project; The Build

Showcase your Retro PC / Build logs.

The Systempro Project; The Build

Postby 386_junkie » 2016-8-04 @ 20:24

The Systempro Project

1) Beginnings (The modified System): - viewtopic.php?f=25&t=48266
2) Build (The Systempro): - <----------You are here
3) Bios: - viewtopic.php?f=46&t=50362
4) Bugs: -
5) Benching (386 class): - viewtopic.php?f=25&t=50361
6) Benching (386 class) round 2: - viewtopic.php?t=52795
7) Benching (4/586 class): -

______________________________________________________________


Since the thread I did earlier in the year where I salvaged and bought a number of Systempro parts over the last 18 months and assembled them in a modified Zenith case, I have moved to a new city with a new job and found this: -

Image

Quite incredible after putting in all the time and energy into making a modified Systempro... and then goes the universe and puts one right in front of me!

It was not in this condition when I received it of course, and with getting lucky with the weather over the weekend that I took her home... I went ahead and stripped out the 486 insides and gave her a good clean. She was loaded inside with all sorts of goodies... full complement of memory, original Connor HD's, EISA graphics card.

ImageImageImageImageImageImage

Still, with all the spares I have floating about... I of course made her into another 386 to play alongside her little sister. Will be bringing one of the girls back down to where i'm working... i'm in a new city, so it'll be good to have some computer company!

More to follow...

Image


It's 18/09/16 and time for an update…

Since writing last I’ve managed to escape from work long enough to play with, and conduct some tests. I have also taken some memory from a Deskpro I have and upgraded the system to 80MB DRAM (10 x 8MB sticks) all 80ns.

ImageImage

I have a couple of faster sticks shown below which I have swapped over into the Deskpro, there is little point in having only 2 or 3 (60ns / 70ns) sticks being faster than the rest… it made sense to use them in the Deskpro which has lower memory demands.

Image

As with the modification system I did... I again upgraded the FSB = de-soldering the original 66.66MHz crystal and solder in a new DIL socket so that crystals can be interchangeable depending on system reqs. In this case, I have inserted an 80MHz crystal to bring the FSB up to 40MHz.

ImageImageImageImage

So, the tests. Before I go on I should say that the normal benchmark software most folk here on Vogons use do not work unfortunately under Windows NT 3.1, only DOS. Multiprocessor performance is only possible under a supporting OS which DOS is not. It is because of this that the DOS benchmark tools will only see and perform against one of the 386 CPU’s. If anyone can recommend any Windows benchmarks that are likely to run under NT 3.1… I’m all ears.

The results from the short lived tests using a 100MHz oscillator to give a 50MHz FSB are below; -

Image

Back in goes the 80MHz oscillator...

...
Last edited by 386_junkie on 2017-6-03 @ 14:06, edited 31 times in total.
User avatar
386_junkie
Oldbie
 
Posts: 937
Joined: 2014-4-15 @ 20:02

Re: The Systempro

Postby BSA Starfire » 2016-8-05 @ 05:16

That is a fantastic looking machine! Looks really impressive. Good luck with the new job and city.
386SX 33MHz,4MB Ram,ALi M1217 motherboard,OAK OTI077 1MB. Seagate ST1144A.
386DX 25MHz,IIT 387,8MB RAM,Opti,32K cache,WDC90C30 512K.Conner CF170A.
IDT Winchip C6 200MHz,DFi P5BTX/L,Number Nine S3 ViRGE 2MB,SoundBlasterCT2260,1.2Gb Fujitsu.
User avatar
BSA Starfire
Oldbie
 
Posts: 796
Joined: 2014-3-22 @ 05:20
Location: UK

Re: The Systempro

Postby GL1zdA » 2016-8-05 @ 05:24

Great job! Do you know what is the purpose of all these small slots on the motherboard?
User avatar
GL1zdA
Oldbie
 
Posts: 761
Joined: 2008-2-29 @ 10:41
Location: Warsaw, PL

Re: The Systempro

Postby luckybob » 2016-8-05 @ 05:29

Image
It is a mistake to think you can solve any major problems just with potatoes.
User avatar
luckybob
l33t
 
Posts: 3487
Joined: 2009-4-30 @ 04:43

Re: The Systempro

Postby ElBrunzy » 2016-8-05 @ 05:36

what cpu config you have on the cpu riser? What about the ram too? I think it was meant to run netware 3 or maybe sunos ? It was very interesting to document myself about that computer, I did not knew such things did exist. Well, it's kind of the ancestor to a dell gxpro200.
User avatar
ElBrunzy
Member
 
Posts: 451
Joined: 2014-1-26 @ 03:50
Location: Quebec / Canada

Re: The Systempro

Postby Scraphoarder » 2016-8-05 @ 05:46

I love those old Compaq servers and envy you :blush:
Got myself a Prosiginia 500 with a 486 dx33 and of course its fully EISA. Had anotherone many years ago that i put a 486 dx4 100 in, but regretfully i recycled it.
User avatar
Scraphoarder
Member
 
Posts: 214
Joined: 2015-6-28 @ 09:56
Location: Norway

Re: The Systempro

Postby kixs » 2016-8-05 @ 06:57

Just amazing :D
My Amibay: SALE | BUY - Updated on 2018-07-17
User avatar
kixs
l33t
 
Posts: 2110
Joined: 2013-1-31 @ 02:08
Location: Slovenia, EU

Re: The Systempro

Postby Cyrix200+ » 2016-8-05 @ 07:11

Congratulations on finding one! It a beauty!
Retro workhorse: Asus P2B-LS | Tualatin Celeron 1400MHz | Matrox G400
-
Image gallery
User avatar
Cyrix200+
Oldbie
 
Posts: 727
Joined: 2015-5-11 @ 15:52
Location: The Netherlands

Re: The Systempro

Postby Robert B » 2016-8-05 @ 07:35

WOW!!! a real TIME CAPSULE! -complete with all the bits and pieces :D
User avatar
Robert B
Member
 
Posts: 367
Joined: 2016-7-07 @ 15:57

Re: The Systempro

Postby chinny22 » 2016-8-05 @ 14:03

Looks like the Systempro gods were pleased with your work before and have rewarded you :)
Should be fun messing round with old OS's getting the 2 talking to each other
User avatar
chinny22
l33t
 
Posts: 2012
Joined: 2011-8-26 @ 12:02
Location: Australian but living in the UK for now

Re: The Systempro

Postby ElBrunzy » 2016-8-07 @ 00:16

chinny22 wrote:Looks like the Systempro gods were pleased with your work before and have rewarded you :)
Should be fun messing round with old OS's getting the 2 talking to each other


what old OS's do you have in mind ? (please be sunos, please be sunos, please be sunos!)
User avatar
ElBrunzy
Member
 
Posts: 451
Joined: 2014-1-26 @ 03:50
Location: Quebec / Canada

Re: The Systempro

Postby gdjacobs » 2016-8-07 @ 00:35

I don't believe SunOS was ever released for an x86 platform [ed. Wiki proved me wrong]. Solaris was, but that's not the same.
User avatar
gdjacobs
l33t++
 
Posts: 5710
Joined: 2015-11-03 @ 05:51
Location: The Great White North

Re: The Systempro

Postby 386_junkie » 2016-8-10 @ 18:59

BSA Starfire wrote:That is a fantastic looking machine! Looks really impressive. Good luck with the new job and city.


Thanks. Really pleased I found her... still having to pinch myself to believe she's actually here. I brought her down with me with a bunch of other stuff moving in over last weekend.

The new job has been very demanding... travelling all over England from Liverpool, Sheffield and this week Birmingham. Though now she is my sole flatmate, we will spend more time together! :D

How did you get on with your IBM 386? Did you retrofit / customise a case for it?


GL1zdA wrote:Great job! Do you know what is the purpose of all these small slots on the motherboard?


Thanks, there's much more to come... I hope to share all my findings with those who are interested. On the 386 motherboard, the first two slots are for CPU's / cache, the next two slots are proprietary interfacing for the DRAM cards both system and expansion, and the rest are all EISA. The whole system including the expansion slots (EISA and proprietary) are all 32-bit.


ElBrunzy wrote:what cpu config you have on the cpu riser? What about the ram too? I think it was meant to run netware 3 or maybe sunos ? It was very interesting to document myself about that computer, I did not knew such things did exist. Well, it's kind of the ancestor to a dell gxpro200.


Both risers provide interfacing to two 386 CPU's... either 2 x AMD DX-40's, 2 x TI486 DLC-40's... or 2 x TI486 SXL2-50's. Both risers also have 2 x 385's controlling on-board cache, as well as 2 x 40 MHz Cyrix 387 FPU's.

Memory is proprietary and is limited in terms of upgrading, but the maximum the system will take is 12 x 8MB = 96MB DRAM in total. I already have Windows NT 3.1 on the first Systempro I built and will be installing it on this system later today if not tomorrow, finally getting a chance to be productive with the project. Not sure of other OS's, though I have read about Netware and is something I would be willing to try also.

Dell Gxpro200, what type of system is this? Is this a server?

Scraphoarder wrote:I love those old Compaq servers and envy you :blush:
Got myself a Prosiginia 500 with a 486 dx33 and of course its fully EISA. Had anotherone many years ago that i put a 486 dx4 100 in, but regretfully i recycled it.


Thanks, if it makes you feel better I will share her with you online and everything I do test wise. Your Prosignia sounds awesome... quite fast I would imagine. There have been times in the past where i've recycled something and regretted it years later... :depressed: never again! Hoarder to the grave :D

chinny22 wrote:Looks like the Systempro gods were pleased with your work before and have rewarded you :)
Should be fun messing round with old OS's getting the 2 talking to each other


Yea, the universe works in mysterious ways. Two Systempro's talking to each other... now there's a thought!
User avatar
386_junkie
Oldbie
 
Posts: 937
Joined: 2014-4-15 @ 20:02

Re: The Systempro

Postby Tetrium » 2016-8-12 @ 19:23

That case looks awesome! :D

I remember many IBM cases having protrusions like that, though most of those were desktop instead of towers.

If an old PC looks this alien, it's got to be good! Fantastic!
User avatar
Tetrium
l33t++
 
Posts: 7650
Joined: 2010-1-27 @ 18:53
Location: Netherlands

Re: The Systempro

Postby BSA Starfire » 2016-8-14 @ 05:49

386_junkie wrote:
BSA Starfire wrote:That is a fantastic looking machine! Looks really impressive. Good luck with the new job and city.


Thanks. Really pleased I found her... still having to pinch myself to believe she's actually here. I brought her down with me with a bunch of other stuff moving in over last weekend.

The new job has been very demanding... travelling all over England from Liverpool, Sheffield and this week Birmingham. Though now she is my sole flatmate, we will spend more time together! :D

How did you get on with your IBM 386? Did you retrofit / customise a case for it?[quote]

Amazingly I have finally found a case for my IBM 386 motherboard just this weekend! I have had to buy a complete machine to do so and payed far too much for it, but this should do the trick.
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/131884585634?_trksid=p2060353.m1438.l2649&ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT
It's obviously not a perfect match but the form factor looks identical so all should be well, upgrading a Pentium to a 386sx!!! lol

Best,
Chris
386SX 33MHz,4MB Ram,ALi M1217 motherboard,OAK OTI077 1MB. Seagate ST1144A.
386DX 25MHz,IIT 387,8MB RAM,Opti,32K cache,WDC90C30 512K.Conner CF170A.
IDT Winchip C6 200MHz,DFi P5BTX/L,Number Nine S3 ViRGE 2MB,SoundBlasterCT2260,1.2Gb Fujitsu.
User avatar
BSA Starfire
Oldbie
 
Posts: 796
Joined: 2014-3-22 @ 05:20
Location: UK

Re: The Systempro

Postby ElBrunzy » 2016-8-21 @ 07:12

Thanks, why does everyone in this thread start them post with the word "thanks" ?

the thread being system pro... amazing computers!
User avatar
ElBrunzy
Member
 
Posts: 451
Joined: 2014-1-26 @ 03:50
Location: Quebec / Canada

Re: The Systempro

Postby oeuvre » 2016-8-21 @ 12:27

Thanks all.
HP Elite 8300 CMT i7 3770, 8GB, GTX745, SSD + 2xHD, XP/7/macOS 10.13
i7 9700K, 32GB, MSI GTX1060, NVMe SSD + HD, Windows 10
Image
User avatar
oeuvre
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1991
Joined: 2015-3-31 @ 13:31
Location: USA

Re: The Systempro

Postby 386_junkie » 2016-9-18 @ 00:08

BSA Starfire wrote:Amazingly I have finally found a case for my IBM 386 motherboard just this weekend! I have had to buy a complete machine to do so and payed far too much for it, but this should do the trick.
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/131884585634?_trksid=p2060353.m1438.l2649&ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT
It's obviously not a perfect match but the form factor looks identical so all should be well, upgrading a Pentium to a 386sx!!! lol

Best,
Chris


That case looks the balls! Not your usual run of the mill IBM case... plus I like the large logo top left, not something you see very often.

Will need to look out your thread, is it all put together?
User avatar
386_junkie
Oldbie
 
Posts: 937
Joined: 2014-4-15 @ 20:02

Re: The Systempro

Postby 386_junkie » 2016-9-18 @ 00:10

An update to the thread... adding those long overdue Benchmarks!

"Thanks"
User avatar
386_junkie
Oldbie
 
Posts: 937
Joined: 2014-4-15 @ 20:02

Re: The Systempro (Bench-ing)

Postby mrau » 2016-9-18 @ 19:42

the vga speed here, 7kk+ pixel/s, means a 386 could spit over a 100 full 320x200x8bit screens every second? o.O sths wrong here?
mrau
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1031
Joined: 2015-11-28 @ 12:43

Next

Return to System Specs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests