Have you opened your SC-55 to check the battery inside?

Discussion about old sound cards, MIDI devices and sound related accessories.

Re: Have you opened your SC-55 to check the battery inside?

Postby Dominus » 2017-9-22 @ 06:04

Do they hold settings through a power cycle? Volume and whatever else you can set. If yes, then there must be a battery
User avatar
Dominus
DOSBox Moderator
 
Posts: 7540
Joined: 2002-10-03 @ 09:54
Location: Vienna or Ludwigsburg

Re: Have you opened your SC-55 to check the battery inside?

Postby m5215tx » 2017-9-22 @ 13:51

Dominus wrote:Do they hold settings through a power cycle? Volume and whatever else you can set. If yes, then there must be a battery


Well, I am wondering if these may have memory that can hold it's data even after a power cycle. That would be nice as there would be no worry about any battery issues over time.
Roland MT-32 (old), CM-32LN, SC-55, SC-88VL, MT-120, SD-35, SD-20, SD-80, SD-90
Yamaha TG100, TG300, MDF2, MU15, MU100, MU2000EX + PLG150-DR + PLG150-PF + PLG150-VL
KORG NS5R, X5DR
AKAI SG01k
KAWAI GMega
KETRON SD2
User avatar
m5215tx
Member
 
Posts: 171
Joined: 2017-5-03 @ 19:32
Location: Dallas, Texas

Re: Have you opened your SC-55 to check the battery inside?

Postby Cloudschatze » 2017-9-22 @ 14:48

Per its service manual, the Yamaha MU2000(EX) has a standard, holder-mounted CR2032.
User avatar
Cloudschatze
Oldbie
 
Posts: 970
Joined: 2005-6-16 @ 14:32

Re: Have you opened your SC-55 to check the battery inside?

Postby m5215tx » 2017-9-22 @ 15:38

Cloudschatze wrote:Per its service manual, the Yamaha MU2000(EX) has a standard, holder-mounted CR2032.


Thanks Cloudschatze! It would be great to find a copy of the service manual as I did not locate a free download of one in my search.
Roland MT-32 (old), CM-32LN, SC-55, SC-88VL, MT-120, SD-35, SD-20, SD-80, SD-90
Yamaha TG100, TG300, MDF2, MU15, MU100, MU2000EX + PLG150-DR + PLG150-PF + PLG150-VL
KORG NS5R, X5DR
AKAI SG01k
KAWAI GMega
KETRON SD2
User avatar
m5215tx
Member
 
Posts: 171
Joined: 2017-5-03 @ 19:32
Location: Dallas, Texas

Re: Have you opened your SC-55 to check the battery inside?

Postby Nukkus » 2017-10-27 @ 12:47

I just replaced the original battery in my SC-50. :happy:
User avatar
Nukkus
Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2017-7-28 @ 16:00

Re: Have you opened your SC-55 to check the battery inside?

Postby thierry » 2017-10-31 @ 13:47

SC-155 Battery Leaked ! , im remplace it



Image

Image
thierry
Newbie
 
Posts: 55
Joined: 2013-5-14 @ 20:31
Location: Argentina

Re: Have you opened your SC-55 to check the battery inside?

Postby blackmasked » 2017-11-19 @ 11:15

What's your experience with power supplies for Roland SC and Yamaha MU modules? Have you experienced any failures? I recently purchased a genuine Yamaha PA-130 PSU for my MU80 as I no longer trust the 20 year old PSU that came with it, but it's a bit of a struggle to find a decent replacement PSU for a SC-55. Looks like Roland has not released a newer version of ACB-240 and I don't really trust all these third party compatible PSUs available on ebay.
DOS build: Gigabyte GA-586T2, P200 MMX, 64MB RAM, Tseng ET6000 4MB, Sound Blaster AWE64 Gold, Roland SC-55mkII, Yamaha MU-80
98SE build: MSI MS-6163 Pro, PIII 650MHz, 256MB RAM, Voodoo3 3000, Sound Blaster Live! 5.1 Platinum, Yamaha SW1000XG
User avatar
blackmasked
Newbie
 
Posts: 50
Joined: 2016-11-19 @ 17:11

Re: Have you opened your SC-55 to check the battery inside?

Postby elod » 2017-11-19 @ 12:19

blackmasked wrote:I don't really trust all these third party compatible PSUs available on ebay. [/color]

Don't. Just get something branded that outputs the same voltage then change the connector.
Or get a decent universal PSU (should be >10 dollars/euros).
elod
Member
 
Posts: 236
Joined: 2016-5-17 @ 19:01
Location: Timisoara, Romania

Re: Have you opened your SC-55 to check the battery inside?

Postby derSammler » 2017-11-20 @ 18:18

blackmasked wrote:I recently purchased a genuine Yamaha PA-130 PSU for my MU80 as I no longer trust the 20 year old PSU that came with it, but it's a bit of a struggle to find a decent replacement PSU for a SC-55.

Personally, I trust a 20-year old transformer-based PSU much more than a new switching-mode PSU made in China...
derSammler
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1263
Joined: 2017-4-14 @ 11:30
Location: Germany

Re: Have you opened your SC-55 to check the battery inside?

Postby bjwil1991 » 2017-11-20 @ 18:33

derSammler wrote:
blackmasked wrote:I recently purchased a genuine Yamaha PA-130 PSU for my MU80 as I no longer trust the 20 year old PSU that came with it, but it's a bit of a struggle to find a decent replacement PSU for a SC-55.

Personally, I trust a 20-year old transformer-based PSU much more than a new switching-mode PSU made in China...

Speaking of newer PSUs, I have 2 RCA universal PSUs that are rated for up to 2.5A and 12V (either DC or AC, can't recall) for a Yamaha TG-100 and Delco radio from 1996 that was pulled out of the 96 Safari that we had, which does work.
C64, WheelWriter 10 Series II QuietWriter 8, Pack-Mate 28 Plus, K6-2/300, Pavilion N3350, iMac G3 & G4, Socket 370, 2x Inspiron 600m, Athlon 64, Dimension 4550 & E510, ThinkPad R40, Presario C700, ASUS X54C, Raspberry Pi B+, 2B-3B+, Custom FX-6300
User avatar
bjwil1991
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1177
Joined: 2013-8-14 @ 03:10
Location: United States of America

Re: Have you opened your SC-55 to check the battery inside?

Postby blackmasked » 2017-11-20 @ 20:30

derSammler wrote:
blackmasked wrote:I recently purchased a genuine Yamaha PA-130 PSU for my MU80 as I no longer trust the 20 year old PSU that came with it, but it's a bit of a struggle to find a decent replacement PSU for a SC-55.

Personally, I trust a 20-year old transformer-based PSU much more than a new switching-mode PSU made in China...


I think all these C64 users who saw their beloved machines go up in flames would disagree, myself included. ;]
DOS build: Gigabyte GA-586T2, P200 MMX, 64MB RAM, Tseng ET6000 4MB, Sound Blaster AWE64 Gold, Roland SC-55mkII, Yamaha MU-80
98SE build: MSI MS-6163 Pro, PIII 650MHz, 256MB RAM, Voodoo3 3000, Sound Blaster Live! 5.1 Platinum, Yamaha SW1000XG
User avatar
blackmasked
Newbie
 
Posts: 50
Joined: 2016-11-19 @ 17:11

Re: Have you opened your SC-55 to check the battery inside?

Postby voodoo5_6k » 2017-11-21 @ 07:50

blackmasked wrote:What's your experience with power supplies for Roland SC and Yamaha MU modules? Have you experienced any failures? I recently purchased a genuine Yamaha PA-130 PSU for my MU80 as I no longer trust the 20 year old PSU that came with it, but it's a bit of a struggle to find a decent replacement PSU for a SC-55. Looks like Roland has not released a newer version of ACB-240 and I don't really trust all these third party compatible PSUs available on ebay.

Oh yes, they did release a replacement unit.

The Roland PSB-230 (or PSB-1U if bundled with a Roland device) can replace, among others, any Roland ACB or ACI PSU (the PSUs bundled with e.g. MT-32, CM-32L, SC-55 and many, many other devices). I use these for all my Roland devices (UM-550, CM-32L, SC-55) for several years now. Shouldn't be too hard to find one, it is a current product.
END OF LINE.

My retro systems:
1: E4700 2.6|512MB|P5PE-VM|Voodoo5|SB0240|UM-1>UM-550>CM-32L+SC-55
2: P3-S 1.4|512MB|D815EEA2|Voodoo5+Voodoo5 6000|SB0350
3: P4 3.4EE|4GB|P4C800-E|FX 5900 Ultra+Ti4600|SB0466
4: X5470 3.33|8GB|P5Q-E|GTX 580 3G|SB0886
User avatar
voodoo5_6k
Member
 
Posts: 175
Joined: 2016-4-13 @ 06:52

Re: Have you opened your SC-55 to check the battery inside?

Postby derSammler » 2017-11-21 @ 09:06

blackmasked wrote:I think all these C64 users who saw their beloved machines go up in flames would disagree, myself included. ;]

But that's because those PSUs are simply cheap sh*t and have no protection whatsoever. Also, these supply higher voltage than needed which is then regulated down. If the regulator goes short, the much too high voltage goes directly to the device. This is not how you would normally build a PSU.
derSammler
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1263
Joined: 2017-4-14 @ 11:30
Location: Germany

Re: Have you opened your SC-55 to check the battery inside?

Postby keropi » 2017-11-21 @ 09:10

yeah sadly commodore cut down costs whenever possible, these c64 psus are a nightmare!
User avatar
keropi
l33t++
 
Posts: 6161
Joined: 2003-9-08 @ 06:45
Location: Greece

Re: Have you opened your SC-55 to check the battery inside?

Postby badmojo » 2017-11-21 @ 10:19

I bought a replacement PSU for my MT-32 recently - insanely cheap from China but it appeared identical to another one that I'd had an used for years. It arrived and looked the goods, but it was so light that I was moved to open it up and see if there was anything in there - there was, but I chucked it all the same.

I've since remembered that I have a spare Sega Mega Drive PSU here which people have said are workable - 10V instead of 9V tho.
If it's broke, then fix it!
User avatar
badmojo
l33t
 
Posts: 2738
Joined: 2011-10-11 @ 04:14
Location: Australia

Re: Have you opened your SC-55 to check the battery inside?

Postby keropi » 2017-11-21 @ 12:27

Yeah 10v will work just fine, the SC-55s do regulate again to 5v internally so it's no big deal. Even higher would work but I'd put a limit to 12v since the internal heatsinks/design is not made for more and the unit could overheat.
User avatar
keropi
l33t++
 
Posts: 6161
Joined: 2003-9-08 @ 06:45
Location: Greece

Re: Have you opened your SC-55 to check the battery inside?

Postby blackmasked » 2017-11-21 @ 20:44

Thanks for the tip voodoo5_6k, that's exactly what I was after ;]
Last edited by blackmasked on 2017-11-22 @ 17:38, edited 1 time in total.
DOS build: Gigabyte GA-586T2, P200 MMX, 64MB RAM, Tseng ET6000 4MB, Sound Blaster AWE64 Gold, Roland SC-55mkII, Yamaha MU-80
98SE build: MSI MS-6163 Pro, PIII 650MHz, 256MB RAM, Voodoo3 3000, Sound Blaster Live! 5.1 Platinum, Yamaha SW1000XG
User avatar
blackmasked
Newbie
 
Posts: 50
Joined: 2016-11-19 @ 17:11

Re: Have you opened your SC-55 to check the battery inside?

Postby badmojo » 2017-11-22 @ 10:32

keropi wrote:Yeah 10v will work just fine, the SC-55s do regulate again to 5v internally so it's no big deal. Even higher would work but I'd put a limit to 12v since the internal heatsinks/design is not made for more and the unit could overheat.


Good to know - what about MT-32s? Do they regulate too do you know?

Thanks again.
If it's broke, then fix it!
User avatar
badmojo
l33t
 
Posts: 2738
Joined: 2011-10-11 @ 04:14
Location: Australia

Re: Have you opened your SC-55 to check the battery inside?

Postby keropi » 2017-11-22 @ 14:26

yep both mt-32 and cm-32L that I have opened do use a 7805 regulator since they are 5v devices :)
User avatar
keropi
l33t++
 
Posts: 6161
Joined: 2003-9-08 @ 06:45
Location: Greece

Re: Have you opened your SC-55 to check the battery inside?

Postby derSammler » 2017-11-22 @ 15:33

btw, we need a thread "Have you opened your SB-55 to check the caps inside?" ;)
derSammler
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1263
Joined: 2017-4-14 @ 11:30
Location: Germany

PreviousNext

Return to Sound

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: tpowell.ca and 2 guests