VOGONS

Common searches


First post, by BOBAH1

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

if I capture images - the screenshots are in the original quality. But when I capture the video using Ctrl+Alt+F5 , the video quality is terrible. muddy and bad quality. Is it possible to change the quality of captured video?

image

duneImageDosbox.jpg
Filename
duneImageDosbox.jpg
File size
32.78 KiB
Views
1538 views
File comment
dune image
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

video

duneVideoDosbox.jpg
Filename
duneVideoDosbox.jpg
File size
11.12 KiB
Views
1538 views
File comment
dune video
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

the original screenshot in *.bmp at the same.

Last edited by BOBAH1 on 2017-12-23, 18:22. Edited 2 times in total.

http://1917.gq/en/enindex.htm

Reply 1 of 28, by Qbix

User metadata
Rank DOSBox Author
Rank
DOSBox Author

The video should be identical as it is lossless. Do you have the correct codec installed ?

Water flows down the stream
How to ask questions the smart way!

Reply 2 of 28, by BOBAH1

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

i install ZMBV codec from Dosbox at path Start -> Programs -> Dosbox 0.74 -> Video -> Install Movie Codec . And now this captured video look in all video-players. But in bad quality...

and now i download and test the D-Fend Reloaded with Dosbox, but quality at the same.

http://1917.gq/en/enindex.htm

Reply 3 of 28, by BOBAH1

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
ctrl+F5.jpg
Filename
ctrl+F5.jpg
File size
14.78 KiB
Views
1456 views
File comment
ctrl+F5
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception
ctrl+alt+F5.jpg
Filename
ctrl+alt+F5.jpg
File size
14.18 KiB
Views
1456 views
File comment
ctrl+alt+F5
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception
Last edited by BOBAH1 on 2017-12-25, 07:01. Edited 2 times in total.

http://1917.gq/en/enindex.htm

Reply 4 of 28, by BOBAH1

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

screenshot in *.png:

Harkonens-1.jpg
Filename
Harkonens-1.jpg
File size
73.65 KiB
Views
1456 views
File comment
Harkonens-1
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

from video:

Harkonens-2.jpg
Filename
Harkonens-2.jpg
File size
70.28 KiB
Views
1456 views
File comment
Harkonens-2
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception
dune.JPG
Filename
dune.JPG
File size
119.2 KiB
Views
1456 views
File comment
dune
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

http://1917.gq/en/enindex.htm

Reply 5 of 28, by BOBAH1

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

I thought about it. and I think I understand. Apparently case codecs.

Downloaded with of-site VLC player - it's really good. And he's the only one who play these Dosbox` files in original quality without post-processing. Now i can see that the captured video is really uncompressed, Lossless.

But here's the catch. All other players can't handle these video files. And even the video editors can't handle them. Still turns out blurry. Even conversion doesn't help.

Sorry to DOSBox no choice of the codec recorded video. After all, no? Really have to run the game in DOSBox, and grab something else, such as Fraps? I just with this codec is ZMBV never worked. Maybe I something doing wrong?

now i searched this links:

dosbox ZMBV codec in Premiere Pro CS5.5?
https://forums.adobe.com/thread/934327

https://forum.videohelp.com/threads/372738-Po … or-reproduction

How to edit Dosbox videos in Windows Movie Maker
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7VDrWmstSdE

but in all video-editor after any conversion get dirty and muddy video.

Last edited by BOBAH1 on 2017-12-25, 09:57. Edited 1 time in total.

http://1917.gq/en/enindex.htm

Reply 7 of 28, by BOBAH1

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

yes, but convert again only in Lossless ZMBV format, a format that not read all of the other players and video editors (or rather read, but dull and dirty). If you convert to any other format (mp4, 3gp, or other avi without lossless), then output again get dirty and muddy picture. not original RGB.

http://1917.gq/en/enindex.htm

Reply 9 of 28, by BOBAH1

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
Qbix wrote:

maybe it is a case of having to install the codec twice ? (32 and 64 bit)

that is ZMBV twice?

i read ZMBV Codec Bug and it says it's version only one.

but this https://www.moviecodec.com/video-codecs/probl … ndows-7-124905/...

this 64x ZMBV 64-bit codec, here you go.
...now when i installing the 64x version of ZMBV.dll on my 32x Win, this videos no come better in quality, but their colours exchanges: red in blue, and blue in red)) i deleting 64x version)

another variants?)

Last edited by BOBAH1 on 2017-12-25, 18:38. Edited 1 time in total.

http://1917.gq/en/enindex.htm

Reply 11 of 28, by BOBAH1

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

An example. I open Dosbox`video using VirtualDub. Can cut. If I choose Direct Stream Copy, can save at the same quality. If you choose any other output format without zoom, the result is muddy and blurry. But VirtualDub is a linear editor. With him the good movie will not do. Need nonlinear. my Womble Mpeg Video Wizard quietly opens DOSBox original files without zoom, but as blurred. And the vaunted Adobe Premiere can't even open original DOSBox files!

I mean, yes, when the dosbox`video in the original size, not zoomed, it appears in player as the original - as in DOSBox. In addition to VLC player, or for example another good player Reganam 2010 under XP. But only when you switch the output played video from direct3D or directX (muddy) on gl2 or directX:noaccel (clearly).

Of course, when you zoomed this video in the video editor, it will look worse. But at least the original must be of acceptable quality. And if the original is blurred, the result is generally a nightmare.

http://1917.gq/en/enindex.htm

Reply 12 of 28, by Falcosoft

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
BOBAH1 wrote:

An example. I open Dosbox`video using VirtualDub. Can cut. If I choose Direct Stream Copy, can save at the same quality. If you choose any other output format without zoom, the result is muddy and blurry...

In VirtualDub instead of Direct Stream Copy you should use Video -> Full processing mode and in Video -> Compression.. you should select Uncompressed (RGB/YCbCr). This way you can eliminate all the codec related problems since all editors should handle uncompressed video streams. But I really do not think your problem is ZMBV codec related. As others have written above this must be some scaling problems. Try to capture with Fraps and your preferred codec. I think you will get the same blur/filter/scaling problem if the player/editor view size is different from the video size.

Website, Facebook, Youtube
Falcosoft Midi Player + Munt VSTi + BassMidi VSTi topic

Reply 13 of 28, by BOBAH1

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
Falcosoft wrote:

In VirtualDub instead of Direct Stream Copy you should use Video -> Full processing mode and in Video -> Compression.. you should select Uncompressed (RGB/YCbCr). This way you can eliminate all the codec related problems since all editors should handle uncompressed video streams. But I really do not think your problem is ZMBV codec related. As others have written above this must be some scaling problems. Try to capture with Fraps and your preferred codec. I think you will get the same blur/filter/scaling problem if the player/editor view size is different from the video size.

yes, i do now capture with Fraps, and have blurry video.

In short, to sum up.

Original I was not able to achieve. Decided to act like this:

1. Increase with Dub source ZMBV (from the DOS VGA 320х200 in 720х450 for example) by selecting in the settings, {VirtualDub} Video->Full processing . Also codec Video->Compression->UncompressedRGB/YCbCr . And choose filter mode not bicubic or bilinear, but the first: Nearest Neighbor - then it turns clear. The resulting uncompressed video with almost identical quality, is understood by all editors.

2. Then, you put it in a video editor and there are already working on . But add 30% of sharpness to get closer to the DOS original.

The result is not as it was in DOS, but the picture comes out more decent than at the beginning. And the text even takes on some 3D appearance.

1original.jpg
Filename
1original.jpg
File size
20.89 KiB
Views
1276 views
File comment
original
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception
2easy.jpg
Filename
2easy.jpg
File size
19.15 KiB
Views
1276 views
File comment
easy
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception
3dub.jpg
Filename
3dub.jpg
File size
18.96 KiB
Views
1275 views
File comment
dub
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

Thanks for the help!

The codec ZMBV "zombie-codec", the authors did soundly, efficiently placing - shot DOSBox in small size but for yourself. It is very rare, and work with it directly not possible.

Last edited by BOBAH1 on 2017-12-29, 07:58. Edited 2 times in total.

http://1917.gq/en/enindex.htm

Reply 14 of 28, by Falcosoft

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

Hi,
Just another tip for your consideration. The 320x200 native resolution of older games were intended to be aspect ratio corrected to 4/3 (like 320x240 or 640x480). 320x200 VGA/MCGA mode is not a square pixel resolution! Since you have already decided to resize the video in VirtualDub during the 1st conversion process anyway, you should consider that instead of resizing it to 720х450 resize it to proper 4/3 aspect ratio (like 720x540 or rather 640x480).
This way the video editors/players will get an already aspect ratio corrected video and so no further scaling is required to display aspect ratio correct video on today's square pixel resolution monitors.

Website, Facebook, Youtube
Falcosoft Midi Player + Munt VSTi + BassMidi VSTi topic

Reply 15 of 28, by olddos25

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
BOBAH1 wrote:
if I capture images - the screenshots are in the original quality. But when I capture the video using Ctrl+Alt+F5 , the video qu […]
Show full quote

if I capture images - the screenshots are in the original quality. But when I capture the video using Ctrl+Alt+F5 , the video quality is terrible. muddy and bad quality. Is it possible to change the quality of captured video?

image

duneImageDosbox.jpg

video

duneVideoDosbox.jpg

the original screenshot in *.bmp at the same.

I don't see any diffrerence.

Currently mod on several Discord servs and a forum, so you can trust me if you want a DOSBox mod here!
Other places to find me:
DraStic: http://drastic-ds.com (as dsattorney)
EPForums: http://www.epforums.org (as emulationfan)

Reply 16 of 28, by BOBAH1

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
olddos25 wrote:

I don't see any diffrerence.

game.jpg
Filename
game.jpg
File size
19.95 KiB
Views
1217 views
File comment
game
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

http://1917.gq/en/enindex.htm

Reply 17 of 28, by BOBAH1

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
Falcosoft wrote:

Hi,
Just another tip for your consideration. The 320x200 native resolution of older games were intended to be aspect ratio corrected to 4/3 (like 320x240 or 640x480). 320x200 VGA/MCGA mode is not a square pixel resolution! Since you have already decided to resize the video in VirtualDub during the 1st conversion process anyway, you should consider that instead of resizing it to 720х450 resize it to proper 4/3 aspect ratio (like 720x540 or rather 640x480).
This way the video editors/players will get an already aspect ratio corrected video and so no further scaling is required to display aspect ratio correct video on today's square pixel resolution monitors.

Why is it so? If I make a direct increase, as a source, the video correctly increases. With the correct aspect ratio, such as in the game itself. But if I do in VirtualDub aspect ratio "to take the height of size" - e.g. 4:3, the video is stretched vertically.

1directenlarge720x450.jpg
Filename
1directenlarge720x450.jpg
File size
20.04 KiB
Views
1214 views
File comment
direct enlarge 720x450
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception
2takeheightfromsize720x540.jpg
Filename
2takeheightfromsize720x540.jpg
File size
21.36 KiB
Views
1214 views
File comment
take height from size 720x540
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

If we assume in Adobe Premiere video displayed with wrong proportions, then I switch "Identification of the original video." The quality is not the same kind of suffering?

http://1917.gq/en/enindex.htm

Reply 18 of 28, by Falcosoft

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

Why is it so?

Because it was 'the way it's meant to be played' 😀 MCGA 320x200 mode's pixel aspect ratio is 1:1.2 not 1:1. It's analogous to CGA mode 640×200 that had a pixel aspect ratio 1:2.4 and also was meant to be displayed as a 4/3 resolution and not as a 16/5 one.

The picture below is from a period correct CRT display. Notice that the planet is round!
download/file.php?id=11324

You can find the topic where the picture is from here:
Dune II HD port at last!

More background info:
http://doom.wikia.com/wiki/Aspect_ratio
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Multi-Color_Graphics_Array
320x200 in the proper aspect ratio on an LCD

@Edit:
So the rationale behind my suggestion is the following:
Some people prefer pixel-perfect scaling to proper aspect ratio and it can be achieved e.g. on DosBox (VIDEO Patch for pixel-perfect scaling (SDL1))
But in case of distributable mpeg based compressed videos it is nearly a mission impossible. Even if you succeed in making it pixel-perfect by using lossless compression you cannot guarantee video players do not apply filtering/scaling during playback.
If you apply resizing/sharpening and other processing during conversion that alters the pixel layout and kills pixel-perfectness anyway you should make the video at least aspect ratio correct.

Website, Facebook, Youtube
Falcosoft Midi Player + Munt VSTi + BassMidi VSTi topic

Reply 19 of 28, by BOBAH1

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
dune2_CRT_intro.JPG
Filename
dune2_CRT_intro.JPG
File size
25.56 KiB
Views
1170 views
File comment
round planet
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

yes, my planet is not round...

not round planet.png
Filename
not round planet.png
File size
7.13 KiB
Views
1171 views
File comment
not round planet
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

...but then in game have correct squares

noname.jpg
Filename
noname.jpg
File size
57.6 KiB
Views
1170 views
File comment
32x32
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

it turns out all this time since Millenium, I played in Dosbox with wrong proportions? Nightmare. Now i going to read and a lot of thinking...

http://1917.gq/en/enindex.htm