Heads Up: Roland Sound Canvas VA VSTi Plugin!

Discussion about old sound cards, MIDI devices and sound related accessories.

Re: Heads Up: Roland Sound Canvas VA VSTi Plugin!

Postby Falcosoft » 2018-5-18 @ 09:03

slayerheart wrote:But sometimes, the instruments keeps on getting somewhat "water splash" effects when I play a note or a MIDI song and I have to restart the MIDI Player to get rid of the effect :/

Instead of restarting anything you should try to reset SC-VA by using Options->System->Reset button or by setting your Midi Player to send GS Reset SysEx messages between songs. It should work.
SC-VA does not know that a midi file finished playing and the effects set by a file remain active without explicit resets.
User avatar
Falcosoft
Oldbie
 
Posts: 674
Joined: 2016-5-21 @ 13:46
Location: Pécs, Hungary


Re: Heads Up: Roland Sound Canvas VA VSTi Plugin!

Postby Danfun64 » 2018-7-15 @ 02:25

Is Version 1.11 still the latest version of this plugin?
Danfun64
Member
 
Posts: 104
Joined: 2009-11-15 @ 20:33

Re: Heads Up: Roland Sound Canvas VA VSTi Plugin!

Postby MAN-biker » 2018-7-15 @ 23:58

Danfun64 wrote:Is Version 1.11 still the latest version of this plugin?

I think 1.13(S) (Build 1130) x64
Games' collection 1983-2017. Nickname MAN-biker is registered!
Black Sect Remake (AGS) - Russian version
Lands of Lore: The Throne of Chaos [CD] - Russian version
Warcraft Adventures: Lord of the Clans - Full walkthrough
User avatar
MAN-biker
Newbie
 
Posts: 25
Joined: 2003-8-01 @ 02:50
Location: Russia

Re: Heads Up: Roland Sound Canvas VA VSTi Plugin!

Postby Mr_Blastman » 2018-8-15 @ 18:52

Is this only available as payware or is there a freeware or trialware version?

I lost my midi ports and likely my auxiliary audio inputs several months ago due to a new power supply smoking them along with all five of my hard drives. :-| And with my wife's ridiculous ongoing medical bills from her chronic illness, I'm broke, but would like to enjoy some SC-55 goodness. I can look at mine, sitting atop my MT-32, but neither can communicate with my PC at the moment.
User avatar
Mr_Blastman
Newbie
 
Posts: 98
Joined: 2005-7-26 @ 02:53

Re: Heads Up: Roland Sound Canvas VA VSTi Plugin!

Postby SpeedySPCFan » 2018-8-16 @ 04:34

Mr_Blastman wrote:Is this only available as payware or is there a freeware or trialware version?

I lost my midi ports and likely my auxiliary audio inputs several months ago due to a new power supply smoking them along with all five of my hard drives. :-| And with my wife's ridiculous ongoing medical bills from her chronic illness, I'm broke, but would like to enjoy some SC-55 goodness. I can look at mine, sitting atop my MT-32, but neither can communicate with my PC at the moment.


There's a trial version but it only works for 15 minutes at a time. If you want it for longer than that, you gotta pay.
YouTube
SoundCloud
Musician & YouTuber. Currently working on Planet X3 and Necrolepsy.

MIDI modules: Roland MT-32, SC-55 (2.00 ROM), SC-88 Pro, and SC-8850, KORG NX5R, Yamaha MU1000EX. PM me if you want any music/soundtracks recorded!
User avatar
SpeedySPCFan
Member
 
Posts: 164
Joined: 2014-10-30 @ 20:34

Re: Heads Up: Roland Sound Canvas VA VSTi Plugin!

Postby MAN-biker » 2018-8-16 @ 14:21

SpeedySPCFan wrote:There's a trial version but it only works for 15 minutes at a time. If you want it for longer than that, you gotta pay.

...or search GOOGLE for "portable" one.
Version number is not a point for old games music, SCVA 1.0.3 is a perfect choice.
By the way, try to listen Yamaha-Tyrus soft synth based on YmF-New. It sounds great! Even better SCVA (or real Roland SC).
But it's size is about 900 mb.
Games' collection 1983-2017. Nickname MAN-biker is registered!
Black Sect Remake (AGS) - Russian version
Lands of Lore: The Throne of Chaos [CD] - Russian version
Warcraft Adventures: Lord of the Clans - Full walkthrough
User avatar
MAN-biker
Newbie
 
Posts: 25
Joined: 2003-8-01 @ 02:50
Location: Russia

Re: Heads Up: Roland Sound Canvas VA VSTi Plugin!

Postby The Sandman » 2018-9-24 @ 20:52

He's right. Tyro(u)s sounds awesome - when it comes to games that use heavy-music. Crazy russian hackers though :-P

http://www.midiworld.com/files/1076/

remains a midi, but you can hear the difference, if you compare Yamaha to Roland.
User avatar
The Sandman
Newbie
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 2015-7-26 @ 10:13

Re: Heads Up: Roland Sound Canvas VA VSTi Plugin!

Postby citrixscu » 2018-9-25 @ 17:48

Is this Yamaha soft synth available via legal means? I’m not familiar with it.
User avatar
citrixscu
Newbie
 
Posts: 28
Joined: 2013-9-18 @ 05:37

Re: Heads Up: Roland Sound Canvas VA VSTi Plugin!

Postby The Sandman » 2018-9-25 @ 21:29

Don't think so. I guess they ripped all the instruments from a Tyros Keyboard and putted them into a custom-made plugin like the Yamaha S-YXG50 one.

MAN-bikers hints will lead you the way...
User avatar
The Sandman
Newbie
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 2015-7-26 @ 10:13

Re: Heads Up: Roland Sound Canvas VA VSTi Plugin!

Postby Synthoridity » 2018-9-28 @ 10:30

Tyrus sounds pretty cool, especially the guitars, although I noticed at least one issue: The ocarina is out-of-tune. Noticeable in DOOM E2M2, with both SAVIHost and VST MIDI Driver. To be specific, it is note C7 that sounds just slightly off in that particular MIDI track. I hope that they are able to fix that, because overall this synth is very, very good.
User avatar
Synthoridity
Newbie
 
Posts: 56
Joined: 2014-6-01 @ 07:26
Location: Australia

Re: Heads Up: Roland Sound Canvas VA VSTi Plugin!

Postby kode54 » 2018-9-29 @ 05:25

Are you using the latest? There are now three different revisions of the Tyrus sampler released. The third, which was the latest at the time I last checked, was reduced to a size of about 500MB, and even in its current unfinished state, it doesn’t use all of that data for samples, the plugin just has a padded bank size to allow for future growth, or so I assume. The latest comes in a 1GB+ bundle of other stuff, that also includes a copy of Cakewalk 9, so I think they’re really pushing the bounds of legality here. Also an EULA breaking redistribution of Coolsoft’s MIDI Mapper, which mysteriously doesn’t open and work unless you grab the official installer and install that.
User avatar
kode54
Member
 
Posts: 242
Joined: 2003-6-15 @ 05:32

Re: Heads Up: Roland Sound Canvas VA VSTi Plugin!

Postby The Sandman » 2018-9-29 @ 07:39

The 1GB+ Pack will install a lot of stuff without having the option to select what you want to install or not. Hands off imho.

Something for your ears:

Roland

https://youtu.be/wdQ2zYiO3eg


Tyrus

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YmxgLwL1wM0
User avatar
The Sandman
Newbie
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 2015-7-26 @ 10:13

Re: Heads Up: Roland Sound Canvas VA VSTi Plugin!

Postby Synthoridity » 2018-9-29 @ 12:37

Legal issues aside...Tyrus has some of the best-sounding General MIDI instruments I've ever head. Raptor's synthy/orchestral/metal soundtrack and the harpsichord themes from Nitemare 3D's soundtrack (the GM-optimized version) sound full and powerful. The only complaint would be the instrument balance; sometimes instruments can overpower or fight with others (like the bass and timpani in DOOM II's Map 20). However, that issue is a given with more realistic, heavier GM banks. In short, Roland's Sound Canvas is good for the best balance but has "weaker" instruments, while Tyrus is good for high-quality, realistic, beefy instruments at the cost of certain tracks sounding unbalanced.
User avatar
Synthoridity
Newbie
 
Posts: 56
Joined: 2014-6-01 @ 07:26
Location: Australia

Re: Heads Up: Roland Sound Canvas VA VSTi Plugin!

Postby MAN-biker » 2018-9-29 @ 12:38

In this test SCVA sounds BETTER then Tyrus =)
Games' collection 1983-2017. Nickname MAN-biker is registered!
Black Sect Remake (AGS) - Russian version
Lands of Lore: The Throne of Chaos [CD] - Russian version
Warcraft Adventures: Lord of the Clans - Full walkthrough
User avatar
MAN-biker
Newbie
 
Posts: 25
Joined: 2003-8-01 @ 02:50
Location: Russia

Re: Heads Up: Roland Sound Canvas VA VSTi Plugin!

Postby ChAoS Overlord » 2018-10-08 @ 13:18

kode54 wrote:Are you using the latest? There are now three different revisions of the Tyrus sampler released. The third, which was the latest at the time I last checked, was reduced to a size of about 500MB, and even in its current unfinished state, it doesn’t use all of that data for samples, the plugin just has a padded bank size to allow for future growth, or so I assume. The latest comes in a 1GB+ bundle of other stuff, that also includes a copy of Cakewalk 9, so I think they’re really pushing the bounds of legality here. Also an EULA breaking redistribution of Coolsoft’s MIDI Mapper, which mysteriously doesn’t open and work unless you grab the official installer and install that.


I'm at a loss as to where to find these...
User avatar
ChAoS Overlord
Newbie
 
Posts: 39
Joined: 2004-4-15 @ 11:28

Re: Heads Up: Roland Sound Canvas VA VSTi Plugin!

Postby kode54 » 2018-10-10 @ 06:54

There is a Yamaha-Tyrus link in a post above, which directs to a Google search, which leads to a post, which links to a VKontakte forum dedicated to these instrument hacks. I cannot link it directly, and I surmise that merely directing you to that Google search will get that link deleted.

The forum is entirely in Russian, and server-side translator pages don’t work on it because it’s entirely AJAX based. Google Chrome in browser translation works, though.
User avatar
kode54
Member
 
Posts: 242
Joined: 2003-6-15 @ 05:32

Re: Heads Up: Roland Sound Canvas VA VSTi Plugin!

Postby The Sandman » 2018-10-10 @ 19:23

Just watch the Tyrus video above and read the comments
User avatar
The Sandman
Newbie
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 2015-7-26 @ 10:13

Previous

Return to Sound

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests