VOGONS

First post, by foey

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank

SDS2 Project

Hey guys. I've always been interested in dual processor motherboards and now I've got the retro bug I decided to have a scout on ebay for anything.

I spotted a brand new Intel SDS2 Motherboard in its original box, never used. The bloke who ran the auction also put up a small video of the board. I managed to get it for.... £6 (£1 bid, £5 postage) which I was pleased with! 😊

So parts, I've got a Motherboard but I need the rest.

The Case

I work in IT and built a server for a client of mine back in 2006 in a Antec Titan. Mid-way through last year I replaced and decommissioned it. Since then its been sitting in a store room. I decided to dig it out as It would be perfect for the SDS2 Build! It has a Antec 550w PSU in with the +12 plug for the motherboard.

Its pretty clean, has a couple of scratches on the top but other than that just needed a little clean. He she is, all clean!

2beknl.jpg

538twp.jpg

The Motherboard

I know what your thinking, Its got no AGP. Your right but it was £6! I plan to get a decent-ish PCI, either a Geforce 6200 or a FX5500 soon.
The board is as advertised brand new. It still has that new hardware smell. The box has only been opened for the auction.

110hpw5.jpg

el4mld.jpg

bezyoz.jpg

2m3s19f.jpg

The Build

Motherboard fitted. I replaced the rear case fan with a spare I had.

s28m7m.jpg

Onto the CPUs. I bought a couple of 1.4Ghz Intel Pentium III Tualatin processors with original heatsink and fans. The Heatsink and fans were like they had never been used!

I cleaned the CPUs and applied some Artic Silver 5

34oapvd.jpg

Can't beat that dual processor heatsink/fan look 😀 😀

1zmpeg9.jpg

I bought 2x512mb ECC Registered RAM from the bay, cost me £6. I plan to add more. Just want to make everything works first.

117zsao.jpg

On to the first boot. This is where I started to have problems...

16709y.jpg