VOGONS

Common searches

First post, by Parazythum

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank

Hi there,

I'm new to this board, and also to DosBox 😀 I have played a little with this stunning program, and now I have some (I hope) intelligent questions...

1- Is there a list about how many cycles you have to emulate to have a 8086, a 8088, a 286, 386, etc ? I put 15,000 on my system, and my processor just turns at 10%... So I would like to know if it's not a bit high ?
2- The core item in the dosbox.conf : what do mean the "full" and "dynamic" options ? Is "dynamic" a HLE thingy ?
3- I have a weird problem with my SCSI CD-ROM. When I mount my drive with "mount d z:\ -usecd 1 -t cdrom", it works good, but I can't eject the CD-ROM to put in another one. When I add "-aspi", I have a MSCDEX error, but it works (loom won't launch though, for example). There I can change CD's, they are all detected - great but not enough. When I add "-ioctl" instead of "-aspi", I'm in the first case : I can't change CD's, but Loom works 😀 (I saw the MSCDEX line saying all's OK)
4- I have an even greater weird issue with my DVD-RW drive ! When I launch the correct "mount" command, all works well with "-aspi". Great 😀 I can change CD's, no problem. The only problem is, for example, when I put the original Loom CD. When I launch "LOOM.EXE", it is MOUNT.EXE that answers !!! I can't even show the content of a .TXT file. There is catalog access, but no file access 🙁
5- I have browsed this forum and the 'net to find a problem to stuttering sound while playing audio tracks (example : Loom) but couldn't find a way to fix it. I've tried to disable digital audio reading, tried several utilities that pretend to choose your CD drive speed... Crap ! The down spintime is too great to correctly play all the track parts that are in loom 🙁

That's all for the questions folks !