Darkspyre not loading

Having problems with a specific game or application? Post your problems here!

Darkspyre not loading

Postby jimsikra » 2019-11-17 @ 02:55

Having issues running Darkspyre with DosBox:

"Warning: file C:\games\darkspyre\HORIZON exists and failed to open in write mode. Please remove write-protection."

I've removed write-protection multiple times, and it still doesn't work. I have tried running it with both the Darkspyre files from myabandonware as well as my own files from the original 3.5" disks.

Any advice?
jimsikra
Newbie
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 2019-11-16 @ 17:01

Re: Darkspyre not loading

Postby Qbix » 2019-11-17 @ 14:00

Was the write protection actually set ?
Water flows down the stream
How to ask questions the smart way!
User avatar
Qbix
DOSBox Author
 
Posts: 10953
Joined: 2002-11-27 @ 14:50
Location: Fryslan

Re: Darkspyre not loading

Postby jimsikra » 2019-11-18 @ 00:05

Nope. Not sure what to do
Attachments
2.JPG
ScreenShot.JPG
jimsikra
Newbie
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 2019-11-16 @ 17:01

Re: Darkspyre not loading

Postby jmarsh » 2019-11-18 @ 03:03

Those pictures refer to different files, C:\games\darkspyre\HORIZON vs. C:\games\darkspyr\disk1\HORIZON
jmarsh
Member
 
Posts: 333
Joined: 2014-1-04 @ 09:17

Re: Darkspyre not loading

Postby jimsikra » 2019-11-19 @ 00:04

Good catch. It's the same issue whether I use my original files or the ones from the abandonware website (those are the two folders).
Attachments
3.JPG
jimsikra
Newbie
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 2019-11-16 @ 17:01

Re: Darkspyre not loading

Postby jimsikra » 2019-11-19 @ 00:27

I did a search on the error I got, found another post on this site. Seems you have to put the game folder inside the dosbox program folder. Got it to work! Thanks for the responses
jimsikra
Newbie
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 2019-11-16 @ 17:01

Re: Darkspyre not loading

Postby krcroft » 2019-11-19 @ 00:38

C:\games\darkspyre\ was probably created from a process that got elevated privileges (and therefore applied those ownership attributes to the sub-directories and files), where as your DOSBox executable process is probably being launched as your non-elevated user.

Try launching DOSBox as an administrator; if that solves it then you can work on changing the ownership of the entire C:\games\darkspyre\* tree back to your user account.
User avatar
krcroft
Member
 
Posts: 421
Joined: 2017-4-29 @ 15:07
Location: Ogden's Retreat


Return to DOSBox Games/Apps

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests