VOGONS


Dual PIII-S Tualatin 1.4 GHz Success Stories

Topic actions

Reply 240 of 257, by Paadam

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

My P3TDE6 runs GT6800 AGP perfectly, AGP 2x but no need for any special drivers or hacks, OS is XP Pro SP3.

Many 3Dfx and Pentium III-S stuff.
My amibay FS thread: www.amibay.com/showthread.php?88030-Man ... -370-dual)

Reply 241 of 257, by adalbert

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

HD4650 AGP works fine on 6VXD7 (with pin-modded CPU). I have Via 694x chipsed with AGP 4x enabled in BIOS. The only problem is that GPU-Z (I only tested the most recent version) crashes the PC, but I didn't experience other problems. You can even play Source games in 1080p with somewhat playable framerates https://youtube.com/playlist?list=PLHYhIwP-NS … HokxJoJNAI2Xven

Repair videos: https://youtu.be/T6mXM1tA7pA

Reply 242 of 257, by Paadam

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

I was referring to the problems usually associated with Serverworks chipset equipped boards with AGP port.

Many 3Dfx and Pentium III-S stuff.
My amibay FS thread: www.amibay.com/showthread.php?88030-Man ... -370-dual)

Reply 243 of 257, by feipoa

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++
Paadam wrote on 2021-02-08, 17:10:

I was referring to the problems usually associated with Serverworks chipset equipped boards with AGP port.

At least on that Supermicro dual Tualatin Serverworks board, AGP 2x seems to function, whereas on the Tyan Serverworks board it must be set to AGP 1x to get reliable operation. I've been meaning to benchmark the AGP results on these dual Tualatin board and compare them with conventional single-core Tualatin boards, which presumable have AGP implemented a bit better. I'm hoping that the dual channel SDRAM might make up for any AGP shortcomings.

I find those Supermicro Tualatin boards problematic in general. I went through 3 before I found one that worked.

Ultimate 486 Benchmark | Ultimate 686 Benchmark | Cyrix 5x86 Enhancements | 486 Overkill Graphics | Worlds Fastest 486

Reply 245 of 257, by Paadam

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

Mine got ~11k points with stock clocks in 3DMark2001SE, nothing overclocked. Seems good enough for me.

Many 3Dfx and Pentium III-S stuff.
My amibay FS thread: www.amibay.com/showthread.php?88030-Man ... -370-dual)

Reply 246 of 257, by Mamba

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

Do not know if it is a success or not, but one of the forum users sent me two P3-s that completed my pro266td build.
I am not able to change cpu voltage.

It can take a hd4650 but appears to be incompatible with hd3850... Strange...

Here what it can do (3gb and mass effect launched without issues)

Attachments

Reply 247 of 257, by MadYoshi

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

A new success story,

two Pentium III-S 1,40 GHz on a Intel SDS2.

IMG_20220227_213938.jpg
Filename
IMG_20220227_213938.jpg
File size
245.52 KiB
Views
342 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception
CPU-Z.jpg
Filename
CPU-Z.jpg
File size
191.13 KiB
Views
342 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

Bios version 3.0 is currently still on my SDS2. The latest version is 3.2. I've already rummaged through archive.org, but unfortunately I couldn't find a downloadable link. In case someone might have saved the bios file with them, I would be very happy about it.

The information I was able to extract from the Intel Bios File page is as follows:
SDS2_BIOS Release 3.2 Build 52 [BIOS52.EXE]
Date: 8/8/2003
Size: 1712 (KB)

Reply 248 of 257, by PC Hoarder Patrol

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
MadYoshi wrote on 2022-03-16, 00:21:
A new success story, […]
Show full quote

A new success story,

two Pentium III-S 1,40 GHz on a Intel SDS2.

IMG_20220227_213938.jpg

CPU-Z.jpg

Bios version 3.0 is currently still on my SDS2. The latest version is 3.2. I've already rummaged through archive.org, but unfortunately I couldn't find a downloadable link. In case someone might have saved the bios file with them, I would be very happy about it.

The information I was able to extract from the Intel Bios File page is as follows:
SDS2_BIOS Release 3.2 Build 52 [BIOS52.EXE]
Date: 8/8/2003
Size: 1712 (KB)

Here you go

Filename
BIOS52.exe
File size
1.67 MiB
Downloads
5 downloads
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

Hoping to snag a couple of these baords (and a pair of STL2s) shortly.

Reply 249 of 257, by luckybob

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

Good luck with that, ebay trolls have snatched up any boards that were remotely affordable, bumped the price to asinine levels and will sit on them until they rot.

It is a mistake to think you can solve any major problems just with potatoes.

Reply 250 of 257, by PC Hoarder Patrol

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
luckybob wrote on 2022-03-16, 18:42:

Good luck with that, ebay trolls have snatched up any boards that were remotely affordable, bumped the price to asinine levels and will sit on them until they rot.

Boards are already secured (just not to hand yet) and none will get the chance to rest inside an anti-static bag for long 😀 but yeah, ebay is pretty much a bust for so much now (4 figures for an SDS2 - holy hell what are these people thinking!!!)

Mine have come thru a trade (goods + services) from my own circle of contacts; probably average $50-75 a board, plus a bit extra for some cpus & ecc memory, and that's the kind of level for these I tend to move them on at as well thru the same route.

Reply 251 of 257, by luckybob

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

I used to own an sds2, it ran as my first file server 20 years ago. I wish I had kept it.

I do have the Tyan version, and the unobtainable asus trl-dls. (Thanks Liqmatrix!)

I will admit I have several ebay saved searches, for the sds2. I need to restore the trifecta. ^.^

It is a mistake to think you can solve any major problems just with potatoes.

Reply 252 of 257, by sirotkaslo

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

Hi,
which coolers are you using for your tualatins? I have the MSI pro266TD master LR and it got horrible caps positions. I unfortunately broke the clip on one of the oem coolers and need something new. I have titans, golden orbs, but nothing really fits 😀
thanks

Reply 255 of 257, by Errius

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
luckybob wrote on 2022-03-17, 10:24:

I will admit I have several ebay saved searches, for the sds2. I need to restore the trifecta. ^.^

what forces manifest when all three are joined under the same roof?

“I like to dissect PCs. Don't you know I'm utterly insane?"

Reply 256 of 257, by MadYoshi

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
PC Hoarder Patrol wrote on 2022-03-16, 02:26:
Here you go […]
Show full quote
MadYoshi wrote on 2022-03-16, 00:21:
A new success story, […]
Show full quote

A new success story,

two Pentium III-S 1,40 GHz on a Intel SDS2.

IMG_20220227_213938.jpg

CPU-Z.jpg

Bios version 3.0 is currently still on my SDS2. The latest version is 3.2. I've already rummaged through archive.org, but unfortunately I couldn't find a downloadable link. In case someone might have saved the bios file with them, I would be very happy about it.

The information I was able to extract from the Intel Bios File page is as follows:
SDS2_BIOS Release 3.2 Build 52 [BIOS52.EXE]
Date: 8/8/2003
Size: 1712 (KB)

Here you go

BIOS52.exe

Hoping to snag a couple of these baords (and a pair of STL2s) shortly.

That it is! Thank you 😀

Reply 257 of 257, by luckybob

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
Errius wrote on 2022-03-17, 20:18:

what forces manifest when all three are joined under the same roof?

I'll send a buff little twink after Ganon?

It is a mistake to think you can solve any major problems just with potatoes.