VOGONS


Fastest Windows XP System

Topic actions

Reply 100 of 121, by archsan

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
y2k se wrote:

I don't have much of one since I haven't researched them much. It seems the general idea is the 1080 beats the 980 and 980ti by a decent margin. The only question I really ask myself is if I ought to hold out for some 1080ti thing. Part of the challenge for me is that iRacing is only now in a beta stage for a DX11 engine, so its hard to know if the 1080 will be enough for me. 5760x1080 @ 144Hz is a bunch of pixels and I might want to go to 27" monitors, so that would be 7680x1440 @144Hz.

Hmm the 980 Ti's already sold out, so at least someone thought that that was a fair price. Anyway, I'm going to wait for proper benchmarks (this is what I mean, e.g. 780Ti over 980, 580 over 680 etc). Also rumor has it that the 1080 Ti won't be the full GP100 either, but GP102 variant. Yeah, right... must protect Titan's exorbitant prices. 🙄 (edit -- Oops, make that Tesla & Quadro! Next Titan probably on GP102 as well) The bright side is that the new cards would have at least 8GB vram which is obviously very usable for rendering.

Re: your 3-display setup, I wonder, is something like this supported: [16:9][ 21:9 ][16:9] or wide/ultrawide/wide?

"Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic."—Arthur C. Clarke
"No way. Installing the drivers on these things always gives me a headache."—Guybrush Threepwood (on cutting-edge voodoo technology)

Reply 101 of 121, by y2k se

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

You can using something like SoftTh to do that, but I think there's a performance hit. Nvidia's built in solution requires the same resolution and some modes also require the same connector across the monitors. My 3 in surround are connected by DisplayPort and the 4th by DVI.

Tualatin Celeron 1.4, ASUS P2B, 512 MB, GeForce 3 Ti 200, Voodoo2 SLI, AWE64, WD 80GB SE HDD, Dell 2007FP

Reply 102 of 121, by nforce4max

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
archsan wrote:

Also rumor has it that the 1080 Ti won't be the full GP100 either, but GP102 variant. Yeah, right... must protect Titan's exorbitant prices. 🙄 (edit -- Oops, make that Tesla & Quadro! Next Titan probably on GP102 as well) The bright side is that the new cards would have at least 8GB vram which is obviously very usable for rendering.

Re: your 3-display setup, I wonder, is something like this supported: [16:9][ 21:9 ][16:9] or wide/ultrawide/wide?

That crap turned me off to Nvidia a good ways back when Kepler first came out, if I was money bags I would probably go full Quadro. If you want to see something really expensive just look up FTK (digital forensics software) and see how much that costs 🤣, makes those Quadros look like a bargain 😲

At least FTK doesn't suck unlike Encase (projectile vomit). The UI in Encase is cancer...

On a far away planet reading your posts in the year 10,191.

Reply 103 of 121, by Robin4

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
PhilsComputerLab wrote:

The 560 Ti is a great card. Quite easy to find second hand and great performance and power efficient. I prefer the value / mainstream cards over high end. So all the x60 cards like the 460, 560 and 660. They are much cheaper and easier to find.

A lot more testing needs to be done, but the XP games I tried all worked fine.

Which driver version did you used for that 560 TI on windows XP?

~ At least it can do black and white~

Reply 104 of 121, by PhilsComputerLab

User metadata
Rank Hardware Mod
Rank
Hardware Mod
Robin4 wrote:

Which driver version did you used for that 560 TI on windows XP?

It was just a brief test and I used the driver that the Nvidia website gives you, so quiet a recent one.

YouTube, Facebook, Website

Reply 106 of 121, by candle_86

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
nforce4max wrote:
archsan wrote:

Also rumor has it that the 1080 Ti won't be the full GP100 either, but GP102 variant. Yeah, right... must protect Titan's exorbitant prices. 🙄 (edit -- Oops, make that Tesla & Quadro! Next Titan probably on GP102 as well) The bright side is that the new cards would have at least 8GB vram which is obviously very usable for rendering.

Re: your 3-display setup, I wonder, is something like this supported: [16:9][ 21:9 ][16:9] or wide/ultrawide/wide?

That crap turned me off to Nvidia a good ways back when Kepler first came out, if I was money bags I would probably go full Quadro. If you want to see something really expensive just look up FTK (digital forensics software) and see how much that costs 🤣, makes those Quadros look like a bargain 😲

At least FTK doesn't suck unlike Encase (projectile vomit). The UI in Encase is cancer...

Why does it turn you off? Would AMD have survived GTX 680 if it was GK110? I don't think so. Imagine the 700 series up against the HD7000, AMD wouldn't have made it. Be glad Nvidia holds back on consumer it's useful to our wallets to let AMD compete

Reply 107 of 121, by SPBHM

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
candle_86 wrote:

Why does it turn you off? Would AMD have survived GTX 680 if it was GK110? I don't think so. Imagine the 700 series up against the HD7000, AMD wouldn't have made it. Be glad Nvidia holds back on consumer it's useful to our wallets to let AMD compete

I think GK110 was not quite ready for launch at the time the 680 was launched? they could rush things and end up with another GTX 480 or worse? which they didn't want to repeat? I think we started to see the first GK110 cards being sold like almost a year after the first 7900s... even the professional cards..

also... the gap from the 7970 GHz to the 780 was significant but... not all that amazing even at launch, it would be more like 4870 vs GTX 285 sure, but AMD could manage that because I don't think the 780 and the 7970 GHz would be sold at the same time for the same price, they would adjust prices accordingly, also, it's funny how much better the Radeon has aged, on newer titles it's not uncommon to see a 7970GHz matching or even beating the 780

Reply 108 of 121, by y2k se

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
Robin4 wrote:

Guessing it was a gameworks driver?

368.22 is the current driver for 500 series cards on Windows XP. I think I have 365.10 or 365.19 on my XP system.

Tualatin Celeron 1.4, ASUS P2B, 512 MB, GeForce 3 Ti 200, Voodoo2 SLI, AWE64, WD 80GB SE HDD, Dell 2007FP

Reply 109 of 121, by PhilsComputerLab

User metadata
Rank Hardware Mod
Rank
Hardware Mod

Gameworks doesn't ring any bells, sorry.

Now, what about AMD. My fastest AMD card is a 6770, I really like that card. A single 6 pin connector, decent performance and nice and quiet. But it's slower than a GTX 285.

Now I don't know all the AMD model numbers, what faster AMD cards are worth checking out and good value?

YouTube, Facebook, Website

Reply 110 of 121, by nforce4max

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
PhilsComputerLab wrote:

Gameworks doesn't ring any bells, sorry.

Now, what about AMD. My fastest AMD card is a 6770, I really like that card. A single 6 pin connector, decent performance and nice and quiet. But it's slower than a GTX 285.

Now I don't know all the AMD model numbers, what faster AMD cards are worth checking out and good value?

5870 and 6970 are pretty cheap if you want something decent but GCN era cards are faster however I haven't gotten around to buying any to see how well they working with xp. If you just want bragging rights and have a half decent case and psu hunt around for a 5970 (dual gpu) for less than $100 usd shipped. 6990 and 7990 are often pricey.

On a far away planet reading your posts in the year 10,191.

Reply 113 of 121, by y2k se

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
y2k se wrote:

The XP system paused on NASCAR Racing 2003 Season. Every setting in the game is maxed and I've got 8x AA with 16x Anisotropic enabled in Nvidia's control panel. The worst frame rates I've seen so far are around mid 90's.

I increased AA a few levels and started getting fps drops into the 50's, so I've swapped the 560 ti for a spare 660 ti I had sitting around.

Tualatin Celeron 1.4, ASUS P2B, 512 MB, GeForce 3 Ti 200, Voodoo2 SLI, AWE64, WD 80GB SE HDD, Dell 2007FP

Reply 115 of 121, by Imperious

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

It's easy to get confused with AMD's model numbers as they played marketing games after the 5850/5870 series.

Esentially it went like this

3850 < 4850 < 5850 < 6950 <7950 same for the 3870 to 5870 to 7970

The 5770 and 6770 are just about exactly the same card, and pretty much the 7770 isn't much better

6850/6870 turned into 7850/7870

r9-270x is the same GPU as 7870 and so is the r7-370

I currently have a r9-270 which has one 6 pin pcie connector. The 270x has 2 and overclocks better.

Atari 2600, TI994a, Vic20, c64, ZX Spectrum 128, Amstrad CPC464, Atari 65XE, Commodore Plus/4, Amiga 500
PC's from XT 8088, 486, Pentium MMX, K6, Athlon, P3, P4, 775, to current Ryzen 2600.

Reply 117 of 121, by dizzydevil

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Hello everyone!
Has anyone tried evga x390 dark with Windows xp support?
There is an installation with various nuances.
Will such a system work fully for games?
Support for Kepler video card or x-fi sound?

Reply 118 of 121, by Warlord

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

I mean Kepler is pretty old and is already fully supported on XP. So assuming you got XP to instal with modded ACPI, I see no reason it wouldn't work. evga z390 doesn't have any PCI slots. So Idk what XFI card you are going to run. Maybe better question is what is the compatibility issues with a PCI-Express XFI and windows XP. Personally I heard it is shit.

Reply 119 of 121, by darry

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
Warlord wrote on 2021-03-07, 20:46:

I mean Kepler is pretty old and is already fully supported on XP. So assuming you got XP to instal with modded ACPI, I see no reason it wouldn't work. evga z390 doesn't have any PCI slots. So Idk what XFI card you are going to run. Maybe better question is what is the compatibility issues with a PCI-Express XFI and windows XP. Personally I heard it is shit.

I have a legacy PCI X-FI card (SB0460) in a PCI Express slot (using a PLX based bridge) and use it in Windows 7 and 10. I do only use it for listening to music and some recording . For those uses, it works fine . The board is a Supermicro X8SAX .