VOGONS


Reply 180 of 356, by Slashzero

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
CuPid wrote on 2020-02-03, 13:46:
Slashzero wrote on 2020-02-03, 02:04:

Hi there! Are you still looking for testers? I have some older hardware I can try it on.

Yes definitely, especially on 486 & PIIIs. Thanks !

Ok! I need to head in to work right now, but I will try it out later today.

Reply 181 of 356, by red-ray

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

The latest CPUZ_x32 crashes, but CPUZ_95 runs and I suspect you may wish to use the C3-M logo

file.php?id=76000

Attachments

  • RVN.PNG
    Filename
    RVN.PNG
    File size
    51.4 KiB
    Views
    809 views
    File comment
    Screen shot showing cpuz_x32 crashed
    File license
    Public domain
  • Filename
    RVN.zip
    File size
    14.98 KiB
    Downloads
    10 downloads
    File comment
    Crash dump files and report
    File license
    Public domain

Reply 182 of 356, by Slashzero

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Sorry, my 30GB Maxtor drive I dug out of storage and was running Windows 98SE on died. I’ve swapped to a 60GB drive and am in the process of setting everything back up.

I will test this later.

Update: Man, I had to reinstall windows a few times. Installed drivers in the wrong order and WIndows 98SE went all sorts of wonky. Anyway, I'm back up and running now. I will download CPU-Z from the original post and try it out.

Update 2: So, I did try it out on my Windows 98 machine, and it detected everything perfectly. I am now working on my other desktop, which was running as an unstable Windows Vista machine. I just reformatted the drive, and am running XP Pro (and posting this from the XP machine). Once I get the video drivers, and sound card drivers installed, I will run CPU-Z on the Pentium D machine as well, for science.

Reply 183 of 356, by Slashzero

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

I’m trying to run the Win95 version, but it caused a BSOD when I ran it. Attaching image so you can see the error.

01238D65-D8A5-4F2F-A20F-EC3A145CC738.jpeg
Filename
01238D65-D8A5-4F2F-A20F-EC3A145CC738.jpeg
File size
17.22 KiB
Views
762 views
File license
CC-BY-4.0

I reset the laptop, and tried again. Made it to 22%, and the system froze.

Had do do a hard reset. Control-Alt-Delete did not work.

Tried a third time. It is consistently locking up my laptop at 22% (Monitoring).

34F00CAD-29E2-4A80-BB33-4E6CC9F28CBE.jpeg
Filename
34F00CAD-29E2-4A80-BB33-4E6CC9F28CBE.jpeg
File size
25.01 KiB
Views
763 views
File license
CC-BY-4.0

Reply 186 of 356, by CoffeeOne

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

Last but not least, I am going to the cpu-z with the antique computer (Micronics ASIC EISA mainboard, 133MHz Kingston Turbo chip, 64MB 30 pin SIMM RAM, only EISA slots) as well.
On Windows 98 SE I have to use the Vintage edition 1.01.
So I started it and ***boom*** blue screen, but fortunately windows kept running, no reboot necessary.

But I very quickly found out, how I could run it:
I changed in the ini file "SPD" to 0 and it worked.

The cpu is detected well, the mainboard (and so the 256kB L2 cache) and the graphics card are not detected.

Attachments

  • cpuz-mic-mainboard.jpg
    Filename
    cpuz-mic-mainboard.jpg
    File size
    39.21 KiB
    Views
    736 views
    File license
    Fair use/fair dealing exception
  • cpuz-mic-cpu.jpg
    Filename
    cpuz-mic-cpu.jpg
    File size
    48.03 KiB
    Views
    736 views
    File license
    Fair use/fair dealing exception
  • cpuz-mic-graphics.jpg
    Filename
    cpuz-mic-graphics.jpg
    File size
    30.48 KiB
    Views
    736 views
    File license
    Fair use/fair dealing exception

Reply 187 of 356, by Slashzero

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
red-ray wrote on 2020-02-12, 08:45:
Slashzero wrote on 2020-02-12, 03:03:

Made it to 22%, and the system froze.

Try editing cpuz.ini and changing Sensor=1 to Sensor=0

So, the zip file didn’t have an ini file to start from. It just had the single exe. I suppose I could create an ini file and put the single setting in it, and hope it reads it.

Reply 188 of 356, by red-ray

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
Slashzero wrote on 2020-02-13, 05:00:
red-ray wrote on 2020-02-12, 08:45:
Slashzero wrote on 2020-02-12, 03:03:

Made it to 22%, and the system froze.

Try editing cpuz.ini and changing Sensor=1 to Sensor=0

So, the zip file didn’t have an ini file to start from. It just had the single exe. I suppose I could create an ini file and put the single setting in it, and hope it reads it.

I would copy the cpuz.ini from a different system or you could paste as follows into one.

[CPU-Z]
VERSION=1.9.1.0
TextFontName=
TextFontSize=14
TextFontColor=000080
LabelFontName=
LabelFontSize=14
ACPI=1
PCI=1
MaxPCIBus=256
DMI=1
Sensor=1
SMBus=1
Display=1
UseDisplayAPI=1
BusClock=1
Chipset=1
SPD=1
XOC=0

Reply 189 of 356, by red-ray

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

The CPUZ Vintage Edition seems to have issues that CPUZ_x32 does not so I suspect some bugs crept in, further both the 32-bit builds report the incorrect number of cores even though CPUID 0000000B correctly reports 18 cores to 32-bit programs.

file.php?id=76852

Attachments

  • RED.png
    Filename
    RED.png
    File size
    60.42 KiB
    Views
    710 views
    File comment
    Compararison
    File license
    Public domain

Reply 190 of 356, by Slashzero

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
red-ray wrote on 2020-02-13, 09:42:
The CPUZ Vintage Edition seems to have issues that CPUZ_x32 does not so I suspect some bugs crept in, further both the 32-bit bu […]
Show full quote

The CPUZ Vintage Edition seems to have issues that CPUZ_x32 does not so I suspect some bugs crept in, further both the 32-bit builds report the incorrect number of cores even though CPUID 0000000B correctly reports 18 cores to 32-bit programs.

file.php?id=76852

Locks up in the same spot. 😒

Reply 193 of 356, by Machine Monarch

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Tried the beta version cpuz_w95.zip (cpuz_w9x.exe) on my Toshiba Satellite Pro 430CDT laptop. It loads until 22% and then it either freezes up the entire machine or screen goes black and nothing responds until I force restart it.

Processor is an Intel Pentium 120Mhz (2.9v/3.3v)

For what its worth here's some additional info about the processor;

External data bus width: 64 bit
External data/address bus speed: 66 MHz
Integrated Coprocessor: Yes
Processor Cache: 16KB: (8KB code; 8KB data)

Reply 195 of 356, by CuPid

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
agent_x007 wrote on 2020-02-23, 22:28:

Any chance of making FSB visible together with RDRAM clock speed ?

yes, I check and let you know.

Machine Monarch wrote on 2020-02-25, 22:16:

Tried the beta version cpuz_w95.zip (cpuz_w9x.exe) on my Toshiba Satellite Pro 430CDT laptop. It loads until 22% and then it either freezes up the entire machine or screen goes black and nothing responds until I force restart it.

Can you please edit cpuz.ini and set Chipset=0 ?
What is the last message displayed on the progress bar ? (processor, memory ...)

douglar wrote on 2020-03-02, 16:22:

Is it possible to start the CPU benchmark without a mouse?
I didn't see a hot key and I could not figure out how tab through to the button.

Good point, I'll add a hotkey.

I need a vacation.

tbmtg3-99.png
zav4kj-99.png

Reply 197 of 356, by CuPid

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
appiah4 wrote on 2020-03-04, 14:16:

Do you need information on AMD K5 or Cyrix 6x86MX processors?

in theory the K5 and the 6x86MX should be well supported, but if you have the opportunity to run a test and notice a problem, it is welcome.

I need a vacation.

tbmtg3-99.png
zav4kj-99.png

Reply 198 of 356, by appiah4

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++
CuPid wrote on 2020-03-04, 16:31:
appiah4 wrote on 2020-03-04, 14:16:

Do you need information on AMD K5 or Cyrix 6x86MX processors?

in theory the K5 and the 6x86MX should be well supported, but if you have the opportunity to run a test and notice a problem, it is welcome.

I will check with both when I install Win95 tonight.

Retronautics: A digital gallery of my retro computers, hardware and projects.

Reply 199 of 356, by lordmogul

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Not really odd, rare or unusual hardware, but I will put it up anyway for completion sake.

hardware tested:

CPU: Pentium 3 933EB || overclocked to 1035 MHz (148x7.0)
Graphics: GeForce 3 Ti 200
Motherboard: Asus CUSL2-C (intel i915EP)
RAM: 256 MB PC133 SDRAM (Infineon) CL3-3-3-5-7 || overclocked to 148 MHz CL3-3-3-7-9)
Tested under Windows 98 SE with the 1.01.0 vintage edition and the old 1.78.1 version that does run on 9x, and both as well as the latest version under XP Pro SP3


benchmark

Benchmark does a little better under XP, but seems to be within margin of error (<2%), same as with FSB speed (<0.1% difference, but consistently the same values even after restarts)
5caKX6b.png
(I can rerun them on default clocks again if you want)


pictures:

main screen under 98 SE
HbYcdu3.png
benchmark under 98 SE
zlIRfcF.png
about screen under 98 SE
J9X6t2p.png
main screen under XP
oKGGLmo.png
benchmark under XP
SytfGVw.png
about screen under XP
imEulrN.png

Attachments

P3 933EB @1035 (7x148) | CUSL2-C | GF3Ti200 | 256M PC133cl3 @148cl3 | 98SE & XP Pro SP3
X5460 @4.1 (9x456) | P35-DS3R | GTX660Ti | 8G DDR2-800cl5 @912cl6 | XP Pro SP3 & 7 SP1
3570K @4.4 GHz | Z77-D3H | GTX1060 | 16G DDR3-1600cl9 @2133cl12 | 7 SP1