VOGONS

Suggestions for vodoo 2 system

Topic actions

First post, by predator_085

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank

Hello everyone. I have never build a retro gaming pc before but I want to start with it in the next couple of month.

For my first build I want to recreate a rather potent vodoo 2 system to run most the famous games from 1997 to 1999. I am want to build a single vodoo 2 rig. Getting another one for Sli wouldn't be uncool matter but getting 2 vodoo with the current pricing of the 3dfx cards is out of the question at the moment.

As I have never done this before I do not know where to start.

Which configurations would you guysr recommend ?

Which cpu would you recommend for example? I have read that getting the right cpu is tricky because If you chose a too powerful one which is too modern could overwhelm the voodoo 2.

Which 2d card would you recommend that would the perfect partner for a vodoo 2?

Are all vodoo manufactures equal or are som more desirable than others?

is the 12 mb version a must or could I also hunt for a 8mb version?

I would be pleased hearing some opinons.

And sorry to bother you guys with my super noob questions.

Reply 1 of 47, by rasz_pl

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

If you just want to try few glide games pcem emulates voodoo quite well.

> I have read that getting the right cpu is tricky because If you chose a too powerful one which is too modern could overwhelm the voodoo 2.

no, but there are diminishing returns past 700-1000mhz
If you are buying Voodoo2 to actually use and enjoy I wouldnt bother with 8mb unless you can upgrade it to 12MB yourself.
If you are $spending$ on 3dfx and arent after relieving childhood traumas get Intel platform. Name brand 440BX/815/815e/815ep board + Pentium 3 + 256MB of ram + IDE-to-SATA converter with SATA SSD + something like SB Live.

voodoo2 $200-300
ATI Rage whatever/Matrox G whatever/brand name nvidia AGP card $10