VOGONS


dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Topic actions

  • This topic is locked. You cannot reply or edit posts.

Reply 840 of 3949, by Mr.Blade

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Hi,

it's currently possible to limit the frame rate by the refresh rate, so usually 60 FPS.

But some older DirectDraw oder Direct3D games (Interstate '76 for example) would only work well if the frame rate could be limited to ~ 30 FPS.

Is there a chance to implement a "real" frame limiter into dgVoodoo 2?

Banner01_Small.jpg

Reply 841 of 3949, by MrEWhite

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
Mr.Blade wrote:
Hi, […]
Show full quote

Hi,

it's currently possible to limit the frame rate by the refresh rate, so usually 60 FPS.

But some older DirectDraw oder Direct3D games (Interstate '76 for example) would only work well if the frame rate could be limited to ~ 30 FPS.

Is there a chance to implement a "real" frame limiter into dgVoodoo 2?

This, some games also stutter if you don't cap them, even with v-sync.

Reply 843 of 3949, by MrEWhite

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
ZellSF wrote:

IIRC you can limit framerate with MSI's OSD, probably through other means too.

It would be a nice option though, just saying if you really want to do it, it's already possible.

I would like to have it built in though, running one program is enough (dgVoodoo)

Reply 844 of 3949, by Mr.Blade

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
ZellSF wrote:

IIRC you can limit framerate with MSI's OSD, probably through other means too.

It would be a nice option though, just saying if you really want to do it, it's already possible.

Thanks, i will give it a try.

Anyway, it'd great to see this in dgVoodoo.

Banner01_Small.jpg

Reply 845 of 3949, by VEG

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Dege, I've tried to set D3DRENDERSTATE_ANTIALIAS to D3DANTIALIAS_SORTINDEPENDENT, but it seems that it does nothing. It seems that my drivers take into account only own settings. What do you think, it is better to leave D3DRENDERSTATE_ANTIALIAS = 0 or it is better to set some value? 😀
According to problem with CreateDevice. Error code: DDERR_INVALIDOBJECT DirectDraw received a pointer that was an invalid DIRECTDRAW object. So, I've sent him a link to ApiTrace and waiting full trace of D3D calls. Maybe it will help...
Hmm... Maybe it is better to write this things to PM? 😀 It's an offtopic here.

Best regards, Evgeny

Reply 846 of 3949, by Arklay

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Jagged Alliance Gold with official patch 1.13 perfect, with unofficial patch I have this error
Outwars perfect in 3d and software mode

Attachments

  • 2015-06-04_183533.jpg
    Filename
    2015-06-04_183533.jpg
    File size
    131.12 KiB
    Views
    3746 views
    File license
    Fair use/fair dealing exception

Reply 847 of 3949, by jcgo16

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

i tried dgvoodoo 2 for ddraw but when i tried to login, it goes to window mode
i think there's a conflict with the IE calls ingame *just my theory

Game: O2Jam

http://o2jam.intgamerz.net

sometimes it lags

Attachments

  • dgvoodoo.png
    Filename
    dgvoodoo.png
    File size
    960.45 KiB
    Views
    3654 views
    File license
    Fair use/fair dealing exception

Reply 848 of 3949, by ZellSF

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

Galshell, a freeware game (so should be easy to find) has sprite transparency issues (the sprites are 24 BPP images). FYI: it's not a porn game, but it's not very safe for work...

Works natively, but too low framerate to be playable.

Hellbound by the same author also has transparency issues, but it also has crippling performance issues in dgVoodoo2 (well, the title screen runs at 6 FPS natively and 2 FPS with dgVoodoo2...).

Attachments

Reply 849 of 3949, by Dege

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

Thanks for the reports!
I'm in a middle in a code refactoring stage (+found some other rendering bugs to debug) so unfortunately I cannot fix those bugs too quickly. 🙁

I think I should compile a list for the reported games not to forget the older ones. 😀

Reply 850 of 3949, by ZellSF

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

Extreme G-2's UI issues are not because of bilinear blt stretch btw:
Xtreme G-2 Fixed Graphics Using Latest dgVooDoo
Also it displays correctly in DXGL (has other issues) and WineD3D, but not natively.

Here's how it's supposed to look.
Here's dgVoodoo2

Last edited by ZellSF on 2015-06-10, 11:44. Edited 2 times in total.

Reply 851 of 3949, by ricardokung

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Hello,did anybody got Turok Dinosaur Hunter working?.Every time I try,It crashes on start up.

Windows 7 x64-Intel i7 4790k(4.0hz)-Motherboard Gigabyte z97x-gaming-Ram 12gb Kingston-Evga GTX 660ti-Asus VG278H-Samsung 3dtv 46F7500-3d Vision kit

Last edited by ricardokung on 2015-06-10, 14:46. Edited 1 time in total.

Reply 852 of 3949, by Gamecollector

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

Turok have a behavior to crash if there is any .dll file except video_*.dll in the game directory. You must replace the *.dll* mask in the turok.exe to fix this (offset 92DD0).

Asus P4P800 SE/Pentium4 3.2E/2 Gb DDR400B,
Radeon HD3850 Agp (Sapphire), Catalyst 14.4 (XpProSp3).
Voodoo2 12 MB SLI, Win2k drivers 1.02.00 (XpProSp3).

Reply 854 of 3949, by Expack3

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

Battle Realms, which actually uses DX7 despite needing DX8 installed, no longer has multi-monitor issues when using dgVoodoo 2 - but not without setup, though. The trick to solving the problem is by adding the game's root folder to dgVoodoo 2's list of config folders, then under the general tab, select the monitor you want to display the game on.

Reply 857 of 3949, by ZellSF

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
Gamecollector wrote:

Turok have a behavior to crash if there is any .dll file except video_*.dll in the game directory. You must replace the *.dll* mask in the turok.exe to fix this (offset 92DD0).

If I replace that then Turok just stops finding its own video driver dll files.

Edit: oops got it. I feel stupid. *.dll* means import video drivers from all *.dll* and a crash when it runs into a dll that has no video drivers to export. Changing to something that only matches video drivers (*vide*) is of course what you're supposed to do.

Low framerate though (in both dgVoodoo2 and Glide, so not dgVoodoo2's fault). Edit: ... that's an internal framerate limiter you can modify with -MaxFramerate.

Reply 858 of 3949, by DracoNihil

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
ZellSF wrote:
Extreme G-2's UI issues are not because of bilinear blt stretch btw: Xtreme G-2 Fixed Graphics Using Latest dgVooDoo Also it dis […]
Show full quote

Extreme G-2's UI issues are not because of bilinear blt stretch btw:
Xtreme G-2 Fixed Graphics Using Latest dgVooDoo
Also it displays correctly in DXGL (has other issues) and WineD3D, but not natively.

Here's how it's supposed to look.
Here's dgVoodoo2

That dgVoodoo2 video, funny. At the time this was really the only thing I saw that would get the game to run on his machine, crazy to see the vid linked here to show the GUI error.

I should get in touch with my ex to see if he's willing to try to use WineD3D with it instead, but he doesn't seem to care about the GUI problems. I also had to enable a few shims in ACT to get the game to not lock up after a minute of playing. (Though instead of locking up, it jerks for half a second)

How well does Army Men 2 perform on dgvoodoo2 and a modern system?

Steam Profile
YouTube Channel
Seal of Nehahra

Reply 859 of 3949, by ZellSF

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
DracoNihil wrote:

How well does Army Men 2 perform on dgvoodoo2 and a modern system?

It's perfect, but there's a problem:

1: in the system database it's set to win98 compatibility by default and this breaks dgVoodoo2, you need to disable this entry.

2: if you disable that entry you'll break FMV playback. I have just created a custom compatibility mode that's all the Win95 compatibility fixes without one that seems to frequently break wrappers (DirectPlayEnumOrder , which doesn't actually make a lot of sense).