dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

General information and assistance with dgVoodoo.

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby lowenz » 2019-2-12 @ 20:53

ZellSF wrote:dgVoodoo2 has no internal framerate limiter, but RTSS works fine.

dgVoodoo2 VSync acts like a limiter (it works in windowed mode too!)
lowenz
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1138
Joined: 2014-12-20 @ 01:30

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby lowenz » 2019-2-12 @ 21:01

lowenz wrote:
ZellSF wrote:dgVoodoo2 has no internal framerate limiter, but RTSS works fine.

dgVoodoo2 VSync acts like a limiter (it works in windowed mode too!)

Example:

Image
lowenz
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1138
Joined: 2014-12-20 @ 01:30

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby VirtuaIceMan » 2019-2-12 @ 22:58

I think MGPRS2 in D3D is like (from memory) Speed Busters, and likes running super fast.
My PC spec: Win10 64bit, i7-4970K (not overclocked) MSI Nvidia GeForce GTX 980, Creative Soundblaster ZXr, 16GB RAM, Asus Z97-A motherboard, NZXT 410 case, ROG Swift GSYNC monitor
User avatar
VirtuaIceMan
Oldbie
 
Posts: 925
Joined: 2003-12-22 @ 00:57

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby ZellSF » 2019-2-13 @ 08:41

lowenz wrote:
lowenz wrote:
ZellSF wrote:dgVoodoo2 has no internal framerate limiter, but RTSS works fine.

dgVoodoo2 VSync acts like a limiter (it works in windowed mode too!)

Example:

Image

That's useless for non-60 FPS titles though, like The Reap (probably 35 FPS), Wipeout 2097 (maybe 25 FPS?) and the one VirtuaIceMan mentioned.
ZellSF
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1458
Joined: 2006-1-01 @ 18:19

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby lowenz » 2019-2-13 @ 12:48

Yes, but it's always a ceiling to avoid "over9000 FPS" glitches :p
lowenz
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1138
Joined: 2014-12-20 @ 01:30

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby RaVeN-05 » 2019-2-13 @ 21:21

Tested with Mageslayer & Take no prisoners & Requiem Aveaning Angel & thief 1 & nosferaty = wow wow wow works excellent.

oh browsed this thread quickly and found you talked about npatches (ATI truform on direct3d) oh yeas please =)

P.S.
also i want to know, how i can find out its support truform or not by searching hex or text strings in bnary anyone know? for opengl its "ATI_pn_triangles" and "ATIX_pn_triangles" for directx? sorry for offtopic.
User avatar
RaVeN-05
Member
 
Posts: 267
Joined: 2009-12-30 @ 13:32
Location: Ukraine

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby juxofir » 2019-2-14 @ 04:01

De-M-oN wrote:I've got a problem with 2.51 with Blood 2.

My windows mouse pointer is flickering into the game for some ms frequently.

It didnt happen with v2.50.

Maybe it has something to do with the new "capture mouse" option? It doesnt make a difference if checkmarked or not. The problem is only solvable by using 2.5

Here my settings:

http://abload.de/img/dgvoodoo2_5___1mfb55.png
http://abload.de/img/dgvoodoo2_5___2trz8b.png


Was this thing ever resolved?
juxofir
Newbie
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 2019-2-14 @ 03:32

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby RJ8 » 2019-2-16 @ 10:06

Yager

Space Combat game. Crosshair looks like a black sprite (supposed too look green only)
Attachments
Yager_DG.jpg
RJ8
Member
 
Posts: 135
Joined: 2016-4-14 @ 15:56
Location: Germany

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby RJ8 » 2019-3-05 @ 16:52

Terminator 3: War of the Machines

Screen goes completely grey when entering rendered scenes.

.
RJ8
Member
 
Posts: 135
Joined: 2016-4-14 @ 15:56
Location: Germany

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby ager » 2019-3-07 @ 10:22

OS: Win 10 64x, dgVoodoo v2.55.4.1, Game: BubbleBobble (works with DirectX)
Problem: black squares instead of animated sprites (see pic.).
Bug.jpg

Just in case I attach the files of the game itself
BBQuest.7z
(4.24 MiB) Downloaded 17 times
ager
Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2019-3-07 @ 10:10
Location: Russia

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby DanPC » 2019-3-11 @ 23:16

Hello there. I registered here just to report the problem.
I'm using the latest version of dgVoodoo, v.2.55.4.1, and for some reason it forces dgVoodoo watermark on top of the game, no matter what settings are. Enabling or disabling it in .exe seems to change it in config file as well, but it just ignores this setting.
Thanks in advance.
edit: Actually, all other settings are ignored as well. I've read that it can happen because of use of compatibility mode, which I never even attempted to use neither on the game nor on the launcher.
DanPC
Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2019-3-11 @ 23:10

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby lowenz » 2019-3-12 @ 11:00

Remove the old dgvoodoo config file in that dir and recreate it.
lowenz
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1138
Joined: 2014-12-20 @ 01:30

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby WSH303 » 2019-3-13 @ 14:11

Aliens vs Predator 2 crashes and hangs a lot since update to WIP58.
WSH303
Newbie
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 2016-5-13 @ 13:41

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby ZellSF » 2019-3-13 @ 14:19

Have you compared and made sure you're running identical settings?

Also if you're posting about the WIP, why not post in the WIP thread?
ZellSF
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1458
Joined: 2006-1-01 @ 18:19

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby VirtuaIceMan » 2019-3-15 @ 23:23

Weird, I seem to have stumbled across a combination that (for me) gives me perfectly smooth and not jam-sticky-slow or too-fast-for-anyone gameplay in Kellogg's G-r-rand Prix (aka Monaco Grand Prix Racing Simulation 2). The Kellogg's game only comes with the Direct3D version (the 3Dfx version behaves slightly better), and would either be too slow or too fast, depending on driver settings.

In the end, this worked for me:
Nvidia drivers: Monitor Tech: G-SYNC (yeah I have that! Using Fixed refresh rate = too slow), Preferred refresh rate: Highest available, Vertical sync: On (using Fast = too fast). dgVoodoo2 I don't have anything specific set. It seems to run fine like this!
My PC spec: Win10 64bit, i7-4970K (not overclocked) MSI Nvidia GeForce GTX 980, Creative Soundblaster ZXr, 16GB RAM, Asus Z97-A motherboard, NZXT 410 case, ROG Swift GSYNC monitor
User avatar
VirtuaIceMan
Oldbie
 
Posts: 925
Joined: 2003-12-22 @ 00:57

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby RJ8 » 2019-3-18 @ 20:41

Hello, anyone got Avatar working with the v3d9.dll trick ? I can t have the d3d9.dll in the game folder so i must go that way, but funny when hexediting some files nothing happens.

any ideas ?

RJ
RJ8
Member
 
Posts: 135
Joined: 2016-4-14 @ 15:56
Location: Germany

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby lowenz » 2019-3-18 @ 21:38

RJ8 wrote:Hello, anyone got Avatar working with the v3d9.dll trick ? I can t have the d3d9.dll in the game folder so i must go that way, but funny when hexediting some files nothing happens.

any ideas ?

RJ

Are you using the right HEX conversion?
lowenz
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1138
Joined: 2014-12-20 @ 01:30

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby RJ8 » 2019-3-18 @ 21:43

I would say so. Any other game ive edited that way worked. I edited dunia.dll and systemdetection.dll, when monitoring gamestart v3d9.dll will be called (at least its in the list of called dlls) but then afterwards it falls back to d3d9.dll . I apologize this should be probably under "WIP" because its DX9.
Last edited by RJ8 on 2019-3-19 @ 07:07, edited 3 times in total.
RJ8
Member
 
Posts: 135
Joined: 2016-4-14 @ 15:56
Location: Germany

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby buttertweet » 2019-3-19 @ 00:27

Can anyone help with the dreaded "double mouse cursor" problem? I know this is common in Star Wars Racer, but I am trying to run a couple of much more obscure games, namely Bicycle Casino and Hoyle Casino Empire (I know, I'm a gambling addict). I get two mouse cursors unless I run in windowed mode (which is too small for my taste - can't figure out how to stretch it to the full 768 height on my screen) or fullscreen 16:9 (which makes everything look too wide since both games are natively 4:3). Are there any particular settings in the cpl.exe that I should try?
buttertweet
Newbie
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 2014-5-03 @ 00:15

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11, GTA 3

Postby Glurak » 2019-3-23 @ 22:18

Dege wrote:
batterymandark wrote:Hi , i have been testing GTA 3 with the gta 3 enhanced edition, a.k.a "Makes GTA3 look like ps2 version in HD" and i think GTA3 disslike modern OS
So i did try to fix the problems with running dgvoodoo but..

i know from the past that gta 3 was a bit of a mixed bag to run on the PC,
However later now at the present, when i tried to combine dgvoodoo with GTA3 and enhanced edition, i'v notice 3 things

Nvidia , gives the worse experience, a lot of hiccups and very often frame spikes
AMD, gives the most okey experience, more micro stutter, but its almost perfect, but it also suffers from spikes sometimes
Intel HD, 1920x1080 , because vga... actually gives the best experience .

Now i have uploaded a frame time recording here of an somewhat realistic experience. so i did it with my AMD witch gives the most accurate behavior with or without dgvoodoo

https://1drv.ms/u/s!Agj8jUvjAJjzm1t-54cYJrIS4QVh

Also check your PM , i'v done something that should give the installation a lot easier, so you could test it

Yeah, I know about GTA3. I have that installed for a long time and tested it frequently.
Me too experienced heavy frame spikes (lagging) on nVidia but worked fine on AMD according to my memory. Exactly this was the situation for Duke Nukem Manhattan Project too.
It's weird because I couldn't explain (Duke) and still can't but since then
- I modified a certain thing in 2.55 that fixed Duke lagging on nVidia, it's smooth now
- I updated my nVidia driver
I don't know which one (or both together) but GTA3 is also super smooth for me now. Didn't check that recently on AMD but just did again on nVidia and Intel and it's working fine.

willow wrote:1) What are the differences between "scaling mode centered" and "scaling mode, centered keep aspect ratio"?
For each resolution selcted (640x480,2560x1440 or above my native resolution or other (my display is 2560x1440)), with "centered", aspect ratio stay 4/3.
With "centered keep aspect ratio", aspect ratio stay 4/3 if I select 4/3 resolution under my native resolution but if I select 16/9 resolution, aspect ratio become 16/9. If I select resolution above my native resolution, it's zoomed.

Ummm... errr... :blush: 'Centered, keep aspect ratio' is an unfortunate name for centered appearance where the scaling is done by dgVoodoo itself. Plain 'centered' is also for centered appearance but scaling is up to the graphics driver.
Of course keeping aspect ratio makes no sense here because it's always kept. It's only for distinguishing between the two.
For the same reason, if you choose larger resolution than your desktop resolution then you'll only see the middle part of the output image because it's centered on (and clipped to) a smaller area.



Just wondering where did you copied you the dg files for Duke Nukem Manhatten Project? For me the game never take the DG files.
Glurak
Newbie
 
Posts: 31
Joined: 2015-1-06 @ 15:51

PreviousNext

Return to dgVoodoo General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests