Matrox G2+ What Type Of Memory Does It Need?

Discussion about old graphics cards, monitors and video related things.

Re: Matrox G2+ What Type Of Memory Does It Need?

Postby Errius » 2018-8-09 @ 22:03

This needs testing!
"This player wasted $25 real dollars on this terrible mount. This player is therefore likely to have wasted money buying their character online."
User avatar
Errius
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1137
Joined: 2015-12-16 @ 19:16
Location: Lave Station

Re: Matrox G2+ What Type Of Memory Does It Need?

Postby swaaye » 2018-8-10 @ 00:26

Let me also suggest you search on MURC. You can find out just about anything about a Matrox card in there.
http://www.murc.ws/forumdisplay.php?10- ... order=desc
swaaye
Moderator
 
Posts: 7205
Joined: 2002-7-22 @ 21:24
Location: WI, USA

Re: Matrox G2+ What Type Of Memory Does It Need?

Postby Rawit » 2018-8-10 @ 06:49

swaaye wrote:I think adding RAM reduces memory clock speed. That would be undesirable. :)


From what I've heard/read adding memory keeps the clock/memory clock at 84/112 which is default for most cards, so overclocking won't work, but there wouldn't be a performance drop. But there are stock G200's out there that have been clocked higher and I'm not sure what happens when memory is added to those.
User avatar
Rawit
Member
 
Posts: 221
Joined: 2015-4-17 @ 07:01

Re: Matrox G2+ What Type Of Memory Does It Need?

Postby swaaye » 2018-8-10 @ 22:39

The info is in the so-called pins that they used to configure the BIOS. You are right that typically the clock isn't reduced. I saw one G200 that did however, but it also runs slightly higher memory clocks normally than the others for some reason. With memory expansion, it went down to a clock typical for the other cards.

This old site has a collection of BIOS pin data among other things. See the BIOS section.
https://web.archive.org/web/20040110103 ... bm/matrox/

One can also overclock cards by flashing modified pin data.
swaaye
Moderator
 
Posts: 7205
Joined: 2002-7-22 @ 21:24
Location: WI, USA

Re: Matrox G2+ What Type Of Memory Does It Need?

Postby Errius » 2018-8-11 @ 01:40

Previous discussions on this:

viewtopic.php?t=28670
viewtopic.php?t=28348
"This player wasted $25 real dollars on this terrible mount. This player is therefore likely to have wasted money buying their character online."
User avatar
Errius
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1137
Joined: 2015-12-16 @ 19:16
Location: Lave Station

Previous

Return to Video

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests