VOGONS

Common searches


First post, by Daniel3D

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

I don't know if this is the right spot to post this...

Hi everybody.
I'm Daniel, 41 years old and terrible at programming in any language. (not for lack of trying, Just too Dyslectic)
But I have ideas and I often find someone willing to build it.

I still play a 1991 DOS race game (stunts) and that has an active (modding) community, but the few programmers there are short on time.
Is there anyone interested with helping in writing part of the new SETUP program for the game.
The setup program is rewritten in qbasic. It needed to be rewritten because we recompiled the game executables.
The original used a loader to create an executable, but that had the exepack bug and other issues. The game itself is mostly written in assembly.

Setup to run the game with the right graphic mode and sound option is finished, so you can play the game again.
It still needs an Installer function.
The game directory has variable contents and subdirectories. (custom content and mods)
Installation can be form or to a removable medium. (basically from any location to any location)
It needs to check if the source directory contains game files and if the destination exists.
Create a directory if needed.
Copy the whole, including subdirectories, to the new location.
[this part just mimics the functions of the original installer]

Optional features
(re)Install the base game without additional content and modifications.
Install the game in the new location with selected modifications.
(de)Install modifications to current installation
- these options require a good understanding of the game and mechanics. They are welcome, but can wait.

Also, as an extra feature, I would like a Car manager.
The game supports 32 cars (it came with 11) but we are getting close to 100 cars now thanks to some active creators.
we need a tool that can move cars (4 files each, 5 if we include a graphic or metadata) from the game dir to a garage and back.

A lot of information can be found on the forum (forum.stunts.hu)
So if anyone wants to program but is looking for a project.

I apologize if I offended anyone by my shameless request.
I'm just getting frustrated and feeling a bit powerless.

Regards
Daniel

Reply 1 of 24, by Jo22

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++

Hi Daniel, nice to meet you! 😄

No, you didn't do anything wrong.
Your writing was fine, honest and polite.

Also, you asked for help/assistance instead of demanding it. 👍
That's not a matter of course anymore these days, I think.
Sometimes new users in DOSBox forums do treat the devs as if they're paid support personnel.

I'm sure there are quite a few people that could help you with the project.
All in all Vogons has a great community, with a few trolls also (which are occasionally kind though).

I could have a look into it, too. Maybe I can put something basic together.
- But please don't count on me, I generally want to help, but sometimes I don't have the power to get things done (in time). 😞

"Time, it seems, doesn't flow. For some it's fast, for some it's slow.
In what to one race is no time at all, another race can rise and fall..." - The Minstrel

//My video channel//

Reply 2 of 24, by canthearu

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

Sounds like fun. Haven't done anything like this in 30 years!

Maybe the existing setup software can be ported over to Visual Basic for DOS?

Message me (or reply in this thread) and I'll look at what I could do later. I still have the same time constraints as many others though, so won't promise anything either.

Reply 3 of 24, by Daniel3D

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Hi guys.
Thanks for the reply. And I apologize for my slow response.

The installer that I need (not the one I would like, just what I need) is not that difficult.
I have posted the same question on other forums and got some response and questions there.
Time seems to be a big thing (and the 30-year-old skills required don't help either)

For the installer, I wrote a pseudo script that may help to illustrate.
I also include pictures of the original installer (that doesn't function with the new version)
The setup program itself is already written, included here, this also has the look en feel of the original.

on run install
- ask source of the game #(can be the same as the current game dir or different, does not matter | does not need to be checked)
# Enter location to install form:
# EXAMPLE: A:\stunts\

#### Picture 1 ####

- check if the source contains SKID*.exe files (there should be four of them, but check for any)
Then the game is in the source location, can be a different copy than the one runing the installer, doesn't matter.

ask for destination,
# Enter GAME directory
# EXAMPLE c:\stunts\

#### Picture 2 ####

Check if the destination exists. Create or Ask to overwrite or change destination.
Don't check for enough space.

#### Picture 3 ####

then copy files [source directory + subdirectories + all files]
(ESC to terminate, don't revert, just stop)

#### Picture 4 ####

show, install complete box Return to menu on enter.

Attachments

  • Filename
    SETUP2.zip
    File size
    2.3 KiB
    Downloads
    52 downloads
    File comment
    SETUP2.bas
    File license
    GPL-2.0-or-later
  • source.png
    Filename
    source.png
    File size
    7.46 KiB
    Views
    1820 views
    File comment
    Picture 1,
    File license
    Public domain
  • Destination.png
    Filename
    Destination.png
    File size
    8.49 KiB
    Views
    1820 views
    File comment
    Picture 2,
    File license
    Public domain
  • warning.png
    Filename
    warning.png
    File size
    7.98 KiB
    Views
    1820 views
    File comment
    Picture 3,
    File license
    Public domain
  • copying.png
    Filename
    copying.png
    File size
    7.08 KiB
    Views
    1820 views
    File comment
    Picture 4,
    File license
    Public domain

Reply 4 of 24, by Daniel3D

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
canthearu wrote on 2021-10-04, 04:30:

Message me (or reply in this thread) and I'll look at what I could do later. I still have the same time constraints as many others though, so won't promise anything either.

I can't message you directly because I'm not yet authorized.

We are sorry, but you are not authorised to use this feature. You may have just registered here and may need to participate more in discussions to be able to use this feature.

Reply 5 of 24, by BloodyCactus

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

hmm if all you need is an installer, my installer does all that except check for certain files before installing.
(I could probably work on a garage manager easy enough)

https://bloodycactus.com/files/si103.zip

i have not played stunts in many many years.. the one I have is an INC release.

from the archive I have I generated an install script for my installer;

inside the stunts directory, unzip the si103 into "inst", then I copy the ini below as stunts.ini and run the commands

inst\mkdir dest
inst\icomp -i stunts.ini -s . -d dest
copy inst\install.exe dest
inst\brand dest\install.exe stunts

[install]
title=Stunts Installer!
patch=0
notes=Install Stunts! Best racer ever
name=stunts
dest_output=\stunts
close_note=\n\nThanks for installing $(TITLE).\n\n

[files]
groups=stunts,tracks

[group_stunts]
name=Stunts Install Files
optional=false
dest=$DEST
notes=This is it, stunts!
file1=ad15.drv
file2=adeng1.vce
file3=adskidms.vce
file4=alpine.pvs
file7=brian1.rpl
file8=caransx.res
file9=caraudi.res
file10=carcoun.res
file11=carfgto.res
file12=carjagu.res
file13=carlanc.res
file14=carlm02.res
file15=carp962.res
file16=carpc04.res
file17=carpmin.res
file18=carvett.res
file19=cga.cod
file20=cga.dif
file21=cga.hdr
file24=city.pvs
file25=country.pvs
file26=cred.res
file29=default.hig
file30=default.rpl
file31=default.trk
file32=desert.pvs
file33=desktopd.cfg
file34=ega.cmn
file35=ega.cod
file36=ega.hdr
file37=fontdef.fnt
file38=fontled.fnt
file39=fontn.fnt
file40=game.pre
file41=game1.p3s
file42=game2.p3s
file43=geeng.sfx
file45=install.pdm
file50=lharc.exe
file51=load.exe
file53=main.res
file54=mcga.cod
file55=mcga.dif
file56=mcga.hdr
Show last 111 lines
file57=mike's_b.rpl
file58=misc.pre
file59=mt15.drv
file60=mt32.plb
file61=mteng1.vce
file62=mtskidms.vce
file63=opp1.res
file64=opp1lose.pvs
file65=opp1win.pvs
file66=opp2.res
file67=opp2lose.pvs
file68=opp2win.pvs
file69=opp3.res
file70=opp3lose.pvs
file71=opp3win.pvs
file72=opp4.res
file73=opp4lose.pvs
file74=opp4win.pvs
file75=opp5.res
file76=opp5lose.pvs
file77=opp5win.pvs
file78=opp6.res
file79=opp6lose.pvs
file80=opp6win.pvs
file81=pc15.drv
file82=pceng1.vce
file83=pcskidms.vce
file84=sdcred.pes
file85=sdcsel.pvs
file86=sdgame.pvs
file87=sdgame2.pvs
file88=sdmain.pvs
file89=sdmsel.pvs
file90=sdosel.pvs
file91=sdtedit.pes
file92=sdtitl.pvs
file93=setup.dat
file94=setup.exe
file95=skidover.kms
file98=skidslct.kms
file99=skidtitl.kms
file100=skidvict.kms
file101=st.com
file102=stansx.p3s
file103=staudi.p3s
file104=stcoun.p3s
file105=stdaansx.pvs
file106=stdaaudi.pvs
file107=stdacoun.pvs
file108=stdafgto.pvs
file109=stdajagu.pvs
file110=stdalanc.pvs
file111=stdalm02.pvs
file112=stdap962.pvs
file113=stdapc04.pvs
file114=stdapmin.pvs
file115=stdavett.pvs
file116=stdbansx.pvs
file117=stdbaudi.pvs
file118=stdbcoun.pvs
file119=stdbfgto.pvs
file120=stdbjagu.pvs
file121=stdblanc.pvs
file122=stdblm02.pvs
file123=stdbp962.pvs
file124=stdbpc04.pvs
file125=stdbpmin.pvs
file126=stdbvett.pvs
file127=stfgto.p3s
file128=stjagu.p3s
file129=stlanc.p3s
file130=stlm02.p3s
file131=stp962.p3s
file132=stpc04.p3s
file133=stpmin.p3s
file136=stunts.com
file137=stunts.ini
file138=stvett.p3s
file139=td15.drv
file140=tdeng1.vce
file141=tdskidms.vce
file142=tdy.cod
file143=tdy.dif
file144=tdy.hdr
file145=tedit.pre
file146=title.p3s
file149=tropical.pvs

[group_tracks]
name=Track Files
optional=true
dest=$DEST
notes=The different stunts tracks (bernies, cherry, death, desert, joe, killer, skits, stu, tony)
file5=bernies.hig
file6=bernies.trk
file22=cherry.hig
file23=cherry.trk
file27=death.hig
file28=death.trk
file32=desert.pvs
file46=joes.hig
file47=joes.trk
file48=killer.hig
file49=killer.trk
file96=skids.hig
file97=skids.trk
file134=stu.hig
file135=stu.trk
file147=tony.hig
file148=tony.trk

--/\-[ Stu : Bloody Cactus :: [ https://bloodycactus.com :: http://kråketær.com ]-/\--

Reply 6 of 24, by Daniel3D

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
BloodyCactus wrote on 2021-10-14, 20:46:

hmm if all you need is an installer, my installer does all that except check for certain files before installing.
(I could probably work on a garage manager easy enough)

Thats really cool.
It is not completely compatible with the new version, i'm afraid.
The files are different and there is a lot of optional custom content for the game now.
So the installer/copier should be able to handle variable content and sub directorys.

As for the garage manager.
After I posted my question here (and a few other forums) one of the guys within the community stated on a garage manager.
It is a command line program but fully functional.
I would like it to have a text mode interface to match the setup though.
That program is written in FreeBasic and i have the source code.
I can explain the functions as well.

If you want to work on the garage manager, that would be awesome because the command line version is not suitable for a bigger audience.

Daniel

Reply 7 of 24, by BloodyCactus

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

the installer can handle subdirs and stuff without issue. Im glad to hear someone has stepped up for you. stunts was pretty awesome.

--/\-[ Stu : Bloody Cactus :: [ https://bloodycactus.com :: http://kråketær.com ]-/\--

Reply 8 of 24, by BloodyCactus

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

I knocked out a test garage manager proggy, worked on my stunts broderbund 1.0 install

https://bloodycactus.com/files/garage.zip

unzip into the directory stunts is in. read the garage.txt file!
works for me, I've only done minimal testing.

(edit: I just updated it to fix a bug. if you download before you saw this edit text, download again... 🤣)

--/\-[ Stu : Bloody Cactus :: [ https://bloodycactus.com :: http://kråketær.com ]-/\--

Reply 9 of 24, by Daniel3D

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
BloodyCactus wrote on 2021-10-14, 23:08:

the installer can handle subdirs and stuff without issue. Im glad to hear someone has stepped up for you. stunts was pretty awesome.

Can you adapt the installer to be part of setup as illustrated in my previous post?
- copy the contents of a game folder to a location (not packed)
- unpack a selected zip into the game folder (installing custom cars- just added because your program can unpack and cars are downloaded as zip)
- make backup of selected cars or tracks or gamefiles.

a list of the base gamefiles is attached.
---------------------
As for the garage.

that's a very cool system you thought of.
it can read the car name from the res file, I presume.

A couple of things. (partly to make it dummy proof)
First. Can you make it keep the file name when copying to the game dir? The name influences the order of them in the game to.
- The deletion part is fine. But if a car is not in the garage, it should make a backup there. (i now deleted a car because i installed it in stunts 1.1 and the 1.0 cars are not compatible)
- Actually, I have a database with about 70 cars that are catalogued the same way as your garage, so that is very convenient.
Second. The countach is the default car in the original game. This can not be removed from the game or it will break the game.
- can you add a config file in which you can state the 4 letters of the default car (in the special ferrari edition it is the FGTO)?
Third. With 100 cars it would be nice to move them in groups. Can you add a group function and log groups in the same config file?
Fourth. Can you add more space between the showroom and the garage and show the car description in the middle? #The ']' is used in the game to go to the next line (like enter).

The max is 32 cars, with 1 locked it leaves 31 cars to be moved about.

Attachments

  • Filename
    TREESTUN.TXT
    File size
    2.04 KiB
    Downloads
    60 downloads
    File license
    Fair use/fair dealing exception
Last edited by Daniel3D on 2021-10-15, 22:06. Edited 2 times in total.

Reply 10 of 24, by Daniel3D

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
BloodyCactus wrote on 2021-10-15, 02:40:
I knocked out a test garage manager proggy, worked on my stunts broderbund 1.0 install […]
Show full quote

I knocked out a test garage manager proggy, worked on my stunts broderbund 1.0 install

https://bloodycactus.com/files/garage.zip

unzip into the directory stunts is in. read the garage.txt file!
works for me, I've only done minimal testing.

(edit: I just updated it to fix a bug. if you download before you saw this edit text, download again... 🤣)

I updated the garage with all the 1.1 original cars and all custom cars.
It works with just the original cars, and a few more as well.
But with all 108 cars, it doesn't load. At least not within my patience span (over 2 minutes, timed it)

Attachments

  • Filename
    garage.zip
    File size
    1.66 MiB
    Downloads
    55 downloads
    File license
    Fair use/fair dealing exception

Reply 11 of 24, by BloodyCactus

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

I could probably make some changes to it.

I saw last night the 1.1 cars were different, so I made an installer for the garage app to choose 1.0 or 1.1 cars when you install it.

my test had 40 cars.. took 0 seconds to load. strange. ill check into it.

--/\-[ Stu : Bloody Cactus :: [ https://bloodycactus.com :: http://kråketær.com ]-/\--

Reply 12 of 24, by BloodyCactus

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

I looked in your garage.zip, there is a lot of directories with file extensions I dont recognise. I was expecting them to be "standard", a car*.res, a stda*.pv3, stdb*.pvs, st*.p3s..

--/\-[ Stu : Bloody Cactus :: [ https://bloodycactus.com :: http://kråketær.com ]-/\--

Reply 13 of 24, by Daniel3D

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
BloodyCactus wrote on 2021-10-15, 22:00:

I could probably make some changes to it.

I saw last night the 1.1 cars were different, so I made an installer for the garage app to choose 1.0 or 1.1 cars when you install it.

my test had 40 cars.. took 0 seconds to load. strange. ill check into it.

really cool.,
Thanks..

I think it gets stuck on double mentioned cars. Some are in different versions edit, not relevant any more

Drop by our form sometime, it's a slow-paced forum, but that way I can keep up.

Last edited by Daniel3D on 2021-10-15, 22:31. Edited 1 time in total.

Reply 14 of 24, by Daniel3D

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
BloodyCactus wrote on 2021-10-15, 22:10:

I looked in your garage.zip, there is a lot of directories with file extensions I dont recognise. I was expecting them to be "standard", a car*.res, a stda*.pv3, stdb*.pvs, st*.p3s..

Yeah, of cource.//

Prefixes and Extensions of new cars:
CAR .RES
STDA .VSH
STDB .VSH
ST .3SH

But in the original cars the extensions are different because those files are packed.
So there are 2 types for each extension.
Unpacked and packed, So:
3sh or p3s - 3d shape resource files.
Vsh or PVS - graphic resource files images
Res or pre - resources. Text and settings

Cars luckily don't have packed res files I believe. That would make reading the car name quite difficult. So the .pre files should not be there, just added for completeness.

Reply 15 of 24, by BloodyCactus

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

hmm tonight i kept getting "packed file corrupt" off load.exe so I had hacked the st.com to load a modified load.exe that I unpacked and re-pack it. setup did the same so I unpacked and repacked that, now its all good 😀

ok I got it working garage on 1.0 + 1.1 with vsh/3sh etc. keeps the car code names from a config. you cant delete the default car (you can command line switch which one is default countach or fgto).

so in your garage.zip, as example, the MCLAREN directory, I have a car.ini as

[car]
cars=2

[car0]
code=mcf1

[car1]
code=zmp4

this lets you have more than one car in a directory, and it sets the code. it sees two sets of car files in that one directory.

I updated the zip at https://bloodycactus.com/files/garage.zip

probably wont have any time to work on it for a couple of weeks, Ive got to cram for a Kendo grading.

--/\-[ Stu : Bloody Cactus :: [ https://bloodycactus.com :: http://kråketær.com ]-/\--

Reply 17 of 24, by Daniel3D

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
BloodyCactus wrote on 2021-10-16, 02:48:
hmm tonight i kept getting "packed file corrupt" off load.exe so I had hacked the st.com to load a modified load.exe that I unpa […]
Show full quote

hmm tonight i kept getting "packed file corrupt" off load.exe so I had hacked the st.com to load a modified load.exe that I unpacked and re-pack it. setup did the same so I unpacked and repacked that, now its all good 😀

ok I got it working garage on 1.0 + 1.1 with vsh/3sh etc. keeps the car code names from a config. you cant delete the default car (you can command line switch which one is default countach or fgto).

so in your garage.zip, as example, the MCLAREN directory, I have a car.ini as

[car]
cars=2

[car0]
code=mcf1

[car1]
code=zmp4

this lets you have more than one car in a directory, and it sets the code. it sees two sets of car files in that one directory.

I updated the zip at https://bloodycactus.com/files/garage.zip

probably wont have any time to work on it for a couple of weeks, Ive got to cram for a Kendo grading.

I can not run the garage in the new version of the game.
Stunts.com is required. But that file does not exist.
Stunts.com was a launcher program to start load.exe with the requested graphics (and sound) setting to build the executable in memory.
The new version has the executables with graphics mode prebuild. Those exe files all start with SKID.

Reply 18 of 24, by BloodyCactus

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

ok i did quick change, removed any checking for stunts.com and reuploaded it

https://bloodycactus.com/files/garage.zip

i dont have 1.0 disks, but I have the old INC crack from back in the day.

--/\-[ Stu : Bloody Cactus :: [ https://bloodycactus.com :: http://kråketær.com ]-/\--

Reply 19 of 24, by Yoghoo

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
Daniel3D wrote on 2021-10-16, 20:22:

@bloodycactus
you played stunts 1.0.
Do you have the original game disks? We are looking for those. We have all the 1.1 versions but not the 1.0

I got Stunts on the original disk. Need to check the version though. Will let you know if it's 1.0. Why do you need that version?