Monkey Island 1&2: Roland MT-32 + Sound Blaster support

Getting old DOS games working on modern hardware. (DOSBox topics belong in DOSBox areas below, not here).

Re: Monkey Island 1&2: Roland MT-32 + Sound Blaster support

Postby krcroft » 2018-12-28 @ 02:28

doaks80 wrote:
krcroft wrote:https://drive.google.com/file/d/1jt5Nz8VTTIR-1R8_pOS9zOX41aZJ3c-0/view?usp=drivesdk

Temporary offsite link.


I just tried MI2 with the above using dosbox and an external CM32L and I hear midi out of one set of speakers and sound effects out of the other. Nice work!

Edit: is there a version of this for MI1?


Thanks for confirming the link is healthy.

Passing your thanks onto NewRisingSun, the patch author.

Regarding an equivalent fix for MI1 - there was mention of it here:
viewtopic.php?f=7&t=35820#p308762
User avatar
krcroft
Member
 
Posts: 323
Joined: 2017-4-29 @ 15:07
Location: Ogden's Retreat

Re: Monkey Island 1&2: Roland MT-32 + Sound Blaster support

Postby doaks80 » 2018-12-28 @ 03:45

krcroft wrote:
doaks80 wrote:
krcroft wrote:https://drive.google.com/file/d/1jt5Nz8VTTIR-1R8_pOS9zOX41aZJ3c-0/view?usp=drivesdk

Temporary offsite link.


I just tried MI2 with the above using dosbox and an external CM32L and I hear midi out of one set of speakers and sound effects out of the other. Nice work!

Edit: is there a version of this for MI1?


Thanks for confirming the link is healthy.

Passing your thanks onto NewRisingSun, the patch author.

Regarding an equivalent fix for MI1 - there was mention of it here:
viewtopic.php?f=7&t=35820#p308762


Tried that with the Steam version of MI1SE and it did not work...music comes out of the Roland but no sound effects or speech :(

Edit: Tried the GOG version and it works! It's pretty nice too. I wonder how it works...does the GoG version somehow include the old dos version somewhere? I know the graphics could be switched back and forward but I thought that was just a feature of the Special Edition.
k6-3+ 400 / s3 virge DX+voodoo1 / awe32(32mb)
via c3 866 / s3 savage4+voodoo2 sli / audigy1+awe64(8mb)
athlon xp 3200+ / voodoo5 5500 / diamond mx300
pentium4 3400 / geforce fx5950U / audigy2 ZS
core2duo E8500 / radeon HD5850 / x-fi titanium
doaks80
Member
 
Posts: 285
Joined: 2018-11-16 @ 21:22

Re: Monkey Island 1&2: Roland MT-32 + Sound Blaster support

Postby Burrito78 » 2018-12-30 @ 23:03

Use this link: http://web.archive.org/web/201801012052 ... =7&t=35820

The patch for MI2 is on the first post.
Three patches for different MI1 releases are on page 2 of the thread.
User avatar
Burrito78
Newbie
 
Posts: 66
Joined: 2018-3-13 @ 10:50

Re: Monkey Island 1&2: Roland MT-32 + Sound Blaster support

Postby doaks80 » 2018-12-31 @ 00:00

Burrito78 wrote:Use this link: http://web.archive.org/web/201801012052 ... =7&t=35820

The patch for MI2 is on the first post.
Three patches for different MI1 releases are on page 2 of the thread.


Awesome thanks :) Although I have started playing with the ultimate talkie edition and I like it a lot.
k6-3+ 400 / s3 virge DX+voodoo1 / awe32(32mb)
via c3 866 / s3 savage4+voodoo2 sli / audigy1+awe64(8mb)
athlon xp 3200+ / voodoo5 5500 / diamond mx300
pentium4 3400 / geforce fx5950U / audigy2 ZS
core2duo E8500 / radeon HD5850 / x-fi titanium
doaks80
Member
 
Posts: 285
Joined: 2018-11-16 @ 21:22

Re: Monkey Island 1&2: Roland MT-32 + Sound Blaster support

Postby bjwil1991 » 2018-12-31 @ 00:38

Burrito78 wrote:Use this link: http://web.archive.org/web/201801012052 ... =7&t=35820

The patch for MI2 is on the first post.
Three patches for different MI1 releases are on page 2 of the thread.

You're awesome, man.
Discord: https://discord.gg/U5dJw7x
Systems from C64 to FX-6300.
User avatar
bjwil1991
l33t
 
Posts: 2582
Joined: 2013-8-14 @ 03:10
Location: SE, MI USA

Re: Monkey Island 1&2: Roland MT-32 + Sound Blaster support

Postby JayAlien » 2019-2-02 @ 04:37

I'm having trouble getting this working. Running original hardware, MT-32, original floppy version (with the copy protection) with Interpreter Verson (sic) 5.2.02 (Nov 21 1991)
I applied the patch, but still no sound effects. I recently played through with SB sounds, and sound effects were there, tempted to play through with Adlib sound now to hear what I missed :)
Any ideas on the patch?
JayAlien
Newbie
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 2019-2-02 @ 04:33

Re: Monkey Island 1&2: Roland MT-32 + Sound Blaster support

Postby Malik » 2019-2-16 @ 08:48

Why the patches were removed from the original post? No explanations why they were removed either.

Copyright issues, I presume.
User avatar
Malik
l33t
 
Posts: 2490
Joined: 2004-4-10 @ 14:37
Location: Malaysia

Re: Monkey Island 1&2: Roland MT-32 + Sound Blaster support

Postby zarkon » 2019-2-16 @ 11:04

Malik wrote:Why the patches were removed from the original post? No explanations why they were removed either.

Copyright issues, I presume.


It's a big shame, NewRisingSun talked about trying to get the extra fm towns PCM sound effects working in MI2 (I assume like the saw in the carpenters hut). That would have been awesome.
zarkon
Newbie
 
Posts: 24
Joined: 2019-1-26 @ 09:30

Re: Monkey Island 1&2: Roland MT-32 + Sound Blaster support

Postby Lazar81 » 2019-4-25 @ 20:59

Hello I tried the patch for Mi1 and it worked perfectly. For Mi2 it doesn't. I don't know why - followed the instructions and copied the files into the game folder. Ran apply.bat. Then I try to start the game with "monkey2 s" and screen turns black - that's all. I have to reboot then.

Could someone please help me with this. I really would like to have Mi2 running with the patch. Don't know why it doesn't work for me...
Lazar81
Member
 
Posts: 107
Joined: 2019-4-11 @ 05:49

Re: Monkey Island 1&2: Roland MT-32 + Sound Blaster support

Postby Lazar81 » 2019-5-02 @ 12:36

With support I was able to solve the problem. For everyone, who runs into the same issue: I am using a Soundblaster 16 (CT1740). There are problems with mpu-401 Interface. It can be fixed with a patch file from creative: sbmpufix - everything runs fine now.
Lazar81
Member
 
Posts: 107
Joined: 2019-4-11 @ 05:49

Re: Monkey Island 1&2: Roland MT-32 + Sound Blaster support

Postby lukeman3000 » 2019-5-14 @ 01:01

Malik wrote:Why the patches were removed from the original post? No explanations why they were removed either.

Copyright issues, I presume.

Uh... not quite.

I'll let you draw your own conclusions. Suffice to say that the patches will live on, so I'm not really sure what this move accomplished other than portraying him in a certain light.
lukeman3000
Member
 
Posts: 198
Joined: 2009-3-17 @ 00:59

Re: Monkey Island 1&2: Roland MT-32 + Sound Blaster support

Postby Aragorn » 2019-7-27 @ 17:28

I know its an old thread, maybe making my own would make more sense, but it seems to fit here.

I've been setting up an old 486 and wanted to get these games working. PC has a SB16 value, and a first revision MT32. Its a AMD X5 133 chip, with 32megs of ram.

As downloaded, both monkey 1 and 2 both run fine in adlib/SB mode. So far so good.

Starting with monkey 1, it doesnt work properly in MT32 mode. It plays, but the notes are nonsense and the music doesnt make any sense. I suspect this is maybe a bad download or something?

The monkey1 patch posted above does seem to work, in that the broken music plays on the MT32 and the soundeffects do come from the sound card, but its clearly unplayable like this with the broken music.

I've tried the Monkey1 special edition, with the Ultimate Talkie Builder patch, and that works fine in adlib mode, and in roland mode you get the music and no speech, but the game gets stuck whenever its trying to say things. escaping past it seems to work ok but clearly not working properly? I suppose the talkie build isnt intended to work like that, i guess timings come from the playback of the audio clips and those dont play when in roland mode.


So moving on to monkey2, if i set it to MT32 mode, it works fine, everything plays normally and it functions as originally intended, but obviously no sound effects. So i grabbed the patch from this thread and applied it (replacing the soundblas.ims file). With that patch in place, the game starts in soundblaster mode, and it DOES emit sound on the MT32, but the whole thing is incredibly slow. So slow that i thought it had locked up on the first "lucasfilm" screen to begin with! Once i realised it was still running, i left it a while and it does slowly progress thru the intro, but its at least 10x maybe more slower than it should be running.

If i start monkey2 in either roland or adlib modes it goes back to normal.

I also tried the same sounblas.ims file with the mi1-talkie build, as an earlier post in this thread says that should also work, however again, it plays incredibly slowly.


I know ive rambled on a bit, but any ideas?
Aragorn
Member
 
Posts: 102
Joined: 2018-11-05 @ 21:05

Re: Monkey Island 1&2: Roland MT-32 + Sound Blaster support

Postby fitzpatr » 2019-8-04 @ 23:07

Aragorn wrote:I know its an old thread, maybe making my own would make more sense, but it seems to fit here.

I've been setting up an old 486 and wanted to get these games working. PC has a SB16 value, and a first revision MT32. Its a AMD X5 133 chip, with 32megs of ram.

As downloaded, both monkey 1 and 2 both run fine in adlib/SB mode. So far so good.

Starting with monkey 1, it doesnt work properly in MT32 mode. It plays, but the notes are nonsense and the music doesnt make any sense. I suspect this is maybe a bad download or something?

The monkey1 patch posted above does seem to work, in that the broken music plays on the MT32 and the soundeffects do come from the sound card, but its clearly unplayable like this with the broken music.

I've tried the Monkey1 special edition, with the Ultimate Talkie Builder patch, and that works fine in adlib mode, and in roland mode you get the music and no speech, but the game gets stuck whenever its trying to say things. escaping past it seems to work ok but clearly not working properly? I suppose the talkie build isnt intended to work like that, i guess timings come from the playback of the audio clips and those dont play when in roland mode.


So moving on to monkey2, if i set it to MT32 mode, it works fine, everything plays normally and it functions as originally intended, but obviously no sound effects. So i grabbed the patch from this thread and applied it (replacing the soundblas.ims file). With that patch in place, the game starts in soundblaster mode, and it DOES emit sound on the MT32, but the whole thing is incredibly slow. So slow that i thought it had locked up on the first "lucasfilm" screen to begin with! Once i realised it was still running, i left it a while and it does slowly progress thru the intro, but its at least 10x maybe more slower than it should be running.

If i start monkey2 in either roland or adlib modes it goes back to normal.

I also tried the same sounblas.ims file with the mi1-talkie build, as an earlier post in this thread says that should also work, however again, it plays incredibly slowly.


I know ive rambled on a bit, but any ideas?


Given the set of problems that your having. Let's go back to basics. It would probably be a good idea to make your own thread and then post your problem, system specs, and a description of what drivers you're using and how things are set up.
MT-32 Old, CM-32L, CM-500, SC-55mkII, SC-88Pro, SC-D70, MU2000EX
K6-III+/450/GA-5AX/G400 Max/Voodoo2 SLI/CT1750/MPU-401AT/Audigy 2ZS
486 Build
User avatar
fitzpatr
Member
 
Posts: 381
Joined: 2016-10-30 @ 06:50
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: Monkey Island 1&2: Roland MT-32 + Sound Blaster support

Postby Lazar81 » 2019-10-14 @ 14:49

Aragorn wrote:I know its an old thread, maybe making my own would make more sense, but it seems to fit here.

I've been setting up an old 486 and wanted to get these games working. PC has a SB16 value, and a first revision MT32. Its a AMD X5 133 chip, with 32megs of ram.

As downloaded, both monkey 1 and 2 both run fine in adlib/SB mode. So far so good.

Starting with monkey 1, it doesnt work properly in MT32 mode. It plays, but the notes are nonsense and the music doesnt make any sense. I suspect this is maybe a bad download or something?

The monkey1 patch posted above does seem to work, in that the broken music plays on the MT32 and the soundeffects do come from the sound card, but its clearly unplayable like this with the broken music.

I've tried the Monkey1 special edition, with the Ultimate Talkie Builder patch, and that works fine in adlib mode, and in roland mode you get the music and no speech, but the game gets stuck whenever its trying to say things. escaping past it seems to work ok but clearly not working properly? I suppose the talkie build isnt intended to work like that, i guess timings come from the playback of the audio clips and those dont play when in roland mode.


So moving on to monkey2, if i set it to MT32 mode, it works fine, everything plays normally and it functions as originally intended, but obviously no sound effects. So i grabbed the patch from this thread and applied it (replacing the soundblas.ims file). With that patch in place, the game starts in soundblaster mode, and it DOES emit sound on the MT32, but the whole thing is incredibly slow. So slow that i thought it had locked up on the first "lucasfilm" screen to begin with! Once i realised it was still running, i left it a while and it does slowly progress thru the intro, but its at least 10x maybe more slower than it should be running.

If i start monkey2 in either roland or adlib modes it goes back to normal.

I also tried the same sounblas.ims file with the mi1-talkie build, as an earlier post in this thread says that should also work, however again, it plays incredibly slowly.


I know ive rambled on a bit, but any ideas?


Had the same problem with MI2 on my Pentium III Setup. I was fed up... So I just installed scummvm and lift-off.... No patches no nuisance

BTW: The patched mode is speed sensitive. In your case the CPU might be to powerful. In my case the problem was solved with deactivated internal cache.
Lazar81
Member
 
Posts: 107
Joined: 2019-4-11 @ 05:49

Previous

Return to DOS

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests