NEC Proserva V Plus (dual socket 7 system) (have a lead on multiple of these)

Discussion about old PC hardware.

Re: NEC Proserva V Plus (dual socket 7 system) (have a lead on multiple of these)

Postby chinny22 » 2019-11-07 @ 11:55

PC Hoarder Patrol wrote:Think my interest would be in a fully kitted (spare?) board only, as while I'd love a full unit I suspect cost + shipping to Europe would be unrealistic - if not then as long as such neat kit get saved by you guys I'm happy.

Weight is from here

https://web.archive.org/web/19970517193830/http://www.zds.com/support/product_info/servers/5_3b1.html


I'm also interested in this if they start getting parted out. Would any off the shelf cases be compatible with the I/O ports? (Not a deal breaker)
User avatar
chinny22
l33t
 
Posts: 2569
Joined: 2011-8-26 @ 12:02
Location: Australian but living in the UK for now

Re: NEC Proserva V Plus (dual socket 7 system) (have a lead on multiple of these)

Postby Horun » 2019-11-07 @ 15:05

cyclone3d wrote:I think the power trends module is the voltage regulator for the CPUs? :confused:

It should be a VRM for supplying the 2.8v core for cpu's, it might also supply the 3.3v cpu periph as I do not see any Vregs on the board itself.
First computer was an IBM 3270 workstation with CGA monitor. lol
Horun
Member
 
Posts: 212
Joined: 2019-9-19 @ 02:19
Location: USA

Re: NEC Proserva V Plus (dual socket 7 system) (have a lead on multiple of these)

Postby PC Hoarder Patrol » 2019-11-07 @ 18:13

chinny22 wrote:I'm also interested in this if they start getting parted out. Would any off the shelf cases be compatible with the I/O ports? (Not a deal breaker)


Don't think it'll fit a standard case without modification to the back IO area - I believe the case ZDS / NEC used was based on an Intel Columbus II carcass with a custom front bezel. The design of this case allows for various layouts of the stacked IO ports on a removable plate. I've attached the Columbus II TPS for info.

28295706.pdf
(379.02 KiB) Downloaded 13 times
User avatar
PC Hoarder Patrol
Member
 
Posts: 416
Joined: 2018-3-04 @ 19:59

Re: NEC Proserva V Plus (dual socket 7 system) (have a lead on multiple of these)

Postby cyclone3d » 2019-11-08 @ 00:43

Soooo... got the system I ordered today.

The bezel survived! :happy:

The L2 cache is indeed 512KB with the COAST module installed.

There aren't very many options in the BIOS at all.. but:
There is IDE support in the BIOS so I bet just populating the IDE header by the power headers will give us working IDE.

The DALLAS chip is not dead. I wonder how much longer the original will last for.

The power switch is an actual on/off switch and not just a temporary switch. I'l verify later tonight but that is definitely part of the reason why I couldn't get the spare board to power up.

I'll also map out the connections and post them.

I'll also weight the system.. expecting about 36 pounds.

Last but not least, the voltage reg module in this system came with the cover removed... so it looks easily serviceable if something messes up in the future.
voltage_reg.jpg
User avatar
cyclone3d
l33t
 
Posts: 3562
Joined: 2015-4-08 @ 06:06
Location: Huntsville, AL USA

Re: NEC Proserva V Plus (dual socket 7 system) (have a lead on multiple of these)

Postby feipoa » 2019-11-08 @ 02:06

OK, so this is probably 3.3 V to the CPU with no split voltage. So if the board use up to P200, I'm guessing there is a multiplier jumper block somewhere? The absence of a jumper block has often been the stopping point for using higher than a P100 on socket 5 boards.

I'm a little confused as to the purpose of Vbaux, which the 1587 lacks. The 1585 contains Vbat (battery terminal input) and GND, as well as Vbaux. Can we use Vbaux with an external battery when the internal battery of the 1587 dies?
User avatar
feipoa
l33t++
 
Posts: 6746
Joined: 2011-3-07 @ 13:54
Location: Canada

Re: NEC Proserva V Plus (dual socket 7 system) (have a lead on multiple of these)

Postby cyclone3d » 2019-11-08 @ 02:22

feipoa wrote:OK, so this is probably 3.3 V to the CPU with no split voltage. So if the board use up to P200, I'm guessing there is a multiplier jumper block somewhere? The absence of a jumper block has often been the stopping point for using higher than a P100 on socket 5 boards.

I'm a little confused as to the purpose of Vbaux, which the 1587 lacks. The 1585 contains Vbat (battery terminal input) and GND, as well as Vbaux. Can we use Vbaux with an external battery when the internal battery of the 1587 dies?


There is a multiplier and an FSB jumper block. Look at the manual. It doesn't specify what the multiplier is, but it should be easy to deduce / figure out.

Yes, yes we can!
https://patents.justia.com/patent/5678019

And why do you think the 1587 lacks Vbaux? 1585 is DIP and 1587 is encapsulated package. The pinout is exactly the same according to the datasheet linked to earlier.

V.sub.BAUX --Auxiliary battery input required for kickstart and wake up features. Also supports clock/calendar and NVRAM function if V.sub.BAT at lower voltage or not present. Standard +3 volt lithium cell or other energy source can be used. Battery voltage must be held between +2.5 and +3.7 volts for proper operation, If V.sub.BAUX is not going to be used it should be grounded and auxiliary battery enable bit bank 1, register 01BH, should equal to 0.


V.sub.BAT --Battery input for any standard 3 Volt lithium cell or other energy source. This primary battery may be packaged with the integrate circuit (along with the crystal) or may be externally connected. Battery voltage must be held between 2.5 and 3.7 volts for proper operation. The nominal write protect trip point voltage is set by the internal circuitry and is 4.25 volts typical. A maximum load of .mu.A at 25.degree. C. and 3.0V on V.sub.BAT should be used to size the external energy source.

BGND--Ground for battery inputs
User avatar
cyclone3d
l33t
 
Posts: 3562
Joined: 2015-4-08 @ 06:06
Location: Huntsville, AL USA

Re: NEC Proserva V Plus (dual socket 7 system) (have a lead on multiple of these)

Postby PC Hoarder Patrol » 2019-11-08 @ 05:43

Think there are 4 multipliers, dependent on which cpus are installed - 1.5, 2, 2.5 & 3. 100MHz chips aren't covered, but the NEC table is more complete than the ZDS one

Z-WL CPU Jumpers.jpg


Dallas chips are weird beasts - I'm working with a board atm which has its original one which will be 27 years old in a couple of weeks and shows no signs of failing :exclamation:
User avatar
PC Hoarder Patrol
Member
 
Posts: 416
Joined: 2018-3-04 @ 19:59

Re: NEC Proserva V Plus (dual socket 7 system) (have a lead on multiple of these)

Postby cyclone3d » 2019-11-08 @ 15:02

I need to take a look at the clockgen specsheet. With 3 jumpers for the fsb, that would indicate that there are possibly 8 different fsb settings.

I also have a couple 200Mhz MMX overdrive chips. I wonder if they would work in this board.

I also wonder if any of the K6-2 or similar would work with an interposer... hmmmmm.
User avatar
cyclone3d
l33t
 
Posts: 3562
Joined: 2015-4-08 @ 06:06
Location: Huntsville, AL USA

Re: NEC Proserva V Plus (dual socket 7 system) (have a lead on multiple of these)

Postby cpushack » 2019-11-08 @ 19:28

cyclone3d wrote:I need to take a look at the clockgen specsheet. With 3 jumpers for the fsb, that would indicate that there are possibly 8 different fsb settings.

I also have a couple 200Mhz MMX overdrive chips. I wonder if they would work in this board.

I also wonder if any of the K6-2 or similar would work with an interposer... hmmmmm.


Overdrives should work fine, K6-2s probably wont work in dual but would be interesting to try
cpushack
Newbie
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 2019-11-06 @ 23:17

Re: NEC Proserva V Plus (dual socket 7 system) (have a lead on multiple of these)

Postby cpushack » 2019-11-08 @ 21:39

It looks like its $900 to ship all of them to me, (40 systems on 2 pallets), I may have to get just one set of them (20 of them),
cpushack
Newbie
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 2019-11-06 @ 23:17

Re: NEC Proserva V Plus (dual socket 7 system) (have a lead on multiple of these)

Postby cyclone3d » 2019-11-09 @ 03:32

The datasheet for the clockgen ios not available,, but I did find a cross-reference for one that the datasheet is available for.

Looks like we have 50, 60, 66 and a test mode (whatever that means). I wonder why there looks to be 3 jumpers for the fsb according to the table above.

Maybe one jumper is for the PCI clock divider? Or maybe the cross-referenced part isn't entirely the same thing. The on/off listing certainly looks like it isn't the same.

Maybe there were multiple revisions of the board and they didn't all have the same clock gen.
Attachments
ICS9159C-02CW28.pdf
(311.88 KiB) Downloaded 5 times
User avatar
cyclone3d
l33t
 
Posts: 3562
Joined: 2015-4-08 @ 06:06
Location: Huntsville, AL USA

Re: NEC Proserva V Plus (dual socket 7 system) (have a lead on multiple of these)

Postby Horun » 2019-11-09 @ 04:25

cyclone3d wrote:Maybe there were multiple revisions of the board and they didn't all have the same clock gen.

Would explain the missing IDE port connector but solder pads being there. Old lady is giving some static about buying another full computer even if the price is right :(
First computer was an IBM 3270 workstation with CGA monitor. lol
Horun
Member
 
Posts: 212
Joined: 2019-9-19 @ 02:19
Location: USA

Re: NEC Proserva V Plus (dual socket 7 system) (have a lead on multiple of these)

Postby feipoa » 2019-11-09 @ 04:44

Reminds me of the VS440FX's clock gen. Not sure what test mode is for.

Did you get around to weighing the one system? Is it 56 lbs or 40 lbs?
User avatar
feipoa
l33t++
 
Posts: 6746
Joined: 2011-3-07 @ 13:54
Location: Canada

Re: NEC Proserva V Plus (dual socket 7 system) (have a lead on multiple of these)

Postby feipoa » 2019-11-09 @ 04:45

Horun wrote:Old lady is giving some static about buying another full computer even if the price is right :(

Best if they don't find out. That or they get desensitised and stop noticing.
User avatar
feipoa
l33t++
 
Posts: 6746
Joined: 2011-3-07 @ 13:54
Location: Canada

Re: NEC Proserva V Plus (dual socket 7 system) (have a lead on multiple of these)

Postby cyclone3d » 2019-11-09 @ 04:54

feipoa wrote:Reminds me of the VS440FX's clock gen. Not sure what test mode is for.

Did you get around to weighing the one system? Is it 56 lbs or 40 lbs?


My bathroom scale says 33.4 lbs.
User avatar
cyclone3d
l33t
 
Posts: 3562
Joined: 2015-4-08 @ 06:06
Location: Huntsville, AL USA

Re: NEC Proserva V Plus (dual socket 7 system) (have a lead on multiple of these)

Postby cyclone3d » 2019-11-09 @ 05:36

Here is the layout and configuration sticker form inside the case.
jumpers2.jpg


I wonder what the reserved jumpers do.

I did a little bit of testing to figure out the undocumented multiplier and fsb settings:

Multiplier is J1A and J2A
1-2 1-2 = 1.5
1-2 2-3 = 2
2-3 2-3 = 2.5
2-3 1-2 = 3

fsb is J5B and J6B
1-2 2-3 = 50Mhz
1-2 1-2 = 60Mhz
2-3 2-3 = 66Mhz
2-3 1-2 = no POST - guess this is the test mode?

J2201 doesn't seem to affect anything. Probably need to test the different positions when benching. Maybe it is for some wait state or divider. It is right next to the RAM slots.
User avatar
cyclone3d
l33t
 
Posts: 3562
Joined: 2015-4-08 @ 06:06
Location: Huntsville, AL USA

Re: NEC Proserva V Plus (dual socket 7 system) (have a lead on multiple of these)

Postby PC Hoarder Patrol » 2019-11-09 @ 10:04

Yeah, I could only find that single page PDF on the clock, and it looks more like a catalogue entry. Slightly OT, also beginning to wonder who actually makes the board, re possible revisions and am thinking it might be a later revision Intel OEM as it has some striking similarities to their ALTServer board - hell, even the cpu jumpers have the same names, though the Intel board has the single IDE header.

Also, odd re the weight discrepancy between actual and ZDS :confused: :confused:
User avatar
PC Hoarder Patrol
Member
 
Posts: 416
Joined: 2018-3-04 @ 19:59

Re: NEC Proserva V Plus (dual socket 7 system) (have a lead on multiple of these)

Postby Horun » 2019-11-09 @ 15:29

PC Hoarder Patrol wrote:Also, odd re the weight discrepancy between actual and ZDS :confused: :confused:

He is not including the manuals, KB, mouse and software as listed on the Specs page. Guessing that could easily add 5 or more pounds....
First computer was an IBM 3270 workstation with CGA monitor. lol
Horun
Member
 
Posts: 212
Joined: 2019-9-19 @ 02:19
Location: USA

Re: NEC Proserva V Plus (dual socket 7 system) (have a lead on multiple of these)

Postby cpushack » 2019-11-10 @ 18:20

Can these use a standard PSU or should I grab some spares?
cpushack
Newbie
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 2019-11-06 @ 23:17

Re: NEC Proserva V Plus (dual socket 7 system) (have a lead on multiple of these)

Postby cyclone3d » 2019-11-10 @ 20:37

cpushack wrote:Can these use a standard PSU or should I grab some spares?


Not a standard AT PSU. It has to extra connectors. A 3-pin with 2 wires (no idea what this is for) and an extra 6-pin - looks to just be 3 extra ground and 3 extra +5v.

Specs are:
+12v 12A
+5V 32A
-5v 0.5A
-12V 1A
+5vsb 0.1A
User avatar
cyclone3d
l33t
 
Posts: 3562
Joined: 2015-4-08 @ 06:06
Location: Huntsville, AL USA

PreviousNext

Return to General Old Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: 386SX, AnnoyingPentium, brownk, feltel, jaZz_KCS, kwyjibo, pan069, Vegge and 15 guests