VOGONS


First post, by dfir

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Hi guys

New to the forum. My desperate search for a Tualatin capable motherboard brought me here. 😀

I'm currently building a DOS based computer and now I need a motherboard that has at least one ISA slot. All my research points in the direction of a Via Apollo Pro 133T (694T) based chipset motherboard.

Apparently they're hard to come by as I have not found any for sale anywhere. Do any of you have any good ideas where to look for one?

Here's what I currently have:

Intel PIII 1.4 GHz Tualatin
3DFX Voodoo5 5500 AGP
Sound Blaster AWE 64 GOLD (and also my old ESS Audiodrive 688 from my first computer).

Hope to hear from you.

Best regards
Dfir 😕

Reply 2 of 14, by F2bnp

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

Via Apollo Pro 133T is indeed the only way to go if you want ISA. Unless of course you pinmod your CPU and use it on a simple socket 370 board.
There are only a few (probably can be counted with both hands) boards that have AGP and ISA. I'm using a GA-6VTXE and I'm quite happy with it, as long as you don't want to overclock it's a fine board.
A good place to look would be the Vintage Computer Forums.
http://www.vintage-computer.com/vcforum/

Reply 3 of 14, by dirkmirk

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

Ive got the same Gigabyte motherboard and appears to be rock solid, I found it on ebay by sheer luck as I was'nt actively looking for it, just keep checking ebay and one should come up eventually

Reply 4 of 14, by ratfink

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

ebay and on-line parts vendors. there are some sellers out there with vast stocks of old items online which you can find when googling.

if there are as few agp/isa/tualatin models as f2bnp suggests, you could compile a list to search for. here's another model:

chaintech 6via5t, micro-atx, agp, 3pci, 1 isa

Reply 5 of 14, by PcBytes

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

Jetway J-993AN Rev1.2 is worth using.

"Enter at your own peril, past the bolted door..."
Main PC: i5 3470, GB B75M-D3H, 16GB RAM, 2x1TB
98SE : P3 650, Soyo SY-6BA+IV, 384MB RAM, 80GB

Reply 6 of 14, by dfir

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Thank you all for your replies.

Yes, I guess you're right. I just need some patience and make some saved searches on Ebay.

This is the list that I have currently compiled for Apollo 133T motherboards with an ISA slot:

MSI MS-6309 v5.0 (694T Pro)
Gigabyte GA-6VTXE (My personal favorites at the moment - if any of you has one for sale, let me know!) 😁
Gigabyte GA-6VTXE-A
Gigabyte GA-6VTX v1.2
EPOX EP-3VSA2
Shuttle AV18E2
Shuttle AV18ET
Transcend TS-AVE3/B
Abit VH6T
Soltek SL-65KV2-CT
Biostar M6VCT
DFI CA64-TN
DFI CA64-TC

Feel free to let me know of other ISA based 133T boards.

What is this pin-mod you're talking about? I don't think I have heard of it.

Best regards
Dfir

Reply 7 of 14, by PcBytes

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

Jetway J-993AN Rev1.2 is one of the best boards ever.Try it,also I have the BIOS update for it.

"Enter at your own peril, past the bolted door..."
Main PC: i5 3470, GB B75M-D3H, 16GB RAM, 2x1TB
98SE : P3 650, Soyo SY-6BA+IV, 384MB RAM, 80GB

Reply 8 of 14, by Stedman5040

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

I have the MSI 694T PRO v5.0 and it works fine and overclocks well enough up to 150Mz fsb. The last BIOS update recognises a Tualatin P-IIIs 1266MHz correctly but not a P-IIIs 1400Mhz. However it still runs fine with a P-IIIs 1400 in it. I just find it irritating when the splash screen comes up without the correct cpu id.

Stedman

K6 III+ 500
Epox MVPG2
512Mb Hynix CL2 SDRAM
40MB WD HDD
Creative GeForce2 Ti
CMI8738 Sound card

Reply 10 of 14, by dfir

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

PcBytes: Hmm, I seem to have a difficult time even finding a picture of the motherboard. Do you know where I can find one? Either a picture or even better; a motherboard 😉

StedMan: Haha yes, I know the feeling. I hate it when the small things aren't okay. Then just go ahead and do your own BIOS modding and correct what should have been corrected a long time ago 😁

Reply 11 of 14, by STX

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

I was able to upgrade the CPU on my 440BX motherboard from a 500 MHz Katmai to a 1.4 GHz Tualatin using a Socket 370-Slot 1 adapter card and a Tualatin with modified pins. Some more of the parts I used are still for sale on eBay:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/360501350571
http://www.ebay.com/itm/280821254179
I actually bought 2 different adapter cards to increase my chance of success. The other adapter card did not work.
The BIOS displays the CPU frequency as 200 MHz, but that's not an issue to me.

Reply 12 of 14, by Nexxen

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
PcBytes wrote on 2013-03-04, 06:44:

Jetway J-993AN Rev1.2 is one of the best boards ever.Try it,also I have the BIOS update for it.

Hi! Do you still have the bios? I have this board but it's a Bona Bn693A (just a rebrand, there is a sticker and under it 993 An ver 1.2) and I have bios ver A08.

PC#1 Pentium 233 MMX - 98SE
PC#2 PIII-1Ghz - 98SE/W2K

Reply 13 of 14, by mastergamma12

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

I went with a Asus P3C-E and a slocket + Lin Lin adapter as I wasn't able to find a Intel i815 board with a pci to isa bridge and I refuse to use VIA.

My AWE64 Gold runs flawlessly in dos and windows 98.

dYWeBAM.png

The Tuala-Bus (My 9x/Dos Rig) (Pentium III-S 1.4ghz, AWE64G+Audigy 2 ZS, Voodoo5 5500, Chieftec Dragon Rambus)

The Final Lan Party (My Windows Xp/7 rig) (Core i7 980x, GTX 480,DFI Lanparty UT X58-T3eH8,)
Re: Post your 'current' PC

Reply 14 of 14, by PcBytes

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
Nexxen wrote on 2020-03-15, 19:06:
PcBytes wrote on 2013-03-04, 06:44:

Jetway J-993AN Rev1.2 is one of the best boards ever.Try it,also I have the BIOS update for it.

Hi! Do you still have the bios? I have this board but it's a Bona Bn693A (just a rebrand, there is a sticker and under it 993 An ver 1.2) and I have bios ver A08.

I don't have the board anymore, but try here:
https://soggi.org/motherboards/jetway.htm

"Enter at your own peril, past the bolted door..."
Main PC: i5 3470, GB B75M-D3H, 16GB RAM, 2x1TB
98SE : P3 650, Soyo SY-6BA+IV, 384MB RAM, 80GB