VOGONS

Common searches

First post, by SpooferJahk

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank

Hello Vogons Community, recently I decided to convert an old eMachines computer to be a DOS machine so I can experience pure DOS for the first time in my life. (A bit of a DOS noob here, was never fully introduced to it when I started learning about computing) So far things are running fine however, I am having some issues with Jazz Jackrabbit and Tyrian on the machine.

I installed the games and am fully aware of the tppatch that is needed for those games which I already applied, but no matter what I do, when I run those games it just resets my computer. Again, even after applying the tppatch to those games, running them just makes the computer reboot itself. Is there anyway to fix this issue?

Reply 1 of 27, by keropi

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++

try this: if you have AMIBIOS go to advanced settings and turn "MEMORY REMAPPING" to "OFF" , save/reboot and see if it helps...

🎵 🎧 PCMIDI MPU , OrpheusII , Action Rewind , Megacard and 🎶GoldLib soundcard website

Reply 2 of 27, by SpooferJahk

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
keropi wrote:

try this: if you have AMIBIOS go to advanced settings and turn "MEMORY REMAPPING" to "OFF" , save/reboot and see if it helps...

I have AMIBIOS, but I do not see that option in the BIOS menu at all unless I am missing something.

Reply 3 of 27, by keropi

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++

strange, the 386/486 boards I have here have this option... it actually fixed jazz on a 386DX40 and 486DX2 build I made...

🎵 🎧 PCMIDI MPU , OrpheusII , Action Rewind , Megacard and 🎶GoldLib soundcard website

Reply 4 of 27, by SpooferJahk

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
keropi wrote:

strange, the 386/486 boards I have here have this option... it actually fixed jazz on a 386DX40 and 486DX2 build I made...