VOGONS

First post, by DECtape

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank

I recently put together a DOS computer on a Pentium 3 computer with 128 megs of RAMBUS ram, and a Aureal Vortex 8830 for the sound card. The game starts fine, abeit with no sound, when I clean boot it by pressing F5 at the starting DOS line. I have the aureal vortex dos drivers running au30dos at startup as well of himem, of course, and VIDE-CDD.SYS for the disk drives. Can anyone help?

May your frames be high and your temps be low.

Reply 3 of 13, by DECtape

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank

I'm running DOS 6.22, mem gave me:
Total, used, free
Conventional: 639k 106k 533k
upper 0k 0k 0k
reserved 0k 0k 0k
extended (XMS) 15,360k 2,112k 13,248k

Total Memory 15,999k 2,218k 13,781k
Total under 1mb 639k 106k 533k
largest executable program size 533k
MS-DOS is resident in the high memory area.

Dune did not report what was missing, just that I didn't have enough. I'm still rather new to DOS, what is a UMB?

Reply 4 of 13, by Roman78

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank

UMB is upper based memory (or something like that), That's the gap between the 640k and 1 meg.

533 conventional is to less, I always aim to get it above the 600 or as possible near at the 600k.

Make a backup from your autoexec.bat and config.sys and run memmaker, that will sort some things out. And as said post those 2 files also here.

/edit: Or get qemm, that's also a memmaker for dos, it's a little bit better, but not al games runs whit it, so if you use that you would have to make a choice menu wile booting.

If you not know how to make a backup, go to the c: and type followed by an enter or return:

copy autoexec.bat autoexec.ba1
copy config.sys config.sy1
memmaker

To edit those files (and type those over in here) type:

edit autoexec.bat (that will open the editor whit the autoexec.bat file), and the same whit config.sys or just use the menu of edit to open the file. The edit program likes a lot like notepad for windows.