Common searches

serial port on ubuntu

Topic actions

First post, by cppp

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank

hello,

I'm new to dosbox. I am trying some old program to work with dosbox. These one all use serial port (which can be changed inside the program but I didn't) and are made with old dos style (using int14) and they work on win32 (but not on win64 of course).
I browsed the forum with no success (many old topics discorded).
I want to use them in a new environment : ubuntu 18.04. But all my attempts are failed so I have some questions :
Does serial port works on dosbox with Ubuntu ? I specify that I wrote in ~/dosbox-0.74.conf :
serial1=directserial realport:ttyS0
serial2=disabled
serial3=disabled
serial4=disabled
I did also 'sudo adduser <myname> dialout'
I monitored serial interface and nothing is going out.

what's wrong ?

I would like these programs works on linux

thanks in advance for any reply

Reply 1 of 21, by _Rob

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank

@cppp if you run dosbox from a terminal, are there any serial messages being printed?

And when you run "groups", you checked if your user is indeed part of the dialout group? Also, you may have to logout and log back in before changes like that are properly propagated.

Reply 2 of 21, by cppp

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank

hi,

here is message I receive from doxbox from command line :

DOSBox version 0.74
Copyright 2002-2010 DOSBox Team, published under GNU GPL.
---
CONFIG:Loading primary settings from config file /home/panel/.dosbox/dosbox-0.74.conf
MIXER:Got different values from SDL: freq 44100, blocksize 512
ALSA:Can't subscribe to MIDI port (65:0) nor (17:0)
MIDI:Opened device:none
DOS keyboard layout loaded with main language code FR for layout fr

apparently nothing about the serial port...
concerning group I still be in group dialout and that makes wine to work with serial port ...

other idea ?

Last edited by cppp on 2020-07-06, 15:33. Edited 1 time in total.

Reply 5 of 21, by cppp