VOGONS

First post, by Warlord

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

I researched this some I understand that the jumpers represent what digits show up and that just have to be experimented.

I used a multi meter to check continuity of the switch I want to use.
I checked continuity of the pins on the LED and found 2 pins that have continuity.
Help me understand this I am a noob.

Attachments

• front.jpg
    Filename
    front.jpg
    File size
    362.36 KiB
    Views
    File license
    Public domain
  • back.jpg
    Filename
    back.jpg
    File size
    501.88 KiB
    Views
    File license
    Public domain
  • switch.jpg
    Filename
    switch.jpg
    File size
    310.1 KiB
    Views
    File license
    Public domain
  • sback.jpg
    Filename
    sback.jpg
    File size
    197.85 KiB
    Views
    File license
    Public domain
  • Mobo Header.png
    Filename
    Mobo Header.png
    File size
    125.41 KiB
    Views
    File license
    Public domain

Reply 1 of 10, by Warlord

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

Anyone? I found this site and It has a PCB similar but it didn't work or I don't understand it.

http://www.minuszerodegrees.net/led_speed_dis … eed_display.htm

I can get it to display with a 5v header I made, I can switch turbo modes with the switch I made, I can even get just a status LED plugged into the motherboard header to turn on and off when I hit the switch,

What I cant figure out is how to get the MHZ display to switch frequency modes. It is just staying same mode.

Reply 2 of 10, by TheMobRules

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

Usually for each of the 7 segments of each digit in the display you have 4 possibilities:

1. Always ON
  2. Always OFF
  3. ON in Turbo mode only
  4. ON in non-Turbo mode only

You can see that clearly in this example, where each color corresponds to a specific segment, and the different positions of the jumper cap allow you to set one of the 4 states I mentioned above.