VOGONS

First post, by csib

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank

I have an old software which is working perfectly on an old PC.

I have tried to make it working on dosbox, the software starts I am able to see the start screen but the software itself can't communicate with the PLC.

The PLC's serial cable is plugged in the computer's COM1 port.
On the settings I have this:
serial1=directserial realport:com1

But it's still can't communicate. I am new to these older technologies I can't even decide the cabling is good or not.

I have taken a photo of the back of the original old pc which is working:

IMG_20211026_195620.jpg
Filename
IMG_20211026_195620.jpg
File size
1.23 MiB
Views
File license
GPL-2.0-or-later

The cable itself:

IMG_20211026_195214.jpg
Filename
IMG_20211026_195214.jpg
File size
1.16 MiB
Views
File license
GPL-2.0-or-later

I have checked the bios settings on the old PC (see photo above) and it should be the COM3.

I have a newer PC with RS232 port (Db9) I have bought an adapter to change DB25 to DB9 and plugged in the PLC, but it's not communitaces with it.

I am struggleing with it for about 3 weeks my only idea is maybe it's not a general DB25 cable (see photo) that's why maybe the adapter not works.

+1 Strange thing:

IMG_20211026_220741.jpg
Filename
IMG_20211026_220741.jpg
File size
1.14 MiB
Views
File license
GPL-2.0-or-later

If I plug out the red marked dongle from the old PC then reboot it the software starts, the communication with the PLC seems working but the software is unusable, very slow. When I press down arrow I must wait about 3 seconds to go down the cursor, some functions never loads.
Plug the dongle back then reboot, everything is fast.
This dongle must have some magic in it.

Do you have any idea what should I do/check to get it working on the new PC with dosbox?

Thank you!

Reply 1 of 4, by _Rob

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank