VOGONS


Reply 280 of 289, by imi

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

also not a SC55 but I guess this is still the best thread for it... I pulled this off a 486 board today
so yeah CR2032 lithium cells can definitely leak it's not just the SC55 ^^ this one was from toshiba.

leaky01.jpg
Filename
leaky01.jpg
File size
155.7 KiB
Views
509 views
File license
CC-BY-4.0

Reply 281 of 289, by Erwin_Br

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Ok guys, I'm going to open my SC55 as soon as I'm home.

2 questions:

1. Wouldn't the SC55 give a warning when the battery is low or gone? Thought I read something like that.
2. Will the SC55 operate fine without a battery? If so, I will leave it out altogether.

Thanks!

Reply 282 of 289, by keropi

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++
Erwin_Br wrote on 2021-05-16, 15:11:
Ok guys, I'm going to open my SC55 as soon as I'm home. […]
Show full quote

Ok guys, I'm going to open my SC55 as soon as I'm home.

2 questions:

1. Wouldn't the SC55 give a warning when the battery is low or gone? Thought I read something like that.
2. Will the SC55 operate fine without a battery? If so, I will leave it out altogether.

Thanks!

- if you remove the battery you get a 1-sec message each boot that the battery is low
- it will work just fine for gaming reasons , I also did not put a battery back. but if you want it to hold some special setup/options for your studio to work with then obviously it will lose such settings. in a typical gaming system all that is irrelevant and the battery can be out with no issues

🎵 PCMIDI mpu site buy+info
🎧 WIP Orpheus soundcard site
💻 WTB Amstrad PC7486SLC-33 system

Reply 284 of 289, by Pierre32

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

After a couple of years of knowing this thread existed, I finally got into mine to check. Thankfully no issues, but battery removed anyway so I never have to worry. Appreciate the heads up.

Reply 285 of 289, by BraveToaster

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

I was lucky enough to get an SC-55 MkII for a reasonable price (under 110€ including shipping), and thanks to this thread, I opened it up and checked the battery - and sure enough, the battery was leaky. That was a quick fix.

However, I noticed that one of the larger capacitors leaks as well, the one close to the heat sink near the back. I'm certainly no hardware electronics repair person, but I probably have to find someone to get that replaced before it kills the device. 😒

EDIT: After reading through the whole thread, it turns out that the brown stuff is most likely glue, e.g. here: Re: Have you opened your SC-55 to check the battery inside?
However, the residue at the top of the capacitor still looks a little suspicious, plus it looks like it's slightly bulged. I'll at least know to keep an eye on it.

Regarding leaving the battery out entirely, I've noticed the following: After I had it open and replaced the battery, it stayed completely silent. Demo songs still worked, but no MIDI signals arrived anymore. I then tried the secondary input (front MIDI connector) and that worked fine. I found Real sound canvas 55 MK2 midi in problem on Vogons, but it wasn't a connection problem. After fiddling with it a bit, I noticed that I had to swap MIDI-1 and MIDI-2 in the menu, and for that setting to be sticky, i.e. for MIDI-IN1 on the back to keep working, I need the battery. It's quite surprising behavior, but that's how my unit operates.

Attachments

  • leak.jpg
    Filename
    leak.jpg
    File size
    99.6 KiB
    Views
    303 views
    File comment
    Capacitor leak
    File license
    Public domain
  • cr2032.jpg
    Filename
    cr2032.jpg
    File size
    57.29 KiB
    Views
    303 views
    File comment
    CR2032 leak
    File license
    Public domain

Reply 287 of 289, by BraveToaster

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

One more things to look out for: my "new" SC-55 sometimes rebooted for no apparent reason, and it once it did, it did so frequently.
I checked the power supply I got with the unit, and noticed that it was from a different brand (Technics) - and was only rated for 9V 300mA. The SC-55 MkII needs 600mA though.
So yeah - that's a bad idea.

Lesson learned: when you get a unit somewhere, make sure the power supply actually matches!

Reply 288 of 289, by bjwil1991

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

Had that happen with my Genesis 1 High-Definition console with a cheap 200mA power brick. Sonic the Hedgehog sounded like Alvin and the Chipmunks. Got a 6V-12V 2.5A switching power brick, set it to 12VDC, and it runs well.

Discord: https://discord.gg/U5dJw7x
Systems from the Compaq Portable 1 to FX-8350
Twitch: https://twitch.tv/retropcuser

Reply 289 of 289, by bifo78

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Snagged an M-GS64 for cheap on ebay as a 'parts' unit the seller didn't know how to check. Other than looking a bit beaten up, it works fine and the battery is even socketed, inside is clean as a whistle. It's the full-sized rackmount version of the SC-88. The battery is located on the underside of what appears to be the primary CPU board, for reference, but the top of the rack is a single flat panel that can be easily removed and the board is on risers at the four corners.

Korg AG-10 | Kawai XS-1 | Roland CM-32P | Yamaha FB-01 | Roland D-110