VOGONS


HWiNFO support of vintage hardware

Topic actions

Reply 540 of 602, by red-ray

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

HWiNFO32 locked up my system twice in the same place 🙁

file.php?id=123277

Attachments

Reply 541 of 602, by Mumak

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
red-ray wrote on 2021-11-08, 23:39:
HWiNFO32 locked up my system twice in the same place :( […]
Show full quote

HWiNFO32 locked up my system twice in the same place 🙁

file.php?id=123277

Thanks, I think I found the bug.

Reply 542 of 602, by red-ray

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

Good and fingers crossed you have. I ran HWiNFO in the hope of checking we all reported the same Intel i740 clocks. Looking from Re: Need help to improve the support of 486/586/686 class CPUs in CPU-Z both AIDA64 + SIV report a memory clock of 100 MHz, but running HWiNFO32 on WMe it reported 66MHz, it was also much to big for the 640 x 480 display.

I also looked at https://vintage3d.org/dbn.php#sthash.VE9XlzHm.7wJJHkXn.dpbs and it has the i740 memory clock as 100 MHz, what do you think it should be?

file.php?id=123327

Attachments

  • RAP.png
    Filename
    RAP.png
    File size
    13.33 KiB
    Views
    540 views
    File license
    Public domain

Reply 543 of 602, by mastergamma12

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

I tried Hwinfo64 with a Quadro GP100, As with Ray's SIV software, Hwinfo doesn't know what the GP100 HDA controller is

file.php?mode=view&id=123421

Attachments

  • Filename
    DARK-CRUSADER.zip
    File size
    20.27 KiB
    Downloads
    10 downloads
    File license
    Public domain
  • Untitled.jpg
    Filename
    Untitled.jpg
    File size
    424.25 KiB
    Views
    507 views
    File license
    Public domain

IKWX6Aj.png

The Tuala-Bus (My 9x/Dos Rig) (Pentium III-S 1.4ghz, AWE64G+Audigy 2 ZS, Voodoo5 5500, Chieftec Dragon Rambus)

The Final Lan Party (My Windows Xp/7 rig) (Core i7 980x, GTX 480,DFI Lanparty UT X58-T3eH8,)

Reply 544 of 602, by Mumak

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
mastergamma12 wrote on 2021-11-10, 22:22:
I tried Hwinfo64 with a Quadro GP100, As with Ray's SIV software, Hwinfo doesn't know what the GP100 HDA controller is […]
Show full quote

I tried Hwinfo64 with a Quadro GP100, As with Ray's SIV software, Hwinfo doesn't know what the GP100 HDA controller is

file.php?mode=view&id=123421

Thanks. I have just recently added this device, so it will be fixed in the next build.

Reply 545 of 602, by mastergamma12

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

Sweet 😁

IKWX6Aj.png

The Tuala-Bus (My 9x/Dos Rig) (Pentium III-S 1.4ghz, AWE64G+Audigy 2 ZS, Voodoo5 5500, Chieftec Dragon Rambus)

The Final Lan Party (My Windows Xp/7 rig) (Core i7 980x, GTX 480,DFI Lanparty UT X58-T3eH8,)

Reply 546 of 602, by feipoa

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++

v7.14 portable crashes on loading - enumerating devices. Hangs up on USB detection. I have the motherboard's onboard Intel USB 1.x port enabled, as well as a USB 2.0 PCI expansion card installed with NEC 720101 chip.

Windows 2000 SP4
Intel PR440FX dual socket 8 motherboard with two PIIOD -333 installed

debug file attached.

Attachments

Ultimate 486 Benchmark | Ultimate 686 Benchmark | Cyrix 5x86 Enhancements | 486 Overkill Graphics | Worlds Fastest 486

Reply 547 of 602, by Mumak

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
feipoa wrote on 2021-11-19, 09:50:
v7.14 portable crashes on loading - enumerating devices. Hangs up on USB detection. I have the motherboard's onboard Intel USB […]
Show full quote

v7.14 portable crashes on loading - enumerating devices. Hangs up on USB detection. I have the motherboard's onboard Intel USB 1.x port enabled, as well as a USB 2.0 PCI expansion card installed with NEC 720101 chip.

Windows 2000 SP4
Intel PR440FX dual socket 8 motherboard with two PIIOD -333 installed

debug file attached.

It crashes during enumeration of the NEC USB controller. Is this a hang when HWiNFO stops responding and can (or cannot) be killed?

Reply 548 of 602, by feipoa

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++

It leads to this pretty blue screen.

FYI, the BSOD occurs with AIDA64Extreme600 as well, but only if I click on the USB item from within the program. if I don't click on the USB device, I can use AIDA as usual. The information contained in the blue screens produced by hwinfo and aida are identical.

BSOD_on_USB_with_HwINFO.JPG
Filename
BSOD_on_USB_with_HwINFO.JPG
File size
168.31 KiB
Views
450 views
File license
CC-BY-4.0

Ultimate 486 Benchmark | Ultimate 686 Benchmark | Cyrix 5x86 Enhancements | 486 Overkill Graphics | Worlds Fastest 486

Reply 550 of 602, by feipoa

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++

I can still access files on a USB flash drive using the NEC device. Is there a way to tell hwinfo not to probe USB?

Ultimate 486 Benchmark | Ultimate 686 Benchmark | Cyrix 5x86 Enhancements | 486 Overkill Graphics | Worlds Fastest 486

Reply 551 of 602, by Mumak

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
feipoa wrote on 2021-11-19, 11:32:

I can still access files on a USB flash drive using the NEC device. Is there a way to tell hwinfo not to probe USB?

Basic functionality probably works but the driver doesn't seem to properly handle additional query functions, it should in no way cause a BSOD when an application queries it.
Currently there's no option to disable USB scan, but it's not performed in Summary-only or Sensor-only mode.
I will add a dedicated option to disable USB scan in the next build.

Last edited by Mumak on 2021-11-19, 11:59. Edited 1 time in total.

Reply 552 of 602, by feipoa

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++

OK, thanks.

Everest Home Edition doesn't have any issue with the NEC USB card, but I'm not sure if Everest is querying the same functions.

Ultimate 486 Benchmark | Ultimate 686 Benchmark | Cyrix 5x86 Enhancements | 486 Overkill Graphics | Worlds Fastest 486

Reply 553 of 602, by Mumak

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
feipoa wrote on 2021-11-19, 12:18:

OK, thanks.

Everest Home Edition doesn't have any issue with the NEC USB card, but I'm not sure if Everest is querying the same functions.

I don't think it does.
Next build of HWiNFO will allow you to skip USB enumeration if you insert "UsbEnum=0" into the INI file. This option won't be exposed via GUI yet.

Reply 555 of 602, by RobDos

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

I ran HWINFO 6.1.4 today on my 486 build and I may have discovered a bug.
I have a ISA SB 16 CT2910, non-PNP card.
The program hangs on Peripherals Information 'Checking - PnP sound cards'

The card is not configured, no blaster variable and there may be a IRQ conflict but I figured I'd share. no EMM just himem sys, dos 6.22 on 486DX2 16MB RAM.

P3 Slot 1 - 512MB PC100 - 128GB SSD - RADEON 9200 SE , SB Awe64 ISA - GOTEK MOD

Reply 556 of 602, by Mumak

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
RobDos wrote on 2021-12-01, 21:02:
I ran HWINFO 6.1.4 today on my 486 build and I may have discovered a bug. I have a ISA SB 16 CT2910, non-PNP card. The program h […]
Show full quote

I ran HWINFO 6.1.4 today on my 486 build and I may have discovered a bug.
I have a ISA SB 16 CT2910, non-PNP card.
The program hangs on Peripherals Information 'Checking - PnP sound cards'

The card is not configured, no blaster variable and there may be a IRQ conflict but I figured I'd share. no EMM just himem sys, dos 6.22 on 486DX2 16MB RAM.

This is most likely some general issue with PnP support, not the sound card. Is the BIOS PnP-capable? I've seen a few with a flawed PnP support causing issues.

Reply 557 of 602, by RobDos

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
Mumak wrote on 2021-12-01, 21:36:
RobDos wrote on 2021-12-01, 21:02:
I ran HWINFO 6.1.4 today on my 486 build and I may have discovered a bug. I have a ISA SB 16 CT2910, non-PNP card. The program h […]
Show full quote

I ran HWINFO 6.1.4 today on my 486 build and I may have discovered a bug.
I have a ISA SB 16 CT2910, non-PNP card.
The program hangs on Peripherals Information 'Checking - PnP sound cards'

The card is not configured, no blaster variable and there may be a IRQ conflict but I figured I'd share. no EMM just himem sys, dos 6.22 on 486DX2 16MB RAM.

This is most likely some general issue with PnP support, not the sound card. Is the BIOS PnP-capable? I've seen a few with a flawed PnP support causing issues.

Maybe, the board has no PNP as far as I can tell.
I did a debug and there was pnpwake 24x before i rebooted it, i'm wondering if I'm just inpatient.
I did try with the pnp bios function disabled. I'll let it run overnight. Maybe the poor system isn't hung, just slow.

P3 Slot 1 - 512MB PC100 - 128GB SSD - RADEON 9200 SE , SB Awe64 ISA - GOTEK MOD

Reply 558 of 602, by Mumak

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

HWiNFO should tell you if the BIOS supports PnP if you enter the BIOS info screen. If yes, it will also try to show PnP devices there. If not, it will attempt to detect PnP devices without BIOS support in the bus section. Would be interesting to see those screens and what happens there.

Reply 559 of 602, by RobDos

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

So it's certainly a bug. I left it run overnight and I now have a 8MB debug file from it.
It's filled with
PnP Wake 0 -> 255 then repeats,

It's stuck in some sort of loop.
I wonder if because no PnP Wake has a result it repeats?

P3 Slot 1 - 512MB PC100 - 128GB SSD - RADEON 9200 SE , SB Awe64 ISA - GOTEK MOD