VOGONS


dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Topic actions

  • This topic is locked. You cannot reply or edit posts.

Reply 3640 of 3949, by ZellSF

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

Firestarter works, has bad UI scaling without dgVoodoo2. Some very minor mouse issues (when tutorial messages pop up, mouse isn't constrained to screen).

fsShell 2018-05-31 19-41-32-18.jpg
Filename
fsShell 2018-05-31 19-41-32-18.jpg
File size
823.45 KiB
Views
4330 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

Hired Team Trial Gold works perfectly (has bad UI scaling by default). Vertex lightning is broken but it's the same natively and with WineD3D.

Shine 2018-06-01 17-30-53-24.jpg
Filename
Shine 2018-06-01 17-30-53-24.jpg
File size
521.34 KiB
Views
4293 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

The intro of The Kreed is sort of weird, but it's the same natively and in WineD3D so I think it's some sort of weird design choice. Gameplay looks great, no issues.

K2 2018-06-01 23-51-24-17.jpg
Filename
K2 2018-06-01 23-51-24-17.jpg
File size
283.63 KiB
Views
4282 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

Mace Griffin works, complains about not being able to detect video memory, but does the same natively. Has limited resolution support by default though there's an .ini file you can edit.

MaceGriffin 2018-05-31 19-43-27-37.jpg
Filename
MaceGriffin 2018-05-31 19-43-27-37.jpg
File size
433.99 KiB
Views
4330 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

Nitro Family (Serious Sam engine) has problems, dgVoodoo2 makes it run windowed and at pretty abysmal framerates. Anyone tried Serious Sam?

NitroFamily 2018-05-31 19-56-49-99.jpg
Filename
NitroFamily 2018-05-31 19-56-49-99.jpg
File size
641.12 KiB
Views
4330 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

Edit: Yeah, Serious Sam Second Encounter isn't cooperative in D3D mode either, demo here:
https://www.fileplanet.com/82639/80000/filein … -Encounter-Demo

Reply 3641 of 3949, by Squall Leonhart

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
Dege wrote:
So... I must have looked at some wrong place or don't know... But thanks for that! I've just fixed it. […]
Show full quote
ZellSF wrote:
You don't need to login, here's a demo (and you want the demo since it drops you right into somewhere you can see the issue(s): […]
Show full quote
Dege wrote:

Well, not... I realized I'd need to login into the game in the same way as for FFXI. But, if it's a 8 bit paletted game, doesn't 'Reduced color mode' with 8 bit 256 color helps for that? I encountered 2 other games with the same problem.

You don't need to login, here's a demo (and you want the demo since it drops you right into somewhere you can see the issue(s):
https://archive.org/details/FinalFantasyViiiDemo
Edit: oh and no, 256 color compatibility does not help.

Squall Leonhart wrote:

XI and XIV are the only online Final Fantasy titles haha.

So... I must have looked at some wrong place or don't know...
But thanks for that! I've just fixed it.

😎 sweet, thanks.

Reply 3642 of 3949, by Dege

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

Mace Griffin runs at halved refresh rate through dgVoodoo though because it asks for that when initializing. Frame rate is uncapped natively so I made a patch to remove the halving.

I fixed some of the demos you mentioned:

Redline, Stratosphere Conquest of the Skies and Universal Monsters Monsterville.
Monsters still has a quite bad frame rate though, GetDC/ReleaseDC on surfaces is heavily used for rendering. I should improve that DC thing as currently it's kind of a second class citizen in dgVoodoo implementation.

Reply 3643 of 3949, by stranno

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
Dege wrote:

Mace Griffin runs at halved refresh rate through dgVoodoo though because it asks for that when initializing. Frame rate is uncapped natively so I made a patch to remove the halving.

Can you take a look at Hasbro's Battleship game refresh rate? I dont remember it running natively but thorugh dgVoodoo it runs at locked 20 frames per second and i doubt that was the original framerate, looks more like a 30 frames per second game.

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Could be the same case.

Thanks Dege.

Reply 3644 of 3949, by ZellSF

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
Dege wrote:
Mace Griffin runs at halved refresh rate through dgVoodoo though because it asks for that when initializing. Frame rate is uncap […]
Show full quote

Mace Griffin runs at halved refresh rate through dgVoodoo though because it asks for that when initializing. Frame rate is uncapped natively so I made a patch to remove the halving.

I fixed some of the demos you mentioned:

Redline, Stratosphere Conquest of the Skies and Universal Monsters Monsterville.
Monsters still has a quite bad frame rate though, GetDC/ReleaseDC on surfaces is heavily used for rendering. I should improve that DC thing as currently it's kind of a second class citizen in dgVoodoo implementation.

Weird I didn't notice that at Mace Griffin, though my monitor is 144hz, so at 72hz it seems pretty smooth anyway. Great news about Stratosphere (and to a lesser extent Universal Monsters Monsterville).

Earache Extreme Metal Racing (terrible game, btw) works fine:

Earache Extreme Metal Racing 2018-06-04 01-03-57-51.jpg
Filename
Earache Extreme Metal Racing 2018-06-04 01-03-57-51.jpg
File size
374.62 KiB
Views
4139 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

Hegemonia works as it should too:

Hgm 2018-06-03 12-30-41-76.jpg
Filename
Hgm 2018-06-03 12-30-41-76.jpg
File size
342.88 KiB
Views
4139 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

Typing of the Dead was fixed somewhere between 2.54 and 2.55 (and benefits greatly from resolution forcing, though emulating the Dreamcast version might be the better way to play this game):

Tod_e 2018-06-03 12-59-49-80.jpg
Filename
Tod_e 2018-06-03 12-59-49-80.jpg
File size
505.85 KiB
Views
4139 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

Soldiers - Heroes of World War II works fine, although you can't get any benefit from resolution forcing as this changes resolution in a way not handled by dgVoodoo2. Which is a pity since this crashes at 1440p or higher. FMVs... sometimes work?

Soldiers 2018-06-03 19-34-55-60.jpg
Filename
Soldiers 2018-06-03 19-34-55-60.jpg
File size
523.95 KiB
Views
4139 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

Reply 3645 of 3949, by ZellSF

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

Hugo - Bukkazoom has no issues, although resolution forcing will not work, it forces the resolution, but 3D isn't rendered outside the resolution you specify (only menus will render over the entire screen).

Runtime 2018-06-04 19-52-27-94.jpg
Filename
Runtime 2018-06-04 19-52-27-94.jpg
File size
270.76 KiB
Views
4084 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

Lego Drome Racers needs DefaultEnumeratedResolutions/ExtraEnumeratedResolutions or it will fallback to 640x400, despite being able to enumerate more resolutions in its options menu. Works great, framerate feels sluggish despite my FPS counter saying 144, but it's the same natively.

Drome Racers 2018-06-04 20-20-49-98.jpg
Filename
Drome Racers 2018-06-04 20-20-49-98.jpg
File size
465.58 KiB
Views
4084 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

Lego Stunt Rally works perfectly, usually only offering a resolution choice between 640x480 or 800x600. Higher refresh rates makes cars too slow.

_msr 2018-06-04 20-37-09-30.jpg
Filename
_msr 2018-06-04 20-37-09-30.jpg
File size
336.63 KiB
Views
4084 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

Magic the Gathering - Battlegrounds was sort of annoying with some framerate/refresh rates issues. Tt insisted on running at 24 FPS, despite refresh rate being set to 120hz. Not a dgVoodoo2 exclusive problem though. Sometimes window focus is problematic on opening. Non-forced resolutions are harsh on performance (640x480 forced to 1920x1440 ran at 200 FPS, 1920x1440 native 100 FPS). Unreal engine, so it working is probably not the biggest surprise.

MTGBattlegrounds 2018-06-05 20-58-26-01.jpg
Filename
MTGBattlegrounds 2018-06-05 20-58-26-01.jpg
File size
869.46 KiB
Views
4011 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

Triplane Turmoil II won't play its opening FMV, but is otherwise flawless. While it might seem from the screenshot like I didn't figure out how to take off, I did. After like 30 tries.

Triplane2 2018-06-05 21-45-38-13.jpg
Filename
Triplane2 2018-06-05 21-45-38-13.jpg
File size
240.16 KiB
Views
4010 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

Reply 3646 of 3949, by ZellSF

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

Batman Vengeance works perfectly. Usually limited to 1024x768.

Batman 2018-06-06 18-34-57-09.jpg
Filename
Batman 2018-06-06 18-34-57-09.jpg
File size
295.9 KiB
Views
3973 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

Big Scale Racing works perfectly. No particular issues. Usually limited to 1024x768 with bad UI scaling.

Big Scale Racing 2018-06-06 18-31-41-64.jpg
Filename
Big Scale Racing 2018-06-06 18-31-41-64.jpg
File size
541.37 KiB
Views
3973 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

Blitzkrieg has the same engine as Cuban Missile Crisis and so also has problems with focus/windowing when switching resolutions. Doesn't seem to have text issues when forcing resolution though. Game has bad UI (and game FOV) scaling by default, but due to lots of 2D assets resolution forcing might not be ideal.

game 2018-06-06 19-45-44-02.jpg
Filename
game 2018-06-06 19-45-44-02.jpg
File size
1.37 MiB
Views
3973 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

Reply 3647 of 3949, by ZellSF

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

Machine Hunter didn't work until I edited the exe to point to vdraw.dll rather than ddraw.dll. Software rendering, so only benefits from integer scaling (if you like that for PSX era 3D games). Emulating the PSX version is a much better option.

MACHHUNT 2018-06-07 21-30-19-36.png
Filename
MACHHUNT 2018-06-07 21-30-19-36.png
File size
83.89 KiB
Views
3895 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

No Escape doesn't seem to work (black screen, but sound so game is running):
https://archive.org/details/NoEscapeDemo

Reply 3648 of 3949, by alberthamik

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

I'm not sure when compatibility broke, but it's been impossible to use the DirectX and Glide wrappers together with Requiem: Avenging Angel 1.3. Currently it just crashes immediately, and whenever I do get it partially working using another directx wrapper for the 3DFX version, I get weird HUD issues where everything repeatedly disappears off screen, like being wiped off to put it literally. I tested out the old WIP10 version to make sure it wasn't just me, and in that instance I had the same situation as others when that test build came out, it worked until I was in-game and then lost all input.

I haven't been able to test out the latest builds of dgVoodoo 2 to see if it can rectify the main problem I've been having, which is being able to record the game and it's menus. OBS does not like capturing this game with it's constant switching (seen by OBS as different programs essentially). I can understand this being a secondary problem at best and one that might not be as easy to solve given how the game works. It would just be nice to not have to fight with different wrappers to get this one game to behave.

Reply 3649 of 3949, by BMickey

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

At first thanks to Dege and community for this great tool 😀 This and DxWnd are mandatory tools for every retro gamer nowadays.

I've been testing Colin McRae Rally 1998 recently using version 2.55.x and there are problems with dust and sun rendering. Edge of the visible part of the textures is distorted.

dust.jpg
Filename
dust.jpg
File size
1.26 MiB
Views
3630 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception
sun.jpg
Filename
sun.jpg
File size
955.15 KiB
Views
3630 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

And I think this is a regression - in some older versions it was ok, but I don't remember which one exactly has broken it. I'll try to find out later. (On Dege's site with test results the game has near perfect status and I'm sure it really was some time ago.)

-----------------
I tested 2.54 with the same CPL settings ("Virtual 3D Accelerated Card" / D3D11 with FL 10.1 / AF16 / 4x MSAA / resolution forcing) and I'm not sure about the results, see below. Dust is better but foliage worse. There is some issue with transparency textures for this game.

dust_254.jpg
Filename
dust_254.jpg
File size
1.28 MiB
Views
3630 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception
sun_254.jpg
Filename
sun_254.jpg
File size
938.71 KiB
Views
3630 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

Reply 3652 of 3949, by Dege

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
stranno wrote:
Can you take a look at Hasbro's Battleship game refresh rate? I dont remember it running natively but thorugh dgVoodoo it runs a […]
Show full quote
Dege wrote:

Mace Griffin runs at halved refresh rate through dgVoodoo though because it asks for that when initializing. Frame rate is uncapped natively so I made a patch to remove the halving.

Can you take a look at Hasbro's Battleship game refresh rate? I dont remember it running natively but thorugh dgVoodoo it runs at locked 20 frames per second and i doubt that was the original framerate, looks more like a 30 frames per second game.

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Could be the same case.

Thanks Dege.

I checked it out and this is not the same problem. I profiled the game and most of the time was spent in Battleship2.exe and GetTickCount (Win32). I think it's some timing glitch in the game.

BMickey wrote:
At first thanks to Dege and community for this great tool :) This and DxWnd are mandatory tools for every retro gamer nowadays. […]
Show full quote

At first thanks to Dege and community for this great tool 😀 This and DxWnd are mandatory tools for every retro gamer nowadays.

I've been testing Colin McRae Rally 1998 recently using version 2.55.x and there are problems with dust and sun rendering. Edge of the visible part of the textures is distorted.

dust.jpg
sun.jpg

And I think this is a regression - in some older versions it was ok, but I don't remember which one exactly has broken it. I'll try to find out later. (On Dege's site with test results the game has near perfect status and I'm sure it really was some time ago.)

Yes, I changed texture colorkeying a little in 2.55 because it was erroneous in previous versions, but the visible edges appear because you force texture filtering to anisotropic.
Applying 'appdriven' works fine. Colorkeyed textures are always rendered with those artifacts present when they are filtered by any other than a point-sampled filter.
The other way (for forced filtering) is a virtual GeForce card, they have a little different method for colokeying. The appearance will be better but not perfect.

Requiem: I'll test it.

Reply 3653 of 3949, by BMickey

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

OK, thanks, I didn't know to fiddle with AF. Now it's all good and OSD elements are also good.

dust_app_driven.jpg
Filename
dust_app_driven.jpg
File size
426.78 KiB
Views
3506 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception
sun_app_driven.jpg
Filename
sun_app_driven.jpg
File size
315.44 KiB
Views
3506 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

Changing to other virtual GPUs is improving 16x AF a little bit but not ok still, as you said.
But I'm using 4x MSAA together with "4x Sparse Grid Supersampling" transparency supersampling antialiasing forced in nVidiaProfileInspector and even with texture filtering set to "App driven" (which leads to point sampled here) overall image is perfect now, road textures filtered at distance, no texture shimmering etc. - lack of AF is not visible for me.
And btw, using other emulated cards doesn't allow setting VRAM to 16MB, which is the only amount wherein intro videos are shown; more VRAM gives black screen only with sound. (Real gameplay is OK whatever you set.) Yes, I'm targeting full experience with this game:)
BTW2. "ATI" card is crashing CMR in 2.55.2, I remember it was working at some point.

--------------------------
Next issue I found is missing blue bars representing car damages. Native version (only known Win7 patch applied) has them, see comparison.

repair_dg_ng.jpg
Filename
repair_dg_ng.jpg
File size
293.93 KiB
Views
3506 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception
repair_native_ok.jpg
Filename
repair_native_ok.jpg
File size
66.11 KiB
Views
3506 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

Reply 3654 of 3949, by Logbia

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Hi!,

I gladly donated for this awesome project!.
I just wanted to note that on Windows 10, the version: dgVoodoo v2.55.2 doesn't remove the DgVoodoo watermark when the box is unchecked and applied.
When I start the game the watermark is still there. I tested also on version: dgVoodoo v2.55 and the DgVoodoo watermark went gone. So it must be an issue with this newer release.

Edit: dgVoodoo v2.55.1 has this issue too.

Greetings,

Logbia

Reply 3655 of 3949, by ZellSF

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

Dan Da Dan unsurprisingly works. Unsurprisingly because it's by the developer of Every Extend and seems be developed using similar tools. Doesn't benefit as much from resolution forcing as Every Extend, but still a pretty noticeable difference.

ddd 2018-06-15 22-44-42-38.jpg
Filename
ddd 2018-06-15 22-44-42-38.jpg
File size
224.68 KiB
Views
3441 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception
Logbia wrote:
Hi!, […]
Show full quote

Hi!,

I gladly donated for this awesome project!.
I just wanted to note that on Windows 10, the version: dgVoodoo v2.55.2 doesn't remove the DgVoodoo watermark when the box is unchecked and applied.
When I start the game the watermark is still there. I tested also on version: dgVoodoo v2.55 and the DgVoodoo watermark went gone. So it must be an issue with this newer release.

Edit: dgVoodoo v2.55.1 has this issue too.

Greetings,

Logbia

Works for me. Maybe delete configuration files (dgVoodoo.conf in %appdata%\dgVoodoo and game directory) and create a new configuration? If the game is run with compatibility mode, dgVoodooCpl.exe must be run with same compatibility mode.

Reply 3657 of 3949, by CoolGamer

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

Full Throttle Version 2.0 (aka Second Issue Windows Version, 2002 CD release) does not work via dgVoodoo. It works fine natively. I attached the log file.
http://www.mobygames.com/game/windows/full-throttle

This game would be perfect with Vsync and pixel perfect scaling.

There is no installation. Just insert the CD, copy "Full Throttle.exe" to any folder you want and place dgVoodoo files next to it.

I am sure that this bug is related to the previously reported bug that prevents LucasArts adventure pack Steam games (Indiana Jones Fate of Atlantis, Indiana Jones The Last Crusade, The Loom and The Dig) from working via dgVoodoo.
Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Attachments

  • Filename
    FullThrottle.LOG
    File size
    2.37 KiB
    Downloads
    82 downloads
    File comment
    Full Throttle dgVoodoo Debug Log
    File license
    Fair use/fair dealing exception

Reply 3658 of 3949, by ZellSF

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
CoolGamer wrote:

Full Throttle Version 2.0 (aka Second Issue Windows Version, 2002 CD release) does not work via dgVoodoo. It works fine natively. I attached the log file.
http://www.mobygames.com/game/windows/full-throttle

This game would be perfect with Vsync and pixel perfect scaling.

Uh, it seems to run at 640x480, badly scaled from 320x200? Unless I'm missing something, if you want Full Throttle scaled properly, the original Windows version isn't going to work.

Reply 3659 of 3949, by CoolGamer

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

ZellSF, does Full Throttle run on your computer via dgVoodoo? On my windows 7 laptop, the game EXE starts and instantly closes when I try to run it via dgVoodoo.

The game works fine without any problems when I remove dgVoodoo dlls from game folder. That's why I reported it as a bug.