VOGONS


dgVoodoo 2.7.x and related WIP versions

Topic actions

  • This topic is locked. You cannot reply or edit posts.

Reply 83 of 474, by Maarcis12

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
Dege wrote on 2020-08-12, 20:14:

I did a quick try with FIFA09 demo but everything worked as expected. Do I need the full version? Or some special in-game settings, or mod?

That's weird, i tried the demo myself, but it has the same issue as with the full version. Here are my settings below and the bug itself (although the final version has more options to choose):

Attachments

Reply 85 of 474, by lowenz

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

Question: why in Splinter Cell (1) Fast Memory Access can boost so much the performance with the D3D12 wrapper (GeForce 4800 Ti profile of course - 256 MB)?

QHD, AF 16x (thirteenAG patch)

no FMA -> 54 FPS
FMA -> topping the refresh rate, 75 in my case but can be higher

Of course in the same spot (second part of the training yard)

Reply 86 of 474, by Dege

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
Maarcis12 wrote on 2020-08-12, 22:21:
Dege wrote on 2020-08-12, 20:14:

I did a quick try with FIFA09 demo but everything worked as expected. Do I need the full version? Or some special in-game settings, or mod?

That's weird, i tried the demo myself, but it has the same issue as with the full version. Here are my settings below and the bug itself (although the final version has more options to choose):

Could you attach your dgVoodoo config plz? It shouldn't matter but who knows...

lowenz wrote on 2020-08-13, 09:37:
Question: why in Splinter Cell (1) Fast Memory Access can boost so much the performance with the D3D12 wrapper (GeForce 4800 Ti […]
Show full quote

Question: why in Splinter Cell (1) Fast Memory Access can boost so much the performance with the D3D12 wrapper (GeForce 4800 Ti profile of course - 256 MB)?

QHD, AF 16x (thirteenAG patch)

no FMA -> 54 FPS
FMA -> topping the refresh rate, 75 in my case but can be higher

Of course in the same spot (second part of the training yard)

I don't know... but 75 fps is not so much... 😐 Shouldn't it cap to 200?

Reply 88 of 474, by Maarcis12

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
Dege wrote on 2020-08-13, 12:14:
Maarcis12 wrote on 2020-08-12, 22:21:
Dege wrote on 2020-08-12, 20:14:

I did a quick try with FIFA09 demo but everything worked as expected. Do I need the full version? Or some special in-game settings, or mod?

That's weird, i tried the demo myself, but it has the same issue as with the full version. Here are my settings below and the bug itself (although the final version has more options to choose):

Could you attach your dgVoodoo config plz? It shouldn't matter but who knows...

Here you go.

Attachments

  • Filename
    dgVoodoo.conf
    File size
    15.16 KiB
    Downloads
    90 downloads
    File license
    Public domain

Reply 89 of 474, by Maarcis12

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

If i can add to it, Lowenz is onto something with PhysX because my laptop has Intel HD Graphics 520 integrated GPU which doesn't support PhysX, i tried play the game through Win XP, Vista and 7 virtual machines (i have Win 7 myself, but i wanted to test if the VMWare driver could do it) and all 3 ran game fine, it's just natively with 1050Ti the game has some weird issues with it.

Reply 90 of 474, by Dege

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
lowenz wrote on 2020-08-13, 12:15:

I have the V-Sync enabled, the question is why *without* FMA is 54 :p
UE 1 reacts very bad to FMA (Unreal 227i + original dx renderer goes from 550 to 100 FPS), UE1.5 (Splinter Cell 1/2, Thief DS, Deus Ex IW) on the contrary really well !

Man, you're saying something! I profiled UT99 (DX7 renderer which constantly updates a lightmap texture in-frame) with FVMA and it turned out that it ran on a path always doing an unnecessary GPU-readback.
I optimized it out and now FMVA runs at the same (or little higher) speed as with no FVMA .
It even seems to fix the notoriously terrible frame rate in Grand Prix 3. 😁

No idea for SC1, maybe the renderer continuously (partially) updates a texture by the CPU at that scene and that's what FVMA is better at.

Reply 91 of 474, by Dege

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

A new WIP:

=========================
WIP76:
=========================

- Fixing broken Direct3DShaderValidatorCreate9 (Bad Day LA)
- Improved fast video memory access (DX)
* DDraw surface GetDC/ReleaseDC is now on par with no fast video memory case in performance (Arx Fatalis, ...)
* Optimizing out unnecessary resource accesses (UT99 with DX7 renderer, Grand Prix 3, ...)
- Dithering conflicted with inner frame rendering, fixed (Batman Arkham Asylum, Dragon Age Origins + some other games/demos)
- D3D executebuffer bug is fixed (Polska Goola)
- New hook layer for DDraw to make game video players (like QuickTime) to work under forced scaling/resolution circumstances (like Septerra Core)
- D3D12 pixel center fix (Monkey Island 4, Tigger's Honey Hunt)
- Memory overwrite bug in D3D11/12 backend, fixed (Thief 2)
- More optimization in the D3D12 DXBC generator
- Fixing D3D9Ex ResetEx (Batman Arkham Origins Blackgate Deluxe Edition)
- Minor internal changes

http://dege.fw.hu/temp/dgVoodooWIP76.zip
http://dege.fw.hu/temp/dgVoodooWIP76_dbg.zip

I think this is the last one. I'm going to test it extensively and release a new version. It'd be cool to do further fixing on 2.7 basis than porting them back into 2.6.x.

Reply 92 of 474, by MrPepka

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

I checked this new version and although the character models are corrected and some subtitles are displayed correctly, there are still subtitles that are not displayed correctly
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1Q1IZ8SenLWii … iew?usp=sharing
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1HDEP089SfZax … iew?usp=sharing
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1YJbnmLUAxuQR … iew?usp=sharing
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1Y_dWcsCfBPCV … iew?usp=sharing

Reply 93 of 474, by Firtasik

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

WIP76

Vigilance [Glide]

Attachments

11 1 111 11 1 1 1 1 1 11 1 1 111 1 111 1 1 1 1 111

Reply 95 of 474, by therealdadbeard

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
Dege wrote on 2020-08-14, 15:10:
A new WIP: […]
Show full quote

A new WIP:

=========================
WIP76:
=========================

- Fixing broken Direct3DShaderValidatorCreate9 (Bad Day LA)
- Improved fast video memory access (DX)
* DDraw surface GetDC/ReleaseDC is now on par with no fast video memory case in performance (Arx Fatalis, ...)
* Optimizing out unnecessary resource accesses (UT99 with DX7 renderer, Grand Prix 3, ...)
- Dithering conflicted with inner frame rendering, fixed (Batman Arkham Asylum, Dragon Age Origins + some other games/demos)
- D3D executebuffer bug is fixed (Polska Goola)
- New hook layer for DDraw to make game video players (like QuickTime) to work under forced scaling/resolution circumstances (like Septerra Core)
- D3D12 pixel center fix (Monkey Island 4, Tigger's Honey Hunt)
- Memory overwrite bug in D3D11/12 backend, fixed (Thief 2)
- More optimization in the D3D12 DXBC generator
- Fixing D3D9Ex ResetEx (Batman Arkham Origins Blackgate Deluxe Edition)
- Minor internal changes

http://dege.fw.hu/temp/dgVoodooWIP76.zip
http://dege.fw.hu/temp/dgVoodooWIP76_dbg.zip

I think this is the last one. I'm going to test it extensively and release a new version. It'd be cool to do further fixing on 2.7 basis than porting them back into 2.6.x.

Thief 2 now looks great without issues but nfs4 with my modded cars and tracks still has the glitch. Glide though looks fine though so I will just gonna use it.

Reply 97 of 474, by Dege

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
MrPepka wrote on 2020-08-14, 16:14:
I checked this new version and although the character models are corrected and some subtitles are displayed correctly, there are […]
Show full quote

I checked this new version and although the character models are corrected and some subtitles are displayed correctly, there are still subtitles that are not displayed correctly
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1Q1IZ8SenLWii … iew?usp=sharing
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1HDEP089SfZax … iew?usp=sharing
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1YJbnmLUAxuQR … iew?usp=sharing
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1Y_dWcsCfBPCV … iew?usp=sharing

Indeed... I overlooked it badly. Anyway, I've just fixed it. Btw, this game is a good test case for D3D3. 😀

therealdadbeard wrote on 2020-08-15, 00:45:

Thief 2 now looks great without issues but nfs4 with my modded cars and tracks still has the glitch. Glide though looks fine though so I will just gonna use it.

Is there a tutorial how to install these custom levels and cars? I overwrote the Aquatica level with the improved one, but I'm not sure if that had effect.
Also, for the car you linked, there is a readme containing 'copy this file somewhere under the NFS4 folder' (or sg like that). How to make a custom car? I tried to create a new folder and copy car.vid into that but didn't see the car in the game menu.
(I've just noticed that I tried to repro the issue with forced z-buffer bit depth to 24bit as minimum, I don't know if that matters.)

Maarcis12 wrote on 2020-08-12, 22:21:
Dege wrote on 2020-08-12, 20:14:

I did a quick try with FIFA09 demo but everything worked as expected. Do I need the full version? Or some special in-game settings, or mod?

That's weird, i tried the demo myself, but it has the same issue as with the full version. Here are my settings below and the bug itself (although the final version has more options to choose):

I'm on another machine now and I can repro the issue. No difference between dgVoodoo and native d3d9. For the time being, I have no a clue why it is.

lowenz wrote on 2020-08-15, 10:19:
RX 570 - 20.7.1 - 3DMark 2001 SE (standard benchmark options - 1920x1080) […]
Show full quote

RX 570 - 20.7.1 - 3DMark 2001 SE (standard benchmark options - 1920x1080)

D3D8
FHD-D3D8.jpg

D3D12
FHD-D3-D12.jpg

Simply awesome!
Now pixelshader-heavy test (Nature) result is better than the one with the native driver!

Hmm... looks cool! 😀

Reply 98 of 474, by Maarcis12

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
Maarcis12 wrote on 2020-08-12, 22:21:
Dege wrote on 2020-08-12, 20:14:

I did a quick try with FIFA09 demo but everything worked as expected. Do I need the full version? Or some special in-game settings, or mod?

That's weird, i tried the demo myself, but it has the same issue as with the full version. Here are my settings below and the bug itself (although the final version has more options to choose):

I'm on another machine now and I can repro the issue. No difference between dgVoodoo and native d3d9. For the time being, I have no a clue why it is.

Ok, thanks for the answer. But will it be tackled in future?