VOGONS


Reply 18740 of 19655, by cyclone3d

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++

Made a silly PC-PCI cable out of breadboard M-F jumpers to send along with an AOPEN YMF744L2-II card that I added the PC-PCI header to months ago.

front_of_card.jpg
Filename
front_of_card.jpg
File size
243.98 KiB
Views
810 views
File license
Public domain
PC-PCI_cable_from_M-F_breadbard_jumpers.jpg
Filename
PC-PCI_cable_from_M-F_breadbard_jumpers.jpg
File size
310.56 KiB
Views
810 views
File license
Public domain

The PCI-PCI cable for this particular application really only needed to be about 3-4" long.... but whatever.

I glued the single pin connectors together in the correct shape for the PC-PCI header.

First and only time I am making a cable like this.

I now have IDC-6P connectors and a bunch of ribbon cable on the way.

Yamaha YMF modified setupds and drivers
Yamaha XG resource repository - updated November 27, 2018
Yamaha YMF7x4 Guide
AW744L II - YMF744 - AOpen Cobra Sound Card - Install SB-Link Header
Epstein didn't kill himself

Reply 18741 of 19655, by Horun

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

Got a recently purchased Micron Millenia MME up and running well. Has the original Micron Win95b installed by some guy named Mike 🤣.
Latest dated file on the HD was from 8/1999 and had a Sid Meiers Civ II cd in the cdrom.
Overall a decent Pentium from 1997-1998. The picture below is off the matching 17" crt monitor (my phone cannot take good pics of crt).
More pics in the Bought these topic: Re: Bought these (retro) hardware today

Attachments

  • Img_1574s.jpg
    Filename
    Img_1574s.jpg
    File size
    145.89 KiB
    Views
    765 views
    File license
    Public domain

Hate posting a reply and have to edit it because it made no sense 😁 First computer was an IBM 3270 workstation with CGA monitor. 🤣 Second computer a 286 12Mhz with real IDE drive ! After that came 386, 486, Pentium, P.Pro and everything after....

Reply 18743 of 19655, by Horun

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
chrismeyer6 wrote on 2021-04-18, 04:10:

That's a nice micron PC and the civ 2 CD is a nice bonus. Does it have the cylindrical micron heatsink?

Thanks ! Yes has the original Micron blue screw on heatsink. Here is the picture before going thru it before powering on, you can see the HS had slid part way off the cpu....(my phone takes fuzzy pics)
Someone had stored it very well. Am amazed everything works as new being that old AND not be used for so long.

Attachments

  • Img_1568s.jpg
    Filename
    Img_1568s.jpg
    File size
    729.67 KiB
    Views
    724 views
    File license
    Public domain

Hate posting a reply and have to edit it because it made no sense 😁 First computer was an IBM 3270 workstation with CGA monitor. 🤣 Second computer a 286 12Mhz with real IDE drive ! After that came 386, 486, Pentium, P.Pro and everything after....

Reply 18744 of 19655, by chrismeyer6

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

That's awesome I loved the look of those and their performance was quite good as well. That system looks like it was just purchased new. The previous owner really must of taken good care of it.

Reply 18745 of 19655, by LewisRaz

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

Recorded the Transport Tycoon Deluxe soundtrack from my SW60XG.

One of the best GM soundtracks in my opinion. Have not heard any versions better than the SW60XG yet either! (Subjective of course...)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bfAwTM0X_fg&a … nel=LJRRetroPCs

My retro pc youtube channel

Reply 18746 of 19655, by Woody72

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

I've been eBaying for SCSI stuff. I absolutely LOVE the crazy noises old SCSI drives make so I've ordered an Adaptec 2940UW, a SCSI HDD and a 68 pin cable - all for around £70 😁.

Modern PC: i7-9700KF, 16GB memory, RTX 3060. Proper PC: Pentium 200 MMX, 128MB EDO memory, GeForce2 MX(200).

Reply 18748 of 19655, by Jed118

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
Horun wrote on 2021-04-18, 04:43:
chrismeyer6 wrote on 2021-04-18, 04:10:

That's a nice micron PC and the civ 2 CD is a nice bonus. Does it have the cylindrical micron heatsink?

Thanks ! Yes has the original Micron blue screw on heatsink. Here is the picture before going thru it before powering on, you can see the HS had slid part way off the cpu....(my phone takes fuzzy pics)
Someone had stored it very well. Am amazed everything works as new being that old AND not be used for so long.

I recently wrapped up selling four of those on eBay in similar condition.

Today I tested all my unknown P4 chips with this board I picked up yesterday

StKOLIf.jpg

CVy2rrQ.jpg

Well, all the Socket 478 ones anyhow.

Youtube channel- The Kombinator
What's for sale? my eBay!

Reply 18749 of 19655, by Jed118

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
Woody72 wrote on 2021-04-18, 13:26:

I've been eBaying for SCSI stuff. I absolutely LOVE the crazy noises old SCSI drives make so I've ordered an Adaptec 2940UW, a SCSI HDD and a 68 pin cable - all for around £70 😁.

I recently got a new-in-box AHA-2740 and a 2 Gb 10k RPM IBM drive to go with it. Sticking all that into an EISA 486 soon enough.

Youtube channel- The Kombinator
What's for sale? my eBay!

Reply 18750 of 19655, by fool

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Build a slightly overkill socket 939 Athlon 64 rig from components lying around:
-Asrock 939dual-sata2
-Athlon 64 3500+ Manchester @2700
-4GB DDR400
-Sapphire HD3850 AGP 512MB
-Windows XP 32-bit
-Seagate 200GB SATA
-Sony DVDRW Optiarc LightScribe SATA
-3D printed I/O shield

I categorize this my fastest retro build because of single core and AGP. Runs easily @2700. This board has an interesting future CPU port, card is not easy to find but I might get lucky some day 😀

There were some issues though. SATAII port didn't recognize HDD, I didn't try different drive so it just might be picky. Also couldn't hear audio from onboard AC97 Realtek 850 so I had to use SB Audigy SE what was next in line. I remember buying A64 3000+ when these were new, later it was upgraded with some Opteron 2x, probably 180. Too bad I sold those when upgrading to AM3 Phenom.

Attachments

  • 939dual-sata2.JPG
    Filename
    939dual-sata2.JPG
    File size
    223.6 KiB
    Views
    583 views
    File license
    Fair use/fair dealing exception

Reply 18751 of 19655, by fosterwj03

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

I built up a Sandy Bridge Core i3 in an old Dell case to experiment with BeOS R5. Here are the base specs:

Core i3-2120 (3.3 Ghz, 2 Cores, 4 Threads)
Asus P8Q67-M Micro-ATX Motherboard
4 GB DDR3-1333 RAM
Sound Blaster 64 PCI Sound
Generic NEC PCI-E 5-Port USB 1.1/2.0 (OHCI/EHCI)
2x 24x DVD+/-RW Drives (SATA)
KingDian 32 GB SSD (SATA)
Corsair CV650 Power Supply

This is turning into a bit of an idiosyncratic machine. BeOS refuses to boot if I specify a PCI or PCI-E video card as primary, but it will boot if I set integrated graphics to primary. If I have a Matrox Millennium installed (either in a PCI slot or PCI-E to PCI adapter), video on the integrated graphics freezes and BeOS switches to displaying out of the Millennium after the boot-up sound. It does this with my GeForce 6800 GS (PCI-E) as well, but the 6800 doesn’t put out a display (just a blank screen). I haven’t gotten any other PCI-E video cards to work at all.

I reprogramed the BIOS a couple of years ago to add a 1080p VESA mode to the integrated Intel graphics. It works with most generic VESA drivers in other operating systems, but it never displayed 1080p properly in BeOS when I used a VESA mode setting patch (it would only produce a 640x480 desktop in the upper left-hand corner of the screen). Today, though, I discovered that I can get a proper 1080p desktop (see screenshot) from the integrated graphics if I set “Use Fail-safe Video Mode” from a BeOS safe-mode boot menu. Weird!

Now, I’m waiting on a NOS PCI network card to arrive so I can get this modern BeBox online.

Attachments

  • Modern BeBox.jpg
    Filename
    Modern BeBox.jpg
    File size
    596.6 KiB
    Views
    547 views
    File license
    Fair use/fair dealing exception
  • BeOS Screenshot 1080p.jpg
    Filename
    BeOS Screenshot 1080p.jpg
    File size
    223.03 KiB
    Views
    547 views
    File license
    Fair use/fair dealing exception

Reply 18752 of 19655, by furan

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

A while back I bought this Evergreen AcceleraPCI Pentium III 1.0GHz upgrade card, but it was one of those "dream hardware" sales with no photo. When the unit arrived, the heat sink/fan assembly was hanging off of it and there was a loose capacitor in the box, with some other capacitors about ready to fall off. I desoldered and replaced the other loose capacitors. I then found that the CPU had been removed and jammed back in the LIF socket, with one of the pins bent (and broken off), so I swapped it for another P3 I had. I remember when I first got the card I'd tried using it in a machine and it wouldn't turn on. Now at least. the machine turns on, and executes the option ROM on the card. It has a configuration menu for enabling and disabling the accelerator, as well as setting bus speed, multiplier, and voltage.

Unfortunately I cannot fully test the card, possibly because none of the systems I have are "compatible" according to the compatibility test app. If I enable the accelerator, it fails with POST 00 on the system on the card. I would think even if it was incompatible with the motherboard chipset, it would get a little further than that.

ciwBuVK.jpg
YTg4Mix.jpg
gXH6Qhs.jpg

Reply 18753 of 19655, by chrismeyer6

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

I remember seeing those back in the day in my Tiger Direct catalogs and always wanting one. I remember and episode of The Screensavers on techtv did a review on them.

Reply 18754 of 19655, by Zero_sugar

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

I made a generic Midi enclosure for my DreamBlaster stuff.

Attachments

Reply 18755 of 19655, by bjwil1991

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

That CHiLL II setup looks amazing. Gotta upgrade mine from the CHiLL to CHiLL II soon.

Discord: https://discord.gg/U5dJw7x
Systems from the Compaq Portable 1 to FX-8350
Twitch: https://twitch.tv/retropcuser

Reply 18756 of 19655, by vmr_

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Finally I got the time to 'clone' a 540MB Maxtor 7540AV HDD with DOS 6.22 and Win 3.1 on a 4GB CF card.

Tried first CloneZilla Live CD- but it failed with strange errors - both on Socket 5 and Slot 1 motherboards. Maybe latest version is not supporting 1996-1998 motherboards, so not spending more time on this (for now).

Settled for a straightforward process summarised below:
- have both HDD and 4GB CF card with IDE adapter connected on IDE primary and secondary
- BIOS detects it both - mandatory 😀
- boot from HDD using DOS - drive C in this case
- use fdisk to create 2GB primary FAT16 DOS partition (drive D) and a second logical one for storage (Drive E)
- format D:
- transfer DOS system files to D drive (CF card) with sys D:
- use xcopy to copy all files from C drive to D drive - copy all data recursively, including hidden files
- disconnect HDD, and boot from DOS floppy
- use fdisk to activate the primary partition on CF card (as you cannot activate a second primary DOS partition once booted from HDD)
- run fdisk /mbr

After all steps above, 4GB CF card with IDE CF adapter successfully replaces the Maxtor 540MB.

This comes handy when testing 486/P5/P54C/Nexgen setups. 😀

Retro builds & sandbox
IBM XT 5160 | 286 | 386 | 486 | S4 SI5PI AIO & S4 Batman + P60 SX828
S8 & Pentium Pro 200 | SS7 Asus P5A + AOpen AX59 & AMD K6III+ 550MHz
Slot A Asus K7M Athlon 1Ghz GDF | Slot 1 Pentium III 1GHz SL4KL

Reply 18757 of 19655, by schmatzler

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

I cleaned up (most of) a really moldy Thinkpad 770 today. It works!

Before:

IMG_21042021_011651_(1080_x_1200_pixel).jpg
Filename
IMG_21042021_011651_(1080_x_1200_pixel).jpg
File size
178.36 KiB
Views
262 views
File license
Public domain

After:

IMG_20210421_011140.jpg
Filename
IMG_20210421_011140.jpg
File size
178.25 KiB
Views
262 views
File license
Public domain

Tomorrow I'll clean the absolutely horrible keyboard and try to install Windows 98 on it.

Reply 18758 of 19655, by bjwil1991

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

Tested the newly acquired DMG-01 Play It Loud clear edition and no defects on the screen and everything works.

Discord: https://discord.gg/U5dJw7x
Systems from the Compaq Portable 1 to FX-8350
Twitch: https://twitch.tv/retropcuser

Reply 18759 of 19655, by Jed118

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

I sold a Dell Celeron 433 and prepared an HT 3.0 for sale, and then, something I've been wanting to do for a long time...

Preparing these:

n8QT2R5h.jpg

To be benchmarked here:

bNPrFgmh.jpg

They range from SX-20 (not sure if I'll be able to get the ISA-486SV2 to go that low - undocumented jumper experimentation FTW!) to the OverDrive.

I even have two 486 DX4s, one WB and one WT. I seem to recall most of these CPUs work - the VRM is under the giant 10k RPM server fan, under which is my WB DX4 out of my Siemens. Anything 3.3 3.45 4.0 will be passed through that one. The ones on the lower right are an AMD DX4-120, and a 486-133 (an early 5X86 P75)

I've even got an i487 there, which this board explicitly supports. The only thing I am missing is a DX(or SX)50 MHz - It would be nice to see if my Mach32 would be able to cope with that 😉

Can't wait to get started 😁

Youtube channel- The Kombinator
What's for sale? my eBay!