OPTi 82C930 review

Topic actions

First post, by Joseph_Joestar

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

Introduction

Hi there, long time lurker, first time poster here! A while ago, I came across Phil's Computer Lab youtube channel and it got me all fired up for some DOS retro gaming. So I dusted off my old PC and installed DOS 6.22 on it, but soon realized that it came with an SB128 PCI card which has some truly awful FM synth emulation. After a quick search in my local classifieds, I found a couple of ISA sound cards that seemed perfect for my needs, one of which was this OPTi 82C930. I have been using this card for several months now and was quite impressed by what it had to offer.

IMG_0902.jpg
Filename
IMG_0902.jpg
File size
1.57 MiB
Views
File comment
OPTi 82C930
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

Pros

• Good compatibility in SBPro mode
  • Delivers crystal clear 16-bit sound in Windows Sound System mode
  • Has a 1:1 pin-compatible OPL3 copy on board, providing excellent FM synthesis
  • Has ADPCM support, so games like Duke Nukem 2 work fine
  • Has a proper low pass filter in SBPro mode
  • Not plug and play (this actually makes configuring easier)
  • Has WSS compatible drivers for Windows 3.1
  • Has a dedicated Line Out port
  • Does not suffer from any bugs which are present on Creative cards

Cons

• Somewhat noisy. It's not really perceptible while gaming, but you may notice it when recording gameplay audio
  • A couple of games needed patching/workarounds in order to get the highest quality sound
  • Stereo is reversed in some games (e.g. Doom and Quake)
  • Windows 98 drivers are pretty bare bones, with very few options to select

From what I can tell, pretty much everything that Phil mentions in his excellent OPTi 82C929 video applies to the 82C930 as well. However, I did notice a few additional details that might be of interest to anyone who has one of these OPTi cards.

My test rig

• Intel Pentium MMX 166 MHz