IBM APTIVA MASTER RACE!

Showcase your Retro PC / Build logs.

Re: IBM APTIVA MASTER RACE!

Postby Intel486dx33 » 2019-4-26 @ 17:17

My IBM Aptiva socket 7 motherboard has an option for an Intel Pentium or AMD K6 CPU.
What would you say play’s games better in Windows 98se ?
And should I add a PCI voodoo card ?
Attachments
14681FEE-7B3C-4EBD-8B8D-7864AFD0F715.jpeg
Intel486dx33
l33t
 
Posts: 2052
Joined: 2018-5-17 @ 01:17
Location: U.S.A.

Re: IBM APTIVA MASTER RACE!

Postby foey » 2019-4-26 @ 19:11

Intel486dx33 wrote:My IBM Aptiva socket 7 motherboard has an option for an Intel Pentium or AMD K6 CPU.
What would you say play’s games better in Windows 98se ?
And should I add a PCI voodoo card ?


Got exactly the same which I'm just about to get out the loft this evening. It was shipped with the K6-300. At one point I put a 3Dfx Voodoo 3 2000 PCI with a K6-2 400 (You have to set the muti to 2x) but the motherboard can only cache 64mb of RAM so ended up chopping it all around and put an Intel Pentium 200 in it for a while, will add a Voodoo 2.
Cyrix Instead Build, 6x86 166+ | 32mb SD | 4mb S3 Virge DX | Creative AWE64 | Win95
ATC-S PIII Tualatin Win9x Build :- http://www.vogons.org/viewtopic.php?f=25&t=40248
User avatar
foey
Member
 
Posts: 276
Joined: 2014-5-27 @ 20:11
Location: UK

Re: IBM APTIVA MASTER RACE!

Postby appiah4 » 2019-4-26 @ 20:00

Intel486dx33 wrote:My IBM Aptiva socket 7 motherboard has an option for an Intel Pentium or AMD K6 CPU.
What would you say play’s games better in Windows 98se ?
And should I add a PCI voodoo card ?


Can it do K6-2 or just K6? If the board allows for Vcore to go as low as 2.1/2.2V then you can probably just use a K6-2 and it will be the best CPU that system can use, but I am doubtful about this. Most likely it can do 2.8-3.3V so you are stuck between K6 and MMX cpus. Between those two, MMX is significantly faster clock for clock but the fastest K6 (300) will beat the fastest MMX (233) in most tasks. This is down to K6's respectable integer operations performance but the MMX's floating point performance is better so it does much better in software rendered 3D games. Thus adding a PCI voodoo card is exceptionally useful if you go for a K6 CPU instead of a Pentium MMX - it levels the playing field. I personally prefer K5/K6/K6-2 to Pentium/MMX/PentiumII but that is just taste. From a sheer performance and compatibility point of view the Intel chips and chipsets are slightly superior.
A500:Rev6|+512K|ACA500+|C1084S
i386:Am386SX25|4M|GD5402|ES688|MuntPi3
i486:U5S33|8M|GD5428|YMF719|DB-S2
i586:P133|32M|T64+/MX2|V1|CT3980/32M
i686:K6-2/400|128M|V2/SLI|CT4520/32M
S370:P3-1200|384M|GF4-4200|MX300
S754:A3700+|2G|X1950PRO|SB0350
User avatar
appiah4
l33t
 
Posts: 4044
Joined: 2017-2-19 @ 07:36

Re: IBM APTIVA MASTER RACE!

Postby Intel486dx33 » 2019-4-27 @ 03:24

Yes, It came with an AMD K6 or K6-2 @ 300 or 333mhz. I don't remember.
But I am partial to Intel CPU's so I put a Pentium 233mmx CPU in it.
I just always had good success with Intel CPU's.
Previously, AMD CPU's always gave me problems.
But I must have been setting them up wrong with jumpers because they work fine now.

I still prefer Intel for an all around CPU.
But AMD CPU's are preferred by many gamers.
Intel486dx33
l33t
 
Posts: 2052
Joined: 2018-5-17 @ 01:17
Location: U.S.A.

Re: IBM APTIVA MASTER RACE!

Postby soviet conscript » 2019-4-27 @ 21:16

oeuvre wrote:

Image

the rear


What is that power supply connector looking port with the 12v and speaker symbol sticker for?
User avatar
soviet conscript
Oldbie
 
Posts: 868
Joined: 2010-3-13 @ 08:02

Re: IBM APTIVA MASTER RACE!

Postby TheMobRules » 2019-4-27 @ 21:57

soviet conscript wrote:What is that power supply connector looking port with the 12v and speaker symbol sticker for?

Probably to connect 12V DC powered speakers, the first ATX case I bought in the late 90's came bundled with a pair of crappy speakers and had a similar connector in the back.
TheMobRules
Member
 
Posts: 480
Joined: 2016-1-19 @ 23:29

Re: IBM APTIVA MASTER RACE!

Postby jaZz_KCS » 2019-4-28 @ 10:23

Yes, Some Aptivas came with matching speakers and were usually powered vie 12VDC. Aptivas and other cases of that time featured a 12VDC breakout sometimes and DC to DC cables to connect the speakers so you don't need another power connection for the speakers.
User avatar
jaZz_KCS
Member
 
Posts: 493
Joined: 2017-8-10 @ 11:43

Re: IBM APTIVA MASTER RACE!

Postby SpectriaForce » 2019-4-30 @ 13:11

Elpast0r wrote:1) Is it safe to use this psu?


I have never had any problems with those two IBM power supplies. They have brown Nichicon capacitors inside, which can last many more years. I'm not sure what you have heard.

By the way, that API-3186S PSU should be an excellent replacement, because it's more powerful (on all rails) which means less 'stress' on the components.
User avatar
SpectriaForce
Oldbie
 
Posts: 580
Joined: 2017-2-03 @ 22:16
Location: The Netherlands

Re: IBM APTIVA MASTER RACE!

Postby SpectriaForce » 2019-4-30 @ 13:20

Elpast0r wrote:While searching for the psu I also got my hands on a S3 virge(diamond) and a Rage pro Turbo.
When browsing through google and youtube it looks like I just have to plug in the cards in the correct slot, install the drivers and maybe disable the onboard graphics? (As the cd-rom wasnt working, I got myself some floppy-disks and an external drive.)

2) Do i just plug in the cards and install the drivers?
3) Are those cards any good for my 'goal'? The info i found online seems to tell me they are.


Yes, you can disable the onboard graphics chip (from SiS or ATI, depends on your board) by setting a jumper. Thereafter you install a graphics card and then the driver (usually it's this sequence).

If you want to play DOS games, then the S3 Virge card is a great choice (maybe not the best, but absolutely fine for most games). The Rage Pro Turbo card is designed for Windows 9x games and the bottleneck in your system with that card will be the slow CPU.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/S3_ViRGE
User avatar
SpectriaForce
Oldbie
 
Posts: 580
Joined: 2017-2-03 @ 22:16
Location: The Netherlands

Re: IBM APTIVA MASTER RACE!

Postby oeuvre » 2019-5-01 @ 12:38

S3 ViRGE is also great for modern gaming
HP Z420 Workstation Intel Xeon E5-1620, 32GB, AMD FirePro V7900 2GB, SSD + HD, XP/7
Main Desktop Intel 6700, 32GB, AMD RX580 8GB, NVMe SSD + HD, 10
Image
User avatar
oeuvre
l33t
 
Posts: 3064
Joined: 2015-3-31 @ 13:31
Location: USA

Re: IBM APTIVA MASTER RACE!

Postby x0zm_ » 2019-5-01 @ 13:44

Intel486dx33 wrote:My IBM Aptiva socket 7 motherboard has an option for an Intel Pentium or AMD K6 CPU.


I've always liked that case design. Something about it is just... right.
User avatar
x0zm_
Member
 
Posts: 366
Joined: 2017-1-06 @ 15:07
Location: Australia

Re: IBM APTIVA MASTER RACE!

Postby oeuvre » 2019-5-01 @ 14:25

IBM always had really nice, clean, professional looking designs.
HP Z420 Workstation Intel Xeon E5-1620, 32GB, AMD FirePro V7900 2GB, SSD + HD, XP/7
Main Desktop Intel 6700, 32GB, AMD RX580 8GB, NVMe SSD + HD, 10
Image
User avatar
oeuvre
l33t
 
Posts: 3064
Joined: 2015-3-31 @ 13:31
Location: USA

Re: IBM APTIVA MASTER RACE!

Postby buckeye » 2019-5-01 @ 16:18

oeuvre wrote:S3 ViRGE is also great for modern gaming


It's also great for "deep learning". Who needs the RTX Titan!!!
Foxconn Q45M E8400 Core2 Duo 3GB DDR2 800 BFG Geforce 7950GT 512MB X-Fi Xtreme Music 500W XP SP3
Asus P3B-F P3 850 512MB 40GB Diamond Viper V770 Ultra 32MB Aureal Vortex 2 400W 98SE
User avatar
buckeye
Oldbie
 
Posts: 641
Joined: 2015-11-04 @ 17:54
Location: Piney Grove, AL

Re: IBM APTIVA MASTER RACE!

Postby Intel486dx33 » 2019-5-01 @ 20:08

This is my favorite computer case.
They look so clean and simple with the front door closed.
IBM Aptiva 2176-C73

I really like the IBM PS/1 486 Essential/Value PC too.

IBM really did succeed in making there windows/dos installations simple and fail proof.
I like to use the IBM disk images in my IBM 486’s
And IBM disk image installations in my Aptiva’s.
Attachments
vintage-computer-ibm-ps-consultant_1_277c7bf3b71f9e11a3c2c432ecb2769a.jpg
IBM-PS1-001.jpg
ibm.jpg
IBM-02.jpg
IBM-01.jpg
Intel486dx33
l33t
 
Posts: 2052
Joined: 2018-5-17 @ 01:17
Location: U.S.A.

Re: IBM APTIVA MASTER RACE!

Postby Elpast0r » 2019-5-05 @ 13:45

SpectriaForce wrote:
Elpast0r wrote:While searching for the psu I also got my hands on a S3 virge(diamond) and a Rage pro Turbo.
When browsing through google and youtube it looks like I just have to plug in the cards in the correct slot, install the drivers and maybe disable the onboard graphics? (As the cd-rom wasnt working, I got myself some floppy-disks and an external drive.)

2) Do i just plug in the cards and install the drivers?
3) Are those cards any good for my 'goal'? The info i found online seems to tell me they are.


Yes, you can disable the onboard graphics chip (from SiS or ATI, depends on your board) by setting a jumper. Thereafter you install a graphics card and then the driver (usually it's this sequence).

If you want to play DOS games, then the S3 Virge card is a great choice (maybe not the best, but absolutely fine for most games). The Rage Pro Turbo card is designed for Windows 9x games and the bottleneck in your system with that card will be the slow CPU.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/S3_ViRGE


Hi!

Glad to hear the psu is safe to use, and maybe even a bit 'better' then the old one.
I had some trouble with connecting because the cables were rather stiff, but got everything connected in the end.


All seems to be working properly now. At first there were some hardware and sound problems but after finding the correct drivers and switching slots a few times, he finally recognized my vibraC sound card. The looks on your friends faces when they see you transfering those drivers using floppy's is priceless btw :)

Good to hear that the s3virge is a suitable card for my build. It looks like the Rage Pro has a different slot type than is available on my motherboard. (agp?) So I think maybe for another computer someday.

The next 'assignment', is getting the sound working in dos and installing the s3.

Since I just had to look up what a jumper is, I first have to catch up on some reading. (think there is a Trident chipset onboard)

Thanks for your response,
User avatar
Elpast0r
Newbie
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 2019-3-23 @ 06:12
Location: Belgium

Previous

Return to System Specs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot] and 1 guest